Total 330 messages Pages    <<  < Newer  | 6 | 7 | 8
Course Options
by suryakant agrawal on Jul 05, 2007 09:41 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

First thing first felicitations for this achievements to all those who have worked for this. I invite suggestions from the participants, in view of this development, what would be their recommendations if one has to choose one course out of following options available:-
IIT Kanpur B.Tech ( Material & Metallurgy
BITs Pilani Msc.( Information System)
Delhi College of Engineering BE(Electrn & Commnc
IIIT Hyderabad Computer Science
NIT, Kurukshetra Industrial Engg & Management
Me , my son are confused and need to make decision about his final option taking a sustainable career with growth path. Can you please advise

RE:Course Options
by Ack Ack on Jul 05, 2007 02:02 PM  Permalink
Hi,

Got lots of options, and definitely ought to be confusing. See the Variety of Disciplines, your son has got offers.

1. Material and Metallurgy
2. Electronics and Comm
3. Information Tech
4. Industrial Engineering and Management.

Four completely different courses.

I appreciate your planning for your son, but, do NOT think, if IITK candidates will or not be preferred in IIMA. This statement is too uncertain to take it as a base to plan upon.

Also, if your son is certain about to do his PGDBA in IIM, then any of these courses is ok, as all the schools have their own brand value.

So, this is the right Opportunity for your son, to make his own decisions. This will give him confidence. Going by Brand Value of the school is not a great thing. This is the right time for him to corroborate and find which field, he would be interested in taking it. Now, you have internet and all info on everything, ask him to do a small exercise of finding what each field is and ask him to find out which one is closest to his aspirations and interest. That is very very important. Earning Money is VERY EASY these days. If nothing clicks, one can get into the IT Industry to make money. Your son, being a good academic, ask him to find his interest. I am a Supply Chain Guy and will suggest or recommend, Industrial Engineering and Management, as Supply Chain Management is one of the hottest growing fields in the world, as it was always had.

My suggestion would be to choose a career that he l

RE:RE:Course Options
by Ack Ack on Jul 05, 2007 02:07 PM  Permalink
My suggestion would be to choose a career that he is interested in and like to study more. Do not go by Job prospects, as nowadays, every good degree deserves a job in India, in the same field.

Choosing a career path, and sticking to it, is more important than just taking a course for the sake of job. Of course, everybody is looking for a job after studies. But, you can try to make it focused.

Of course, this is my suggestion or opinion, but the real thing lies in your Son's Decision and NOT in yours.

by shekhar bhagat on Jul 05, 2007 10:23 AM  Permalink
IIT-K

by neti vln murty on Jul 05, 2007 09:45 AM  Permalink
I think IIIT-hyderbad and DCE are among the best.

by surya singh on Jul 05, 2007 09:44 AM  Permalink
If ur son interested for higher studies suggest him to join IITK ELSE go to IIIT hyderabad or DCE.

by rohit narain on Jul 05, 2007 09:56 AM  Permalink
go for iit-k ; the brand is too big than the rest .

by Raminder Pal Singh on Jul 05, 2007 09:56 AM  Permalink
1. IITK beats all of them.
2. DCE comes distant second.

by mpc on Jul 05, 2007 05:46 PM  Permalink
IITK BTech & DCE - Tronix - equally good...IIITH - Compsci can be given a thought...What does your son want...if he wants tronix...pick DCE, if Compsci pick IIITH, if he wants a good college..pick IITK...the rest all option are crap...pretty straightfwd choice

by venkatesh kulkarni on Jul 05, 2007 10:22 AM  Permalink
Dear Suryakant Agrawalji,

I have face similar type of situations and now have reached to a stage through BE, MTech, PhD and now Post-Doctoral fellowship.

I feel IIT Kanpur most preferred choice. Your son can get job easily through IITK recruitments. If he wants to study E& C or CSc Engg, there is a good chance in IIT for him to change his stream to E & C and CSc after 1 year by getting very good marks in first 2 semesters, may be 80% above. If feel it is good choice. Even with Material Sc back ground he can get job in IT industries through Campus interview. When he has got a seat in IITK with much effort, better you admit him to IITK. If he wants E&C, CSc, he can do master course after BE. If you still stick to do E&C, CSc courses, DCE's E&C is next best option. Do not think much, it drills hole in your mind.

BITS & IIIT are not government institutions but are private reputed institutions & hence fees will be higher, higher than others. No need to go for NIT's IEM course, as you got a better option in Mtl Sc in IIT Kanpur.

I have tried my level best. Option is left to you based on your son's inteterest and finacial
constraints.

I WISH YOU A BRIGHT FUTURE FOR YOUR SON.
----- Dr.Venkatesh M.Kulkarni, Dharwad, Karnataka.

by Lakshmi Narasu on Jul 05, 2007 10:48 AM  Permalink
IIT K material science else IIIT Hdyerabad is the best chocie

by TUSHAR DESHPANDE on Jul 05, 2007 09:46 AM  Permalink
I think preference should be any of following,
1) IIT-K (material....)
2) IIIT-Hyd-computer sci
3) BITs-Pilani( if its B.TEch/BE then keep it on second or even first place!)...
then other things follow..
Hope this info will help u...

