India recorded the largest number of merger deals in 2007-2008 record mergers and acquisitions valued at over $65 billion. India is the second largest FDI Invester in UK just behind USA. Tata Moters paid 1-billion pound bid to to clinch Jaguar-Land Rover deal accepted by Ford. Tata group, paid $11.1 billion to acquire Anglo-Dutch steel maker Corus Birla Hindalco Group paid $6 billion that to acquire Canadian aluminium products manufacturer Novelis The two (steel and telecom) garnered $14.9 billion and $11.3 billion worth of deals. Essars acquired Canadian firm Algoma Steel for $1.55 billion. Tata power sector bought significant stakes in two Indonesian groups, PT Kaltim Prima Coal and PT Arutmin Indonesia, for $1.1 billion. Vijay Mallya-led United Spirits bought Scotch whisky distiller Whyte and Mackay for $1.18 billion. Suzlon Energy has taken over the German firm Repower Systems for $1.7 billion. Mergers and acquisition deals in India during 2007 was $68.32 billion, up 143 over last year's $28.16 billion.
Brain drain is definitely not yet over...some of our best students and a majority of the mediocre brains still want to make it big / work in the US,EUrope etc.Just look at the smile on a candidate who is job hunting when you menion that the job carries "on-site" prospects.
RE:Not yet over..
by ashish on Apr 05, 2008 06:04 PM Permalink
hah well said dude ,big smile when u tell em dubai or far east as for usa australia and uk no words for joy ,man when will people expect there is a world of a diff betwen india and da west
If you see last one decade, you must realize that India is among the top3 nations in the world where money coming from their own citizens working outside. In last year alone more than 8 billion dollar have send to India by NRIs and people who are working in different countries through out the year. In this way, our own people who are staying back in India getting an opportunity to earn money by utilising these cash flow in India in a timely and proper manner.
Now, many people who are working years and years in any developed countries started thinking of to return back to India and will set up their own business or be part of this growing economy.
So, it is not now a major issue like it was in mid 80's and early 90's. We can called it as a systematic investment plan, where we are getting a periodic return after certain point of time.
RE:Brain drain is an good systematic investment for India
by ashish on Apr 05, 2008 05:40 PM Permalink
returnin to india? who wants to live ina filthy country when u have a better life abroad?
by jeevan varughese on Apr 05, 2008 06:43 PM Permalink
Ashish, India is not a filty country... it a developing country. Take pride in being an indian with all its short comings!!! Anywhere in the west, europe especially, they consider indains second class! ... Its called Rasicm!!! :))
by Uday on Apr 05, 2008 06:47 PM Permalink
Sorry for misinformation. India does nort receive money from citizens from people with brain drain but worker class people from Kerala & Goa. Those migrated to US or Europe does not send a US$.
by on Apr 05, 2008 07:12 PM Permalink
Actually Uday, you are wrong. I dont classify myself as "people with brain drain"... but I am from Goa...in The Netherlands... and I am NOT worker class. (I am a post-doc researcher in Intelligent Transportation systems.) AND very interestingly.... I regularly remit money back home.
Let's not generalise please... you are almost on the verge on being racist!!
I totally agree with Surya Das. Its a smart insight - "systematic investment plan".
by anil minhans on Apr 05, 2008 07:46 PM Permalink
Man, I am sure its a well planned strategy by the policy planners of India. You leave the country with a hope that something better will come up and in order to underline your existence abroad, we do all hard work..nothing that Indian working class know.. babus..chillin out in sun on our money sent back home. Mother ill, send money.sister got married send money..father not keeping well..send money. We leave our country actually to help our own country.. and sad thats what we get in return.. hatred, jealously.. competition..Today only some Indians have got bit of money and they show-off like mad.Tryin to compare West with India. Which I dont see even in next 5 decades.Its not the money we are talking here, India might have more money say in 50 years but how to use it will take another century. U talk of racism, it exist in far more structured in India itself. Casteism, Ageism, Poverty, Inequalities are characterstics of Indian people. Brain drain is about cashing for being Indian for the sake of being patriot. Ignorance, intolerance, false prestige, jealously are used to deny the power and contribution of 28 billion dollars send by both skilled and unskilled people abroad . Respect them and dont underestimate their values and their contribution to India. As you should also know, India you are living today was completely a terrible place to live and still today due to the factors I listed in my message. Progress talking hands in hands and don't disregard people abroad..
by ravi kaja on Apr 05, 2008 10:08 PM Permalink
That was very well written Mr. Anil. Kudos to you.
by Loga on Apr 05, 2008 06:46 PM Permalink
Last year NRI's have sent home more then $27 billion not 8 billion. Highest Remittance received by any country in the world.
