Total 64 messages Pages < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3
INDIA SHINING GETTING DISEASED BY 2020
by sidvram sid on Nov 22, 2007 08:22 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

HEALTH CARE IS THE LAST PRIORITY FOR GOVT OR PRIVATE SECTOR THE AUTHOR IS ABSOLUTELY RIGHT WE HAVE LESS OF DOCTORS/NURSES AND OTHE RHELATHCARE PRFESSIONALS A DOCTOR WANTS HIS SON TO DO ENGINEERING OR MBA AS QUICK MONEY WHY SPEND 6MBBS 2MD OR DIP YEARS TOPIT WITH RURAL SERVICE I YRAND BY AGE 30 EARN A MEASELY SUM WHEREAS A PERSON HAVING JUST A DEGREE BA B.TECH OR ANY GRADUATE EITHER BY COLLEGE OR CORESSONDENCE COURSE WILL EARN MUCH MORE THAN ANY FRESHER CITY DOC WITH MBBS MOREOVER MORE HYPE IS GIVEN FOR MBA BY THE PRESS AND MEDIA INDICATING SALARIES IN CRORES WHICH FOOL WILL BE INTERESTED TO JOIN MEDICINE INDIA IS NOT LIKE THE WEST WERE PROFESSIONS LIKE LEGAL ACCOUNTING AND MEDICAL IS TREATED WITH RESPECT AND PAID MARKET SALARIES THE RICHEST PERSONS IN THE USA ARE INDIAN DOCTORS VERY WEALTHY BUT THEY DO NOT HYPE UP LIKE OUR MBA AND IT GUYS BY 2020 COMPETENT INDIAN DOCTORS WILL RUN AWAY TO THE WEST UNLESS WE ENCOURAGE MORE STUDENTS TO TAKE UP HEALTHCARE COURSES OTHERS WE INDIANS WILL DIE LIKE STREET DOGS WITH 1 DOC TO TREAT 10,000 INDIANS AS MOST OF THEM WILL BE BETTER OFF BY TREATING FORIGNERS WHO KNOW THE VALUE OF HEALTH CARE AND HUMAN LIFE THATS WHY YOUNG INDIANS HEALTH IS BEING BATTERED BY MNCS BY WORKING IN IT ITES AND BPO COMPANY NO FORIEGNER WILL WORK ALL NIGHTS LIKE US .SO INDIA REQUIRES MORE DOCTORS NURSES LETS CALL INDIA A HEALTHY NATION NOT SICK NATION HEALTH IS LOST AUTOMATICALLY WEALTH EARNED IS LOST STILL HOPE IS THERE IF WE ENSURE THAT WE HAVE MORE MEDICAL COL

RE:INDIA SHINING GETTING DISEASED BY 2020
by JACOB NINAN on Nov 22, 2007 10:38 PM  Permalink
You definitly hit the nail on the head..I am a doctor now pursuing my MD.It takes 5 and half years of hard work and burning the midnight oil, lots of harasssment from the teachers and the patients alike to get an MBBS degree and wat do u get as pay?? Rs10k - 15k for a 12 hr shift..Look at another booming field BPO..u dont need a great degree only the gift of the gab and a good accent..Wat do they get??Rs 10k...Tell me wat more can be more disillusioning??To add to the ever growing woes v have an ever growing stiff competition for a postgraduation seats..reservation for these PG degrees...Compulsory 3 yrs and 1yr rural bonds.. and wat else the government plans to implement God alone knows..With more and more broken families among doctors due to the stress of work..The list of woes appear to be never-ending
This year after a very long time there were a lot of top ranking students who gave up medical seats to take up engineering seats in prestigious colleges...Wats the implication??
This field is demanding 1 and this field needs some of the best minds in the country to prevent a calamity of epidemic proportions..I cant imagine wat the fate of this developin country will be if the tail enders start to take up this field without commitment for medicine(not that Im discriminating, but when u see the volume of books that needs mugging and comprehending,Ul understand)..
The tsunami will definitly wash out India..

RE:INDIA SHINING GETTING DISEASED BY 2020
by AG on Nov 22, 2007 10:51 PM  Permalink
Agreed doctor sahab, I am sorry but the fate was inevitable for the medical students and doctors, atleast in India, and you knew it when you entered the profession. What cannot be cured has to be endured! So then chin up, lets pull up our socks and do what is to be done !
Good luck

this is a planted article by business consultant
by sanjay agarwal on Nov 22, 2007 08:20 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

the data and facts mentioned in the above article may be true, but certainly intentions of the writer is to get large business houses to invest in a waiting oppurtunity of healthcare which is a gold mine after so called retail boom. what mr. singhal has not mentioned is, if all is so bad with India's healthcare, then why does citizens from UK, Europe, USA, Africa, Middle east etc etc are coming in hundreds to get treatment and operations done here. I am talking about so called developed countries and rich people who are coming here to get treated and yes white skin people not only NRI's are coming here.
It takes 5-6 months to get appointment for a moderate surgery in any subsidized hospital in UK, which means citizens either wait to death or spend few bucks and come here. It costs USD 1000-1200 for avg 2 days hospitalization in any good hospital in USA. There are more than 50% people in USA who do not have subsidized access to any Hospital/treatment beacause of government policy of privatisation of health care in hands of large private business houses. Insurance business and healthcare is a nexus in USA, and the same is being tried in India by promoting such practises.
The write up is mere eyewash and does not do anything with reality except promoting writer for his interests.