All the best to ur son..

by champak on Jul 05, 2007 09:51 AM  Permalink
iitk (materials) is attracting option, provided ur son has a liking in the material science. as everybody knows this is the age of material science now. there are uncountable opportunities for material science grads in india and esp abroad.
info. systems in bits or iiit hyd (comp sci)are also good options amongst the available ones.
best luck.

by Romil Phogat on Jul 05, 2007 09:42 AM  Permalink
Hi According to my viewe these two option are very good.
1St is :
Delhi College of Engineering BE(Electrn & Commnc

And 2nd is :
BITs Pilani Msc.( Information System)

by Ramanath Babu on Jul 05, 2007 11:43 AM  Permalink
If your son can get admission in IIT any where, in any stream, that would be much much better than going anywhere else. It is not easy to qualify in the JEE. If your son is qualified,there should not be no looking back.

Babu

by Rashmi Dwivedi on Jul 05, 2007 09:46 AM  Permalink
Hi,
Your son can decide among the 2 colleges.I am saying this based on the course he is getting here.Both computer science and Electronics branch have great future.So depending on his interest he can go for one of the courses.

1.Delhi College of Engineering BE(Electrn & Commnc
2.IIIT Hyderabad Computer Science

by suryakant agrawal on Jul 05, 2007 10:01 AM  Permalink
I am overwhelmed with your responses. I see great future in material developments but again has limited employability and segment specific.
Electronics and Communication is tempting as it helps in getting into embedded technology. Computers and Information are the key words of day .. but the sustainability in long run , I am not sure and again these skills can be acquired in general and are not pure science.
The next step in study for him to try his hands at CATS and get into IIM-A but I understand at interviews in IIM-A IIT-K students are less preferred compared to IIT-D or IIT-M or DCE or IIT-H.
This is what the all confusion is about. I seek more views

by Last Samurai on Jul 05, 2007 10:19 AM  Permalink
Whatever... go for IIT-K. And Metallurical & Material Sc. - great future prospects. Couple of Metallurgical guys whom I know are doing MS-PhD from Stanford. All reasearch on material required for computer chips or microprocessors needs Metallurgical scientists. As far as it's about brand name of IIT-K... words are not needed. But make sure that your kid wants to go for research. Else if he wants to join Software herd, let him go for IIIT or BITS, frankly... in software industry it does not matter, from where did you earn your bachelors :D

by Nihilist Anand on Jul 05, 2007 09:55 AM  Permalink
Once you get inside IIT branches do not matter ... I am an IITian ...graduated 2 years ago ...take it from me ...all this IT buzz is not gonna last forvever ...What will last is quality education for which IIT has proven it's worth for more that 50 years

by Ramanath Babu on Jul 05, 2007 11:38 AM  Permalink
Man, if your an IITian, it is almost 100% sure that you will get campus selection, irrespective of the stream you have taken. Companies like TATA, Wipro etc. select IITians even if they have done civil engineering for doing IT/computer related work! Once you have passed out successfully from IIT, that means, you have the desired analytical mind and you can be entrusted with any job. Go for IIT, if you are fornate to be qualified.

Babu

by ashok day on Jul 05, 2007 10:08 AM  Permalink
If he is interested in Chemical engineering/Planstic engineering or Textile engg then L.D college of engineering (Ahmedadbad) is worth.

by adil waheed siddiqui on Jul 05, 2007 10:33 AM  Permalink
Mr. Agrawal:

IITK is a big name wherever you go. And Materials Engineering is just the right choice for a bright future. You must have heard about nanomaterials and nanotechnology...these are booming like anything in West and now in India too. This is just the right thing for your son! You don't have to be double minded at all...

Best.
S. Siddiqui

by suryakant agrawal on Jul 05, 2007 10:40 AM  Permalink
I would like to close the discussions on this topic with my heartfelt thanks to all
Surya Kant

by bikram b on Jul 05, 2007 10:05 AM  Permalink
If your son interested in research or higher studies (MS in USA), go for IITK. Otherwise go for MSc (Info. Sys.) - BITS, Pilani - companies treat it same as computer sci engg in BITS for placements.

by suryakant agrawal on Jul 05, 2007 10:16 AM  Permalink
May I request for telephone numbers from Mr Anand and other who would like to assist me in this decision making. My number is 9810448241. My problem is I am from Commerce background

by Sutam Biswas on Jul 05, 2007 10:00 AM  Permalink
DCE...ECE..It is good.. It is the subject and a good brand that matters.. IIT is great..but mat Sc..naah...

by ravi kumar on Jul 05, 2007 11:33 AM  Permalink
Make IIT K first choice. then follow other suggestions.

by Kanwar S Arora on Jul 05, 2007 10:55 AM  Permalink
IIT Kanpur, nothing stands any close.......

