Total 135 messages Pages < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >
Read today's Economic Times
by Red Pascal on Jul 19, 2007 07:57 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

It has an article that does a conservative estimate of increase in urban population in India, and concludes that we need 15 new cities each the size of Delhi to take care of the next 10 years growth in urban population. The SEZ's combined do not total even 2 cities the size of Delhi and look at the nosie being generated by the people who cannot see the larger picture. If infrastructure is not created, the cosy home you stay in right now will be in the middle of urban hell with slums, even more choked roads ( as if they were not badly choked enough), power cuts and pollution. Sure cry for the farmer as you cough your way to a polluted hell that our cities are being turned into. Then the farmer will feel pity for us.

RE:Read today's Economic Times
by Prashant Mhatre on Oct 25, 2007 07:30 PM  Permalink
i am one who is getting affected by sez. govt want to buy our land for 10lakss. & will sell it for 150 crire per acer. u about navi mumbai - cidco acquire land for Rs. 30000/-per acer. & sold it to buiders or their favourers . now same land is getting price of Rs. 150crore per acer.

Why not Give Some of The Rajastan Desert for SEZ
by giridhar vg on Jul 19, 2007 07:24 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

If SEZ is to flourish why not government give the Thar region in Rajastan for SEZ; The industrialists investing can probably make it Dubai of India; Why kill kick the poor farmers and the fertile land that gives our food and food for those who till the land

RE:Why not Give Some of The Rajastan Desert for SEZ
by Red Pascal on Jul 19, 2007 07:50 PM  Permalink
Which "worker" will come to a factory in the middle of nowhere and on top of it in the desert ? Are you willing ? Please try and think before responding. And where would the water come from for the people ? Work areas, especially work areas with some portion dedicated to knowledge workers cannot come up far from urban areas. China is miles ahead of us economically and it has several SEZ's each the size of a huge city and each near urban areas. No one in the world has SEZ in the hinterland, so wake up and smell the coffee. And Raigarh is not fertile land, it is near barren.

RE:Why not Give Some of The Rajastan Desert for SEZ
by giridhar vg on Jul 20, 2007 12:49 AM  Permalink
are you justifying the cause of taking away farm land; before you say its near barren; please read thru the above article;
Also pls note I mentioned Dubai; The middle east is nothing but barren and desert which is the worlds hub for shopping and entertainment; Development should mean making barren bearing; The palm islands in the gulf is built in the sea; Things can happen;

Develop smaller city of rural belt first
by ramji on Jul 19, 2007 03:06 PM  Permalink 

Shift all the call center to smaller cities and then develop coaching in rural areas and then make comparisons instead of just one financial hub we need 10 financial hub in India not only in Maharashra but other states too

India shining or whining?
by Dinesh Agrawal on Jul 19, 2007 01:42 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

The govt here takes away 33% of my salary as tax. I mention this coz someone talked bout natioanl insurance abroad. The autowallahs are unruly. The bus conductor keeps the change. It's hot and humid. The common man cannot afford an A/C coz an A/c is still a luxury in India! Black marketing everywhere. The traffic always sucks. We have cows and buffaloes on major thoroughfares. I almost hit them on my way to work everyday. We live by chance on Indian roads, not by choice. Civic amenities are just a temporary thing. I've never seen them work for even 4 days at a stretch. But we have a lot of pseudo pride and call ourselves an economic superpower. Only 0.00000008 % making money...dat too folks in metros. I live in a major metro. Just check the state of public transport anywhere in India. It sucks BIGTIME. No discipline. We still need cops monitoring traffic signals coz even though there are traffic lights, ppl jump signals if there is no cop around. That is if the signals work. They don't work half the time coz there's seldom electricity power supply even in the silicon valley of India. What do u know dude? The lies spread by the media to keep us happy that India is SHINING? PFFFFFTTTTT!

RE:India shining or whining?
by imacool on Jul 19, 2007 01:46 PM  Permalink
Paying taxes is good for you only...or else how can u expect good roads and other facilitiles...?? already so many people avoid taxes so atleast let us pay something ans give back to teh govt.yaar..stop being a cry-baby..we all pay taxes..dont crib...

by Prashant Mhatre on Oct 25, 2007 07:32 PM  Permalink
yes u are paying taxes. but comes to know when drunken vehicle driver crash u or any your.

RE:RE:India shining or whining?
by imacool on Jul 19, 2007 01:47 PM  Permalink
If im not wrong u wrote the same crap with the name kishore sharma..more idiots than i can imagine

by Gabbar Singh on Jul 19, 2007 02:26 PM  Permalink
I will never pay tax as it goes only for SC/ST/OBC schemes and in TN for free televisions for electing DMK.

by Dinesh Agrawal on Jul 19, 2007 04:32 PM  Permalink
I have been to US and UK and you would be surprised to know that family values are much more stronger than in India. We tend to look at things from a perpective that suits us so when we say that people in west put their parents in old age homes we do not know that in most of the cases parents actually prefer to live in old age homes, becasuse of the facilities available.

Speaking about culture i think the basic culture of honesty, sincerity and civic sense counts much more than reams of literature philosophy written and dance and poetry. We fare very poor on this.

Bravery of New Yorkers was no less when they were able to put behind 9/11 episode. Europe was nothing but rubble at the end of world, look what they are now.

Being in a job where we design services for building in UK/US i am struck by the details they go in and the pain they take to do a perfect job, while we have a 'chalta hai' attitude in us that pervades every walk of life.

Let us not revel in abstract and past but be practical and live in present. We are nowhere near the west, nor can we ever hope of if our whole attitude does not change.

by Ravindra Babu on Jul 20, 2007 02:28 PM  Permalink
I fully agree with you Dinesh. I have visited many counties both western and far-east. There is no reason for us to think that our culture is the best. This is a big myth spread by the 'swadeshi" type people.

