This article does not take all the facts into account before judging that immigrant Indians are the most successful lot in US. This article should have given some comparative figures. If the number of Indians suceeded vis-a-vis others succeeded are given as percentage to those graduated from the respective nationalities, it would have been meaningful.
In any case, only intelligent Indians get opportunity to migrate to US and obviously those intelligent Indians succeed. Same is the case with immigrants from other countries.
Every American feels that his country should be proud of him and he acts accordingly. Every Indian...?
Before "reacting" check what your fellow country men think http://in.answers.yahoo.com/question/index;_ylt=AtUaXPgzKhzvbm5SJS237XORHQx.?qid=20070323234641AA8bMSU
I do not understand what is so big to be pride about Indian community in the US or any other country for that matter. You are trying to portray as if Indians are the only people started business in the US and become successful. US is the country of everyone. People are there from almost all countries. More over, US was already a developed country. I do not think Indians have done anything great that others have not done. Most of the Indians are working as cyber coolies. The fact is that it is easy to start a business and become successful in the US. But it is very difficult to become successful in India.
In the 21st century, we still follow pathetic caste system, female infanticide is prevalent everywhere and dowry as well. Let us eradicate these evils first, and then we can talk about our so called pride.
RE:Self boosting crap article
by on Mar 24, 2007 08:53 AM Permalink
Bingo! You nailed the nail n the head. I don't understand these media buffs as well as people of Indian origin, what have we done super or great ? Every tiny success of Indian community is highlighted, as if some great guy has arrived. Psychologically speaking, Indians have a low inferiority complex and that is what is reflected in their reporting.There are many people in USA who are much more successful. Let us keep quite and work our way up the ladder. WE CAN DO IT. PLEASE DON'T HYPE IT. Suhas Nafday,MD
by hello on Mar 24, 2007 09:18 AM Permalink
Are you are Psychological MD or you also have problem w/ treating lot of psychological patients!!! Who are those much more successful & what are their achievements!!! Indian may be one among them in those much more achievement people, we don't want to tell them, as their country people will take care of them. So, we better concentrate on our people pride!!!
by hello on Mar 24, 2007 09:23 AM Permalink
Dr of Psychology, You care about your people, I will take care of our people!!! What inferiority complex or b-complex you found in that statement!!!
by R N on Mar 25, 2007 07:15 PM Permalink
I agree with you fully and I would like to add some more things...Some Indians who were really genius and have become successful in US or elsewhere so there is nothing India can take pride on just because they are from India. The moment someone becomes famous we try to find his /her roots to India and take the pride. Latest example is Sunita Williams. The giant leap India has taken in IT is not because of Intelligence but because of geographical location and cost. If there was any other country like this, US cos would have gone there. Already they have started going to Egypt and China. As said rightly, what IT work happens in India is coding. It is not called programming. That is done in US by intelligent people who are here from all over the world and coolie work is given to countries like India for cost cutting.
by chaitanya s on Mar 25, 2007 12:49 PM Permalink
Sai Gundavelli atleast achieved something big. What did YOU do? What CAN you do except come to Internet websites and rant against the success of other people? You are jealous. You cant stand the fact that Indian had done something big and that an Indian is capable of achieving success. First, see what YOU are capable of doing or DONE! Then rant and throw your jealous remarks against the success of other people!
by Sivakumar Periasamy on Mar 24, 2007 08:52 AM Permalink
I agree with Prakash. What suppose our indian Businessmen in US doing are coolies with own shop and weighing balance rather being onlu a cooly.
RE:RE:Self boosting crap article
by SANTOSH on Mar 24, 2007 08:59 AM Permalink
Indians are hard working and very talented because of mathematics skills. The main reason why Indians become successful in India is corruption/politics and lots of discouragement. Most of the indians who have lots of money dont invest in new bussiness. The common souce of investment is real estate, gold; that is the main reason why real estate prices are touching sky. hHBN4
by SANTOSH on Mar 24, 2007 09:00 AM Permalink
Indians are hard working and very talented because of mathematics skills. The main reason why Indians DONT become successful in India is corruption/politics and lots of discouragement. Most of the indians who have lots of money dont invest in new bussiness. The common souce of investment is real estate, gold; that is the main reason why real estate prices are touching sky.
I do not understand what so big to be pride about Indian community in the US or anyother country for that matter. You are trying to portray as if Indians are the only people started business in the US and become sucesful.