Some work for Arjun Singh
by Seenu Subbu on Jul 05, 2007 09:33 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Arjun Singh should now come to the help of them poor downtrodden Dalits and ask for reservation in Institutions of higher learning in all these countries that are members of Washington Accord. And while at that, he should ask for reservations for "Dalit Muslims and Christians" as well. Poor Arjun, how hard he fights for them poor downtrodden masses.
Oh yes, globalization should be applicable here too!

RE:Some work for Arjun Singh
by Abhimanyu Mahajan on Jul 05, 2007 09:42 AM  Permalink
dont give him ne ideas yaar... for all u kno.. there mite be reservations in the seats available in international institutions abroad!!! guess v ll hv to look at mars then as the next possible education destination!!!

RE:Some work for Arjun Singh
by deep rain on Jul 05, 2007 10:13 AM  Permalink
well said, he should be planning to go to US for putting a clause or sub clause where he can put his reservations in place. Grape wine is that he has gone to VP Singh for taking suggestions on that.Both of them are in finding the lobby in Washington to do this .
Poor miserable creatures

Indian Engg Degree Accredited by US
by Syed Zakir Ali on Jul 05, 2007 09:32 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Its really a great success for the Indians. Now the Indians can take up the positions that are reserved for the US Pass outs as our degrees are equivalent to US degrees

RE:Indian Engg Degree Accredited by US
by Mikkey Moouse on Jul 05, 2007 09:31 AM  Permalink

if it is meritorious it is equivalent, else if it is mediocre it is not equivalent.

by Binay Biswas on Jul 05, 2007 09:44 AM  Permalink
Its a news to make people fool and rediff propaganda.Who told that till now Indian Eng Degree was not recognized here? All Indian degree is recognized here.However, before moving up after each course everyone has to appear in a test.Be it American or Non-Am. Otherwise America recognize every degree of the world.Like Everone has to seat for SAT,GRE, MLE etc etc. People should not be unnecessarily excited.America is not like Australia or UK with differences among races.!!

by vaibhav jain on Jul 05, 2007 09:56 AM  Permalink
Right said Binay. Even my Bsc 3 year degree is recognised at USA and I am joining MS biotech This fall

america is a pure meritocracy
by Mikkey Moouse on Jul 05, 2007 09:24 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

anyone with merit will always succeed in america, there is no need to pull strings, pay a bribe, know a minister or have an uncle in an powerful position.

america is top in education (70% world top universities), business (300 largest corporations), science (270 nobel prizes in science), sports (2400 olympic medals)......because MERIT is given the greatest importance.

all with merit are welcome in america but mediocrity will be prohibited.

RE:america is a pure meritocracy
by Mikkey Moouse on Jul 05, 2007 09:28 AM  Permalink

IIT does not seem to figure in the Top 100, hence is about equivalent to a 2nd level US regional college.

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/14321230/

by Natesh on Jul 05, 2007 10:16 AM  Permalink
Mikkey Moouse, funny name and some of your thoughts are funny too. US is an economic leader and hence its educational institutions are the best in the world. But students coming of IIT in India are more intelligent than thier counterparts in MIT in US. If there were no Indians or Chinese the American universities will have very little students. Please dont talk about India just because u migrated there. I agree there is corruotion and inequality in India and we can learn from Americans in many areas. Please also understand that American economy is largely dependant on highly skilled Indian and Chinese students (most of them do their UG in their respective countries). There is a huge shortage of skilled workers in US and thats why they increase the H1 limit to 100,000 now. Now American companies have opened up all over India to tap the trained Indian engineers. US will eventually loose its edge in technology. So many R&D labs in India now and together with manufacturing Hub China its going to be an Asian century dude..... wake up to know u r loosing out to ur brothers in India. Better start packing ur bags n try to re-locate. Coz ur kids will not have a job there after 20 yrs. They can only work in retail n stock market. Perhaps lawyers who will sue $ millions for lost coats n undies ha ha ha

by Mikkey Moouse on Jul 05, 2007 10:19 AM  Permalink
well america was the top world power since 1945, long before lots of chinese or indians migrated there !

Indian engineering degree at par
by Sudhir Jain on Jul 05, 2007 09:22 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Is it possible to mention whether the accord covers the degrees prior to the accord or only the subsequently issued degrees will be considered

RE:RE:Indian engineering degree at par
by Vasanth on Jul 05, 2007 01:58 PM  Permalink
Even i have a same doubt. Could someone please reply us??
Vidya

Good Job
by Batra on Jul 05, 2007 09:16 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

AICTE has done a good job. Congrats to all Engineers passing out out who can go out and learn in best of best science temples aross globe (without caste based quota issues ;))

Miles to go
by Deepakumar U on Jul 05, 2007 09:14 AM  Permalink 

THis is good development. However we should be aware of the fact that most of our engineering colleges; their facility and team standards and methodolgies are far away from being par with those at institutes like IIT, and a few other technological educational institutions

Congrats
by Harinder Singh on Jul 05, 2007 09:13 AM  Permalink 

Dwivedi sir it is certianly a feather in your and nations and global community cap

Total 330 messages Pages:    <<  < Newer  | 6 | 7 | 8