We need not fear brain drain because we are more than 100 crores of people and we have plenty of brains to spare to the drain.
All the defects written about our system are largely true. But the person who has the grit to come up does come up. Take the case of our Abdul Kalam. He had his primary education only in an ill equpped village school. Hurdles will always be there in some form or other for people who want to come up. But the person with grit is able to overcome all the hurdles and succeed.
Let us not conclude that only IIT and IIM graduates are brilliant. There are so many people who can run a company or organization equally if not more efficently with routine education. One needs more of common sense and application with perseverance to succeeed in any endeavour. Educational qualifications apart, in the long run it is the person with determination, perseverance and hard work who will be delivering the goods
Please do not imply that all IIT and IIM graduates are brilliant. A good number among them are sloggers with just mediocre aptitude.
There is enough evidence for this in many of the companies here in India (and perhaps abroad too). If one gets closely associated with the preparation for entrance to IITs and IIMs, one will realise that there is a lot of room for mediocrity in those institutes (albeit made up with dogged perseverance).
RE:brain drain
by Aditya Dam on Apr 05, 2008 05:40 PM Permalink
Yes Rajsekaran, you are right. In long run, the education may guide you but only the attitude which determines everything. Thanks Aditya
If our current bunch of netas let the private educational institute full autonomy with just assurance to provide top quality , all the money that these 80,000 graduate students spend on foriegn university would be spent in developing our educational infrastructure !!! Rather these institutes would be in a position to admit several foreign students resulting in net gain.
RE:brain drain or loss of potential revenue to Indian Universities
by Nirpinder Singh on Apr 06, 2008 05:09 PM Permalink
I thought that this has already happened in the South? Has it not? By autonomy do you mean freedom to charge unlimited fees?
The people , who are going abroad for study, are the people, who do not get admission into IIT/BITS/IIM's and other good Colleges. This abroad education industry is main revenue generation industry for Countries like Australia, UK and USA.
The quality of students in IITS and IIMs , is , not only due to the process and faculties in the institutions, but mainly because good quality of students who are getting in.
We need good raw-material and Process to produce good product. With massive infra-structutral facilities , the private colleges and universities wants become Like IITS and IIMs. But becoming IIT or IIM depends on input of students, which the private institution lacks so much. They all capitalizing on IT boom by giving Engineering degrees, but when you see the quality of students, it is pathetic.
I do not think so. Sorry for being so dramatic. But the fact is India is some 10th or 15th world country. 3rd world country is a misnomer, so graciously and easily given to India (and we tell that it is a developing country to avoid shame).
I'll put it very simply to find where India is actually now.
The basic needs of a human being are:
1. Food: Which is fresh, eatable, well cooked and properly served
2. Clothing: Which is clean, comfortable and can last for some time
3. Shelter: Which is clean, comfortable, and spacious and you can sleep well
It is from time immemorial and has not changed. One small addition over the years has been "Transportation". Which ever country can provide its citizen these most common things in a best way has been termed as Developed.
Where does India fit in all these?
I will not count for over 80% of the population who do not live well. I will just consider the people having a higher level of income.
Consider 1Million INR as your salary per annum. And you have to pay 15,000 INR for shelter, 12~15,000 INR for food and say 10,000 INR for clothing. And transportation it is 3,000 INR. And we will take a metro, Bangalore, the so called Silicon Valley of India.
RE:Never Ever it will be Over
by Satya Narayan Dash on Apr 05, 2008 04:44 PM Permalink
Even with all the above expenditure:
1. You can NOT have a rented apartment with a bathtub.
2. You can NOT have transportation (even considering you are moving in Volvo) with a guaranteed seat arrangement.
3. There is NO guarantee that you will reach your destination safely (forget on time).
4. You can NOT have food which is well cooked in a decent restaurant, even if you pay highly (forgive me%u2026but you do not visit 5 start hotels for lunch or dinner every other day).
5. You can NOT have clothing which is guaranteed to have the same color after 3 washings.
6. You can NOT decently stay in your apartment even if you pay 15,000 INR as rent.
7. You can NEVER have uninterrupted water supply or electricity.
. . . . . .
If this is the case after earning so much money, you can very well think of the normal citizen of India, with average per capita income.
With all the so called industrial changes and India being labeled as the BRIC countries, Newly Industrialized Country, Emerging Markets etc...(And whatever very big things coming)
INDIA ACTUALLY HAS NOT CHANGED.
India as Westerners say is not even a 3rd world country. Actually it is some 10th or 15th world country, still languishing to provide a decent form of living for its citizens.
And I hope by 2050 something happens. Till then it is expected to continue.