The more the automation being done the more the problems being faced. Though it has become a necessity but if you see overall a big picture you will find it true. If we see one simple case that earlier people used there thumb impression instead of signature as people were not literate,today even highly educated people use there thumb impression(via biometrics as in laptops). This is how nature balances the things, more problems more jobs. This is a natural phenomena you cannot stop. It is like we read in our mythological stories there is always fight between the good & bad.
Recently i got a mail which claimed to be from UTI Bank. I being from IT industry and aware about such malpractices made note of the URL (web address) where the link was taking me. It was being redirected to http://vermillion.mykansaslibrary.org/www-alone/www/utibank/index.html This was a pure phishing attempt which i reported to the email id's mentioned on the contact us page of UTI Bank website. It was later confirmed by their officials that it was a scam/fraud attempt and henceforth they've also added an alert on post login screen for online banking module.
RE:I am getting Viagra mails
by Bhola on Jul 31, 2007 11:19 AM Permalink
You must surely be going to Madras "via Agra ". That's why u r getting viagra mails.
by bharat on Jul 31, 2007 11:31 AM Permalink
Ok. But why are you really tempted by the viagra ads? Do you find any difficulty, the normal way? If you still want to try, remember that over dose of viagra can be fatal (Remember N T Ramarao, formed Andhra CM?)
by Amitabh Kumar on Jul 31, 2007 09:30 PM Permalink
Just filter your mails with "viagra" and write a note that for time being you are in okay shape :p
i am a victim of internet fraud,recently last week my 1.0 lac was transfered to some account , i have mean while spoken to icici bank and told them about this fraud. they have inturn diercted me to their inhouse RCU dept..to follow up the case, But their progress is very slow and i left with my account frozen which is hampering my current business,. i request all of you to take care whle dealing with internet banking. Regards Manish Rao
In the year 2005, somebody transffered US$1000 from my bank account to China. Somehow Bank suspected this transfer and wanted my verification. By the time, every thing is over. Offcourse, I got my money back..Don't know their proceedings or process to revoer...
This article about Phishing is very much useful for all Software associates as they will have their names recorded against their extensions and will be using Credit Cards very frequently.
RE:RE:Very Good Artical by Sapna Agarwal
by Abhay Nigam on Jul 31, 2007 11:13 AM Permalink
Nigerian e-mails old now. Now daily I get notification of winning millions from UK. On an average I get 30-40 winning notifications per month. Recently I got a genuine call from Bank offering me change in accident insurance plan and various options Later she asked credit card details for verification purpose, which I refused. Because number displayed was not known to me. After all security is joint repsonsibilty. It was sorted out later but Bank appreciated my viewpoint and carefulness. Very good article, The pransters are innovative and come out with new things all the time so we must be vigilent and share our experiences
RE:Please correct the Word: It is phishing not Vishing
by ashok pai on Jul 31, 2007 10:44 AM Permalink
please read the article. its been properly reported. please follow the link given below, in case you need further clarification.
by rajat mahajan on Jul 31, 2007 10:57 AM Permalink
Vishing and Phishing are 2 separate terms.The first one is done thru fone call while second one is thru email. So the title is appropriate.
by Sunder Raj on Aug 01, 2007 09:56 AM Permalink
What is there in a Name , already said by Willim william shakespeare. Wheather it is Vishing or Phisihing or naything... "Jeeb To Tumhari Hi Katni hai". So be carful...
by rajat mahajan on Jul 31, 2007 10:56 AM Permalink
Vishing and Phishing are 2 separate terms.The first one is done thru fone call while second one is thru email. So the title is appropriate.
by RM Dayanand on Jul 31, 2007 10:50 AM Permalink
Please read the whole of the article to know why it is termed as "Vishing" ('Phishing over voice' is being refered as Vishing). The author has explained about it in her write up; You seem to have read only the headline!