RE:Self boosting article.
by chaitanya s on Mar 25, 2007 12:52 PM Permalink
Absolutely not. I challenge you to show where this article has portrayed as if Indians are the only people who started business in the US and become successful. The article was simply about a successful Indian immigrant to the US. THAT"S ALL! I DONT SEE WHAT IS WRONG WITH THAT! If you dont like it, perhaps you should be knowing that you are free NOT to read it and free to navigate to another site.
You are simply setting up a strawman and venting all your jealousy and the anger that might have built up during your life's failures against it.
All we are doing is ... following the Laws of Economics...India will be next US...and 200 years from now..may be Bangladesh will be next US...its inenvitable... as the time comes..every country will definitely will have something to offer for their citizens..it took many years for US too... plz dont make any hasty comments against ur country friends..... Bytheway...who owns rediff dude...brainy fuck..hez the one who gets benefited from any bullshit controversy tht happens in India....
Why Indians Succeed .... hmmm... Lemme guess... are you talking about the kind of success earned by the Indian cricket team in the Indian media ? And the success being talked about here is by the Indian media about an immigrant.... the least Indians should do now is stop tom toming mole hills as mountains and thereby raising expectations.... only to fall flat at the marquee.Nothing against the above gentleman who is doing a great job - but extrapolating a few success the way Indian media does only raises expectations unnecessarily.We all saw what the worlds greatest batting line up did today - and we all see everyday how great Indian businesses are doing in the US when it comes to entrepreneurship. ( Ask any H1b holder who works for a desi sponsor and he/she will tell you how great Indian companies are when it comes to work ethics and payments)
RE:Why Indians Succeed ?
by Nehru Mantri on Mar 24, 2007 06:29 AM Permalink
Faceless, can you shed some more light on "Ask any H1b holder who works for a desi sponsor and he/she will tell you how great Indian companies are when it comes to work ethics and payments". I'm curious to know. Thanks.
In India corruption is root cause. To start our own business we need to bribe several government servants - for registering ther company, for getting electricity connection, for getting water connection, sales tax office, excise office etc.
RE:Corruption is root cause
by irshad hussain on Mar 24, 2007 02:06 PM Permalink
I agree with you, I came to India 1 month back with a dream to start my own business, but now when i see that business r only for rich people and people who have high influential, i left my dream to start my own business. I am middle class and cannot afford 1 crore to start a MEDIUM business.and if i think of opening nice showroom then forget it, It worth more than 5 crores
Simple reason! The american are fair minded, simple , straightforward and hardworking people. The Indians are just the opposite, so as long as americans dont releaize this, Indians will be successful in america and one fine day they will face exit , as it happened in uganda and as it happened for jews in germany. All other reasons r foolish.
RE:Americans are fair minded people
by hello on Mar 24, 2007 04:27 AM Permalink
Get up from sleep & dream face the real world!!! Americans are trying to find ways to retain the High Skilled Indians!!! Again don't reply with only High Skilled Indians, not low skilled Indians!!!
by SANTOSH on Mar 24, 2007 09:04 AM Permalink
Nobody is trying to HOLD anybody. High talented people know what they wanted from the life.
by Minoo Printer on Mar 24, 2007 04:51 AM Permalink
American's are hardworking people, Yeah Right! Look at the number of American's hanging outside and inside Social Security Office waiting for and receiveing their "disability checks". If the H1B's and other Indian American's don't work and pay taxes, there will be a Social Security Crisis early. What Indian Immigrant's have is a dream and the will to succeed no matter what. Indian's in the US have succeeded not because of the American's but inspite of them. Unlike the American's Indian's don't have a sense of entitlement. Indian's succeed no matter where they go. How many nationals of other countries have been able to come to India to genuinely provide jobs or make India their home.
by Vijay Purbhe on Mar 24, 2007 05:19 AM Permalink
Americans are hanging outside the SS office because they have one. What do we have in India for the people who can't earn a living thru their fault or not? You are contradicting yourself when you mention that Indians have succeeded everywhere in the world. Then what is stopping them and India to succeed? bummer.
by hello on Mar 24, 2007 05:37 AM Permalink
To Vijay Purbhe, I always appreciate Americans for the opportunity to serve them by their greatness!!!
by hello on Mar 24, 2007 05:36 AM Permalink
What ever told about American by PRINTER is not send by Computer (Indian) I always appreciate Americans for the opportunity to serve them as Great!!!