My sympathies to the people who are loosing their jobs in Boston Globe. But when the process of globalisation started and when foreign companies came to India, many small time traders and artisans not only lost their jobs, but also their lives. No foreign country or media protested that. Dear Boston Globe employees, ours is a country with no social security and other benefits that at least ensure the survival of an individual even if he/she doesn't have a job. We have lost our small scale industries and we had to change the face of our economy because of globalisation
It's the time you faced some music!
At least it will not be as hard on you people as it was on our country!
RE:So What!
by on Mar 02, 2007 10:46 PM Permalink
I understand the hardships of your country. I also understand yours is a country without the safety nets of the US social security, unemployment etc. However, you may think it may not be as hard on my co-workers because of those safety nets the reality is the US is a young country that has change dramatically in those short 200 years with hardwork through times that didn't have those safety nets and we developed and worked hard for them. That doesn't mean we want to use them. We like anyother country want to continue moving forward not back. I understand globalization but to say people won't have it hard is an unfair statement. The workers at the Boston Globe have ancestors that worked hard, fought hard, went without, even lost their lives for the future workers. It is never easy to take a step back for anyone. And it is our right to protest about it freely & openly. Your comment about forieng media protesting the awful things in your country, confuses me. Shouldn't your local people & local media protest? That's all we're doing here. And as globalization grows the tide shifts and this situation comes to India I hope your local people and local media protest for you. People try to protect what they have and to move forward it's human nature. And that's all that is going on at the Globe. Local people trying to preserve what they worked hard to build, good jobs for local people.
by sachin w on Mar 02, 2007 02:28 PM Permalink
please remember tomorrow same thing would happen to us when cheap labour is found in other countries like bangladesh and phillipines....today we are rejoicing tommorrow u will face same music
RE:RE:So What!
by yash omprakash nigam on Mar 02, 2007 02:39 PM Permalink
it wont happen . india is having a great pool o intellectual labour. who are skill and indian education system is churning out these labour every yuear in lakhs . and bangaladesh and phillips cant stand infront of india.
RE:RE:RE:So What!
by sachin jha(Tavant Bangalore) on Mar 02, 2007 02:56 PM Permalink
Jab tak india main 1 bhi gareeb hai tab tak wo dina nahin aayega ki koi bangaldesh ya phillipines ke pas jaye..We have 40% literacy i hope...still 60% has to come up once they come up then more talent pool will come....talent pool with good english is what mostly devloped countries want...whether we work here in india as outsource or indians work in US or china doesnt matter a much.. we will definately get job foe next 100-200 years..
by pruthvi raj on Mar 02, 2007 02:08 PM Permalink
I am really happy to listen any news regarding outsourcing of jobs to india....
it feels like music to my ears.. i really support the fat what Mr Raju sayz... the same thing had happened when big companies came to india.. most of our small scale industries diminished...