RE:this is a planted article by business consultant
by sarfarosh on Nov 22, 2007 10:06 PM  Permalink
good things always taken in thw rong way by some people

by V KM on Nov 22, 2007 10:26 PM  Permalink
Its a nice article. The writer is not trying to say quality of healthcare is bad in India.. Some private hospitals do carry international accreditations! But the point is, the lack of coverage... you dont get to talk about no. of beds per 1000, when thinking about the quality of services... Its jus the coverage which is lacking!! And well.. do you see any foreigners landing up in ur nearby government hospitals?!! These private hospitals are still alien in their pricing to the rural people... Do think about it...

by channabasava topagi on Nov 22, 2007 09:35 PM  Permalink
of course, the article is intended to attract only business and it is not in the public interest.

RE:For Healthy Life have more sex
by kumar kn on Nov 22, 2007 08:51 PM  Permalink
yours is an interesting argument.
By your argument, i dont think it should be years , even if you are days or hours away it should be ok to u.
So I will try to help if I can :)

This means it is time to buy healthcare stocks
by Gautam Sinha on Nov 22, 2007 07:48 PM  Permalink 

This means it is time to buy stocks like Apollo Hospital and also of finance companies which sell health insurance as in the long run these companies would rake in money given teh deluge of customers these would get.

We need not spend on symptoms care.
by Shankar Shinde on Nov 22, 2007 05:43 PM  Permalink 

Friends, Let us not spend our earnings on managing symptoms and living unhealthy life. Let us turn to our age old life styles of yoga and pranayama and food habbits. We need to swith over to organic farming as use of chemicals an fertilizers have reduced the goodness of the soil and refined and engineered foods are causing diebetis and many Heart related diseases...There were very few diabetics before few years. Now they are growing rapidly....These Pharmacetical companies are keeping the public in darkness and sucking their blood. If we chane our life style and food habbits according to ayurvedic ways...we don't need the so called healthcare....do give it a thought my friends...let us become health concious and prevent the diceases.

Healthcare
by madhu Singh on Nov 22, 2007 05:02 PM  Permalink 

You have to wonder sometimes. Maybe we have surprised ourselves with our growth rate simply by squeezing out 'productivity', or non investment in these other critical but not so visible sectors...

Healthcare Tsunai
by Unni on Nov 22, 2007 05:01 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Why to worry abt it. Practice PRANAYAM AND YOGA
and become NIROGA; it is a fact that maximum number of people above 60 yrs are going for YOGA and/or PRANAYAM; the result is visible; of course we can beat the record of US in this category. Moreover, we can save billions of rupees for healthcare and divert it to Education and other infrastructures.. Vande Mataram

RE:Healthcare Tsunai
by Aniruddha Sengupta on Nov 22, 2007 06:28 PM  Permalink
Good point! While some of us maybe apprehensive or plain cynical - I know a few people who have benefitted significantly by attending Art of Living and Swami Ramdev's sessions.

by ashok kumar on Nov 22, 2007 05:32 PM  Permalink
Yes,this is a good way to avoid lots of problems.Also the goverment as well as NGOs need to work to establish Ayurveda in the right spiriy.Not just people getting BAMS degrees & then practicing allopathy.

by Mohideen on Nov 22, 2007 08:44 PM  Permalink
An average physically challenged has to spend about minimum 25 lakhs to convert his disabilities into abilities by buying assistive devices like wheelchairs,accessible car,hospital beds,accessible house etc. There are other medical expenses,physiotherapy & caregiver charges. If physically challenged gives up looking at cost his life becomes rotten. There are many physically challenged spending this money to live descent life.. also Indian companies are helping them in big way. Ask for yourself if u were sufferer & someone comes to u saying its useless to spend on u..Do pranyam ..is it fair? Every citizen has to be equal ...Dont discriminate..

by Parrupu Dasan on Nov 22, 2007 05:45 PM  Permalink
If it is nothing about religon then why there is nothing like it in other religons. By saying that yoga has nothing to do with "Hinduism" is nothing but denigrating a important aspect of Hindu culture and people who are saying this are original "Pseodosecularists"

RE:RE:Healthcare Tsunai
by Aniruddha Sengupta on Nov 22, 2007 06:32 PM  Permalink
Please do not hijack a 'healthy' (pun intended) discussion by injecting slanted/oblique references to religion.

by Bill Chakravarti on Nov 22, 2007 06:23 PM  Permalink
you have your balls twisted badly on this one. there was nothing ever religious about yoga. it's just that the various postures have sanskrit terminologies and because it is an Indian body exercise regimen practiced often outdoors - various aspects of the body in relation to nature are included in these terms. however, as the Hindu scriptures are also set down in sanskrit, and the fact yoga evolved uniquely in india, some people have wrongly come to think of it as having Hndu religious roots.

because it has no religious basis, yoga is a very popular and inexpensive body exercise and relaxation regimen in the West.

to say other nations or cultures do not have their own exercise regimens, shows your ignorance. there is tai chi in China, judo in Japan, capoera in Brazil etc, etc.

by alert on Nov 22, 2007 09:39 PM  Permalink
ATLAST SOMETHING SENSIBLE IN THIS FORUM.
YOGA IS HINDU RELIGION'S GIFT THE WORLD.
LET ALL RELIGION PEOPLE FOLLOW AND LEAD HEALTHY LIFE.

Total 64 messages Pages: < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3