Can you name few inventor names in chem, phy,maths,bio. How many indians? You would have been really in valley instead of Silicon valley if British had not taught us english?Whose syllabus is taught in IIT and Engg colleges in india? India built BARC but who invented ATOM? How to make UREA without which India would not have been able to feed huge population? Indians were never aware of controlling growing population? They used contraceptives made by foreign companies? Again to increase sexual ability they use Pfizer's VIAGRA, again an american company? Whose degrees are these: BA,B.Com. B.Sc. M.Tech/B.Tech. Indians are only good at copying. What a big deal in reading books made by somebody and invent? Who formed rail newtork in entire India? Who developed High Ways In India? Whose electronic technology, chemical technology is?
RE:INDIANS ARE NOT INTELLIGENT
by Ramakrishna Panicker on Jul 05, 2007 02:21 PM Permalink
Dear Rakesh, we are really crocodile like human, who not possess common sense. We dont know that Indians are not intelligent.
Globally it was treated that our ancient India status with Greace and Athens and the foreigners from the entire globe came here fill their bowles with knowledge.
Our eduation system has been totally changed and that is why you says like that Indians are not intelligent.
by Chandu on Jul 05, 2007 02:26 PM Permalink
Haha..i don%u2019t want to waste time with you%u2026but still Mr.Rakesh..do you have any idea about who Is Aryabhatta, Susrutha, Varahamihiran etc..I know you donno..do you know why all the west started sailing seas to reach a country called %u2018India%u2019 even many centuries before human beings started talking about something called %u2018science%u2019. Do you know how the American natives got name %u2018Red Indians%u2019..learn more before making statements%u2026India was as rich as what three times the west is worth today, that too for many millenniums.. the westerners came here ..divided and looted us and made Us poor%u2026they wrote a crap history and made parrots like you to praise them forever..
by sushil chamaria on Jul 05, 2007 01:54 PM Permalink
IT IS ONLY BECAUSE OF PEOPLE LIKE RAKESH (I AM SORRY FOR SYING THIS ) THAT INDIA WAS A SLAVE TO ENGLISH FOR OVER 300 YEARS. NOW TELL ME WHO INVENTED SUPER COMPUTER, WHICH COUNTRY IS LEADING IN SOFTWARE TECHNOLOGY. MY DEAR FRIEND ONE PERSON OR ONE COUNTRY CANNOT MAKE THE WHOLE WORLD, U HV TO TAKE SOMETHING FROM SOME PLACES TO FIT IN. SO DONT CRITISIZE UR MOTHERLAND. ASK ME WHO AND OTHERS LIKE ME WHO R IN AFOREIGN LAND WHAT A MOTHERLAND MEANS.
RE:RE:INDIANS ARE NOT INTELLIGENT
by Deepak on Jul 05, 2007 02:00 PM Permalink
People like Rakesh live, work and pay taxes in India. I guess you are the ones due to which we were slaves for the last 300 years. Country leading in software technology ? come down sometime and see how much of it is implemented here. It is easy sitting and getting things done by the click of a button in a 'foreign land'. Come down here and then see the fruits of 'technology'. Correction. Not technology, but cheap labour. Being in the s/w industry, I know what leading technology we work in, and the so called cutting edge companies deal with.
by Deepak on Jul 05, 2007 02:09 PM Permalink
And I am also sorry for saying this. Because your post will be again posted by another NRI 300 years from now. We have a wodely accepted reason to account for our failures. First the mughals and then the british. As long as no one objects we blame them, and continue with our usual business. When our shortcomings are exhibited, we have the britishers to blame once again. It;s always british and moghuls. Like we are stuck in time and dont have a way to get out of.
by Krishna on Jul 05, 2007 02:02 PM Permalink
And nothing can be acheived overnight. For a vast country like india to develop, it would take long time. And we are fortunate that we got the oppurtunity to make it happen. Generations to come will remember this and the last two generations for the independence and prosperity of our country.
by Deepak on Jul 05, 2007 02:05 PM Permalink
If traffic signal lights need more than 60 years, then I wonder how many lightyears we need to change from developing to developed status. Or do we really want to ? That's my only concern. It's a little like fighting for a OBC status, even though you may be doing economically well.
by Krishna on Jul 05, 2007 03:30 PM Permalink
Now, guys tell me. What do u think should be done now? u guys are criticizing some of the past mistakes and some of them incorrectly interpreted. But can u tell what is the bottom line?
by dp on Jul 05, 2007 01:48 PM Permalink
Rakesh bhaiyya... If you are feeling bad for not being intelligent, dont blame all other Indians.
by Deepak on Jul 05, 2007 01:51 PM Permalink
If comparing ourselves with China (and not with US) is intelligence and a reason to be happy, then I am proud to be called non-intelligent and sad. If 60 years of independence cannot ensure traffic lights to be working when required, and that is called intelligence, then I am proud to be non-intelligent.