What we were 1000 or 2000 years back hardly matters. What matters is how we behave now - while driving on road, in public places, governament offices, with fellow human beings etc.
I feel sorry to say that we have a long way to go before we can call overself as civilized.

by Ganesh on Jul 19, 2007 04:35 PM  Permalink
I agree with you Dinesh...Infact western dressing is their culture whcih we try to imitate and fail miserably..we are neither here nor there types...

by Red Pascal on Jul 19, 2007 07:52 PM  Permalink
Yeah and if the govt tries to create better infrastructure the low iq "bleeding hearts " come crawling out of the woodwork to crib about the farmer. He gets compensation that is fair value, more than he could get if he tried to sell the land on his own. And the world over as the economy improved more people moved off the land and moved to urban jobs, it's about time it fianlly started to happen in India

by Prashant Mhatre on Oct 25, 2007 07:35 PM  Permalink
Red pascal u have veru low iq. if u dare so then come in raigad. and work for reliance as easte agent. very soon u will come to know what is farmer in raigad.

poor vrs rich
by nadeem sabir on Jul 19, 2007 12:45 PM  Permalink 

why do'nt they work hard like urbanites. what are they pay as income tax. they increase only population.

why do'nt they setup small scale industris in rural area.

They just want subsidies against thier votes for corrupt politician.

Develop backward areas
by Prasanna G on Jul 19, 2007 12:08 PM  Permalink 

IF Mukesh ambani or Govt really want to develop this country please select the place where it is fully under developped and where land is not used for agriculture and where unemployment is more so that area also developped and it is not horm to poor people.

Mumbay is already developped and it is over crowded so move to otehr place will be better.

whether india lives in urban
by sundara reddy on Jul 19, 2007 11:03 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

DE -CULTRISATION EFFECTS OF sez s

Nandigram is an Eye opener and it is the high time to consider cultural repercussions of Special Economic Zones which is catastrophic.

Village in India i.e. BHARAT was called %u201Crepublic%u201D by itself and its structure was self contained. Several travelers, foreign ideologues and rulers were stunned and astonished to see Village structure. Several marauders could not penetrate into Indian society because village was insulated and self contained.

Foreign Rulers with their maneuvers could dethrone Indian rulers but could not destabilize Indian society. History of the World evidences that wherever Islam or Christianity went , in other words wherever foreigners rules, native culture vanishes without even remnants. Even in Britain, %u201CBritons%u201D were driven away by English and became English country. But in India the same did not happen, for the simple and sole reason that India lives in its Villages.

For a villager land is not a simple materialistic, commercial possession. He attaches sentimentally to the house, land, village, community, village deities, priest, tanks, rivulets , air, water and even to the articles of house hold he possesses. Such possessions makes a villager a cultural being. It is his livelihood and life. Because of such attachment he develops a community life. A villager de-possessed of land is de-possessed of every thing in the world and his life becomes barren and void.

RE:whether india lives in urban
by imacool on Jul 19, 2007 11:04 AM  Permalink
Are u a retired teacher? How on earth U get time to write such long messages?

by Ravindra Babu on Jul 20, 2007 02:00 PM  Permalink
Dear Sundara reddy,
Village as a self contained econmomic entity was true, maybe, 100 years back. Today, due to population explosion, it cannot sustain on its own. You can see that villages that are near a bigger city and integrated with city economy have less poverty compared to remote villages which are cut-off from rest of the country.

The main problem with us now is we still have 70% population dependent on aggreculture. This was fine when our population was only 30 crores. At 120 crores, the ageculture land per person becomes so less that most of the farmers become very poor since they depend on a very small piece of land. The total amount of land and the output from it doesnot change weather 70% or 20% of population is working on it. Infact, if only 10% of population works on agreculture they can use more scientific methods and produce more output than 70% people depending on same amount of land.
The main thing that we need to do not is to move most of the people dependent on agreculture to alternate employment with decent income. This is possilble only when be build more industries, SEZs, new cities.. etc.
Unfortunatly, the so called protectors of the poor stop all these developments and keep farmers as "poor farmer" for ever.

by Ravindra Babu on Jul 20, 2007 02:15 PM  Permalink
Sorry for the typo..
I have written "The main thing that we need to do not is to move .." should have been "The main thing that we need to do now is to move .."

I guess
by savior on Jul 19, 2007 10:58 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Reliance will pay her a few crores and she will come out with some statements saying Reliance is an exception to other greedy corporates etc.
Obviously India can't become a developed country without industrialization. I am sure Reliance will adequately compensate the farmers.

RE:I guess
by imacool on Jul 19, 2007 11:05 AM  Permalink
ok, then what? continue..

RE:I guess
by Prashant Mhatre on Oct 25, 2007 07:39 PM  Permalink
i think all members of your family has thier price. remember man ulka mahajan has no price just like ladies in your home ulkatai has his own values for farmers.

So called Activisit....
by Anuranjan Mohnot on Jul 19, 2007 10:38 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

This is mere a publicity stunt...these are the people who are real burden on the country....they are among one of the people who pulled india back....

had Reliance not aquired 7000 acre in Jamnagar...India's would have imported petroleum products from the Arab....the whole country is benifited...look crores of forex saved....

if the farmers suicide because of no rains and losing of crops...these activits are ok..they hide...but if someone want to give prosperity to 15 lakh people....they will raise voice against them because few farmers have to get settled somewhere else...

RE:So called Activisit....
by imacool on Jul 19, 2007 11:05 AM  Permalink
come again!

Total 135 messages Pages: < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >