All these big Indian IT companies are unethical. TCS for example pays its employees much less than the minimum wages in the US( applicable as per US laws). It even forces them to convert their visa status from H1B to L1 in order to circumvent these rules. If US authorities investigate such cases, I'm sure these socalled Indian IT goants will be asked to pack their bags from US. In fact, patni has been found guilty of paying low salaries to its H1B holders in US and it's accepted this and will now be paying $2.4m to these employees in order to avoid action from US govt.
99% of H1 Visas are fraud. 99.99% of the resumes of these H1Bs from India, China are fake. These body-shopper companies make the h1b holders change the resume to suit the project. As a hiring manager, I have seen several H1B candidates with fake projects to match the posting. Resumes are changed on the fly. projects faked. Due to these fraudsters, genuine people suffer.
RE:RE:H1B Visa
by on Jul 04, 2007 10:34 AM Permalink
How Naive! loL! I mean.. I am no supporter of the US foreign policy.. but you think they should just open up their borders coz they are fighting Iraq eh?! Dude.. do your dirty linen before calling other's linen diry!
RE:H1B Visa
by anuj agarwal on Jul 04, 2007 10:54 AM Permalink
As if you know that Americans are saints and Indians are all crooks.
When Indians create intellectual property, Americans do not share that with Indians. When they take patent on Haldi and Yoga, the American laws are silent or even abetting it.
Why are we allowing access for products to american companies (good quality and bad quality both) if we can not sell our services in america.
Whether the resumes are right or wrong, people are employed after interviews and are retained by their american employers for their skills and nothing else (INFO: H1B is not issued for flesh trade)
by StrongerMan on Jul 04, 2007 11:01 AM Permalink
What about these interviewers and project managers in American companies getting paid bribes to approve the candidates after an interview by both Indian IT and American IT companies.
Who are the real beneficiaries of the bribes ? huh ?
by Diptorup on Jul 04, 2007 10:35 AM Permalink
The answer to your question lies in the question itself. "Qualified immigrants" does posting a fake resume with false experience make one qualified?
by TheVoice on Jul 04, 2007 12:18 PM Permalink
There was a time when the cream of IT professionals would go to the US. One would be respected. One bad apple is all you need to spoil the rest. Now, even a doodhwala (no offense friends. just a metaphor) can go there using fake documents and a cooked up resume through fraudulent companies. The people who are suffering are the H1B seekers. Promised of a fantastic life and great comforts, people easily fall prey to these lucrative offers. On reaching the US, they are housed into cramped apartments with sometimes 4 to 6 people staying. They pat the new candidate on the shoulder and sarcastically express their happiness over him/her joining the American dream. None of them have a job and hardly have any money left to lead a normal life. They are literally living off their credit cards anxiously waiting for a job offer to clear all their loans. Even after landing up with a job, you'll be under the constant threat of being fired. This is obvious since you would have cooked up your resume.
The candidate then starts living a life of regret saying that life in India was much better but he cannot get back as he doesn't have the money. The employer really is not bothered. The employee gets homesick and has virtually no one to fall back on. This causes almost suicidal tendencies. He/she is ashamed even to face his/her parents. Parents have no clue as to what is going on, thinking that their child must be settling down and reaping the riches.
RE:RE:H1B Visa
by TheVoice on Jul 04, 2007 12:18 PM Permalink
As everybody knows, citizens in India are still earning good salaries but to satisfy one's ego, they find it necessary to go abroad and become the envy of their neighbours and relatives.
Coming to the point. Many people do not know about these scams. I don't blame them. It is the media and citizens who need to publicise this fraud. So I advice people not to fall victims to companies promising an H1B sponsorship and lead a life of hell in the US. There are thousands of Indians suffering in the US chasing that so called American dream. If you really want to chase that dream, go through genuine companies. There are no short cuts to success. There is nothing wrong in working in another country to make an extra buck but be aware of scams.
Yes, I know it's a difficult issue. There are ways to curb this rampant corruption. Using the media is one way.
I was in the US for a about a year.. I have many friends in the US and got a semblance of how these H1B visas work there.
About 80% (and I DO NOT exaggerate) of Indian students go to "Consultants" for a job. These consultants are scamsters who "train" them on a particular subject. Hot ones now are SAP and Oracle. They soup up resumes by adding fake experience.. then they are placed with an American company through authorized vendors. The consultant and vendors will pocket part of the pay until the employee is on contract with them.
I am ashamed at my countrymen who go to such lengths to live in the US.. We Indian's don't have too much respect for the law.. ours or any other country's.. shameful!
RE:India is a prime H1B abuser.. period!
by Mona Mishra on Jul 04, 2007 10:56 AM Permalink
Hey Dude, y is this eye opening now when u r back in India. Didn't find a good job there or wht.If freshers wanna make it big in SAP and Oracle Apps then they do will have to come back like u. The problem lies with guys like u who just wanna milk the cash cow.
RE:India is a prime H1B abuser.. period!
by kotari vikram on Jul 04, 2007 11:08 AM Permalink
well after viewing lot of messages i understand we are liberal to accept the mistakes at our end what about the US govt agency USCIS which is the responsible body to approve h1-b should'nt they be in a position to determine if the consultant is fake or not because when consultant files for h1-h he presents all the documents if these documents are verified then itself it could avoid pain and agony for a lot of innocent indians ...
Dear all, Whoever goes to USA, thru whichever path, ultimately one has to deliver the goods for USA. Then only one can survive there. USA is benefiting hell lot from the H1B. Still it weeps like crocodile. It does so, to keep the H1B hype alive. We are all like baffoons, run take the hype for granted and drool to get H1B, instead of staying back home and serving ourselves, our family, and thus our society. Anyway, right now H1B is Win-Win for all the parties involved. Stop lamenting on the so-called scandals. Everyone is delivering services and hence getting money.
RE:It's still Win-Win
by Faceless Indian on Jul 04, 2007 10:23 AM Permalink
" We are all like baffoons, run take the hype for granted and drool to get H1B, instead of staying back home and serving ourselves, our family, and thus our society."
How about practising what you preach. Quit tomorrow and go back if you can.
This article is bang on.The trash has to be separated now. Its a good thing that the US govt has woken up to this issue finally. Now hopefully the good will stay and the trash will go.Its about time.You wouldn't have said the last line of yours if you read the article properly and realized its essence.
Take a look at www.h1bmates.com and www.goolti.com to see real life examples of what people who have come to the US in this fraudulent way have to say about their sufferings.
RE:RE:It's still Win-Win
by dora babu on Jul 04, 2007 10:33 AM Permalink
One has to pay for one's mistake my son. Greediness is