by Upen Boka on Jul 05, 2007 10:11 PM Permalink
Isne poori jndagi Jhakh maarna hai. yeh kya karega bhala. ainwi bak raha hai.
by Krishna on Jul 05, 2007 01:48 PM Permalink
U r very good at asking questions my friend! Do u know our history? u know how many hardships our people(mind u they are our ancestors, our grand parents and may be even our parents) have faced during the independence movement and even before that. Mind u, India was always a land of wealth and richness, until britishers came here. Unfortunately we have one weakness. we are religious people. and that is effectively used by the britishers to create fights among us. They took away all our wealth. Still India can boast of one thing. It has shown to the world that Great things can be achieved by Non-Violence, and that they did when the whole world was fighting the World War-II. People forget about Vedas. How many of us have read and understand them, even a bit. But yes. we are ready to comment sitting in a nice and cozy cubicles in impressive MNC offices and criticize everyone for everything with themselves as exception. So, Sad. We don't know our history, we don't know to respect ourselves. I hope this changes. I personally feel, we have come a long way in a short span of 60 years. And we have a long way to go.
by DEEPAK NAIR on Jul 05, 2007 02:08 PM Permalink
Bull s...!!You check out our history first. India was always a divided country. That is the reason the British could rule over us. We just need an excuse for blaming our defeciencies. The wealth distribution in ancient India was also grossly distorted. AS far as as the Vedas are concerned the less said is better.
RE:RE:RE:INDIANS ARE NOT INTELLIGENT
by Krishna on Jul 05, 2007 02:16 PM Permalink
U r right. First we should know what is there in vedas to comment on it. It is so sad that we are ignorant and we are proud of being ignorant.
by Krishna on Jul 05, 2007 02:15 PM Permalink
Very funny interpretation! u sound as if Brits are here to save us. u are living upto ur own observations. u r still in the mire of religious extremism and u have demonstrated by referring Islam people as rakshasaas. u should have been in this country some 100 years ago. Then u would probably know that what we got from Brits is when compared to what we lost. Personally i feel i should have born 100 years back. i would have got an oppurtunity to fight for independence. Never mind, now being born in this gen, i got an oppurtunity to do my little part in the development of Nation. i may do very little but i am proud of it.
RE:RE:RE:RE:INDIANS ARE NOT INTELLIGENT
by Krishna on Jul 05, 2007 02:54 PM Permalink
Retrospection doesn't mean that we should keep criticizing and keep doing that forever. u know what, i sometimes get into some verbal fights, trying to tell others when they were doing wrong. i am not saying that i am always right. i might have done so many mistakes, but i am ready to correct myself, if i am convinced that i am wrong. I know there are lot of problems here. i am learning to live with them and trying to do my part. i feel that we should do our work well, we should keep our surroundings clean and green and we should do some social service wherever and whenever neccessary. People who earn good money, if they come out and do some charity works, i am sure we can improve a lot. Forget abt scientisfic achievements. i don't care either. i am more interested in humanitarian issues. Sir, nothing can be done overnight isn't it?
i don't know whether it is apt to say this here or not, but i admire Chandrababu naidu and S.M.Krishna(they both belong to rival parties) for what they have done to their respective states. If they have simply kept critiizing the previous govts for their failures, they won't have done anything. they both took lot of personal initiative and marketed the states very well and the result is that Bangalore is a very forward looking city and Hyderabad(once a laid-back city) is a vibrant one now. U might say that that is still very less. But these things take time, effort and money. don't u think so?
RE:RE:RE:RE:INDIANS ARE NOT INTELLIGENT
by Krishna on Jul 05, 2007 02:57 PM Permalink
If some outsider tells u what u should do in ur own house, then will u accept that? They have not done any favour in allowing the indian leaders to speak publicly. It is just that they were scared of these leader's popularity and if they stop them, they may have to face civil resistance.
May be India would not be a single country. But then probably that would have been better. may be india was a group of few countries of size Burma, bangladesh, nepal, srilanka etc. Then as they all are co-existing, may be we too would have. Just look at EU. it is a group of lot of small nations. Atleast each country would have people with common language, culture. May be that would have been better. Now, u see. in these rediff forums, many people simply criticize each other in the name of North-South, FC-BC-SC and STs, Hindu-Muslim etc. That would have been avoided.
by champak on Jul 05, 2007 01:40 PM Permalink
Rakesh, India is the third nation whose researchers at IITs/IISc are being cited most frequently right after China and Korea. If you take pure research that too in mathematics(SIAM),India's share for the last year was 5% of total publications which is more than China's(3%). Don't compare India and US. They have got an army of devoted scientists to work on the problems. What motivation do we have here that all IIT grads will dedicate themselves to research? Leave away IT and manufacturing, because we are not even talking about it. And please stop this negative talking. We have had enough of that crap now.
by champak on Jul 05, 2007 01:57 PM Permalink
how does it matter if china was in picture or not. look at their publications. they outnumber their indian counterparts. well i thought we will have some meaningful discussion here, but looks like we only have some bunch of ignorant idiots here. goodbye fellas. god bless.
by Deepak on Jul 05, 2007 01:55 PM Permalink
ignorant idiots ? You say China's contribution is 3% and now you say they outnumber us. How did this happen in 15 minutes ?
by Deepak on Jul 05, 2007 01:46 PM Permalink
We all know the origin of the local rail in the four metros. Since independence, apart from Delhi (which is the capital for godssake), has this been implemented in at least one more city ? Or are there plans to do it even now ?
by Deepak on Jul 05, 2007 01:42 PM Permalink
How come are we comparing ourselves to CHina now, which was nowhere in the horizon a few years ago ?
by Deepak on Jul 05, 2007 01:33 PM Permalink
i thought you should already have got this response which I always see ... WE INVENTED ZERO. :) LOL
by on Jul 05, 2007 03:11 PM Permalink
Hi Rakesh,
I will give reply to all your questions one-by-one:
1. About INDIAN inventors: Srinivasa Ramanujan: a remarkable mathematical genius. Satyendra Nath Bose: the originator of the Bose-Einstein statistics theory. Dr.C.V.Raman: The Genius who won the Nobel prize for Physics, with simple equipment barely worth Rs.300. He was the first Asian scientist to win the Nobel Prize. Vikrama Sarabhai: One of the greatest scientists of India. Homi Bhabha: The architect of Nuclear Science in Modern India. Dr.J.C.Bose: The great biologist who showed that plants, too can 'feel' in their own way. Scientists in Euorpe and America wondered at his discoveries. These are just a few examples.
2. Yes, we would have been in the same position or even better, if we those Britishers did not taught us English. See Germans and Japanese. Do they communicate in English? It%u2019s only because India is a democratic country, and English is an international language, it became our official language.
I am not able to write all my points here due to space constraint, but please tell me one simple reason why do these American and European MNC%u2019s visits our premier institutions here (for R&D/Management. I am not talking about general tech jobs for cost cutting). Also, It is not by accident that Americans are going to yoga and meditation classes to buy happiness. Every country has its own problems. It is for the people who belong there to take responsibility for change.
RE:Great news
by nikhil ranwadkar on Jul 05, 2007 01:57 PM Permalink
Yes.It is recognized everywhere. In Candada and UK also. IEI kolkata is known to everybody outside. :)
Indian engineering degrees have always been recognized in the U.S. How else would so many engineering graduates been able to study further or work in the U.S.A all these years?
RE:Indian engineering degrees have always been recognized in the U.S
by arun shekar on Jul 05, 2007 02:50 PM Permalink
abe popat, it was recognised only to enter masters, not as in by their board of education...or whatever you call it. Experience counts everywhere, which gets you job anywhere. they have credit or point systems which we don't have.
As a BE from one of the Universities in India, it feels great to find my qualification Internationally recognised. This will help all the fellow BE's to apply pretty easily to Universities in US and Australia without going through lot of hassles... :) Congrats to the team from AICTE who enabled this...
My concern is that is Diploma's in Engineering of Board of Technical Education carry any weightage or recognisation in this world. If yes where all and at what levels?
RE:What about Engineering Diploma's from Board Of technical education
by Vijay on Jul 05, 2007 01:09 PM Permalink
Same Concern here...Pls anyone help us...
RE:RE:good news
by dilip kumar bhattacharya on Jul 05, 2007 12:41 PM Permalink
WHAT DO YOU WANT SAY? ARE NOT THESE FELLOWS THINKING FOR THE DEVELOPMENT OF INDIA? HAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!
RE:RE:good news
by Ramakrishna Panicker on Jul 05, 2007 01:11 PM Permalink
Dear Suresh, do not forget that Gujars are there in India to respond you like inhuman. Think that your stylish drama is over.
B.E. graduates can be taken as Lab demonstrators for 1 year and college should have responsibility to send them for M.E. / MTech after completing the 1 year tenure.
All Engineering colleges both Polytechnic as well B.E./BTech should have evening college facility so that the same resource can be used to educate working students who want to continue education.
From where can we get a list of Universities whose Engineering Degrees are recognised. I am interested in Degrees from Universities like NMIMS, AMITY etc. Are their Engineering Colleges Degrees recognised in the US.
RE:Degrees from India
by Rapid Snail on Jul 05, 2007 01:22 PM Permalink
Only AICTE affiliated and accredited colleges are included. Which means mostly govt. colleges
RE:Degrees from India
by nischal sharma on Jul 05, 2007 12:51 PM Permalink
universities/courses affilated to AICTE and approved by NBA only are listed...I am not sure if AMITY NM are AICTE/NBA approved/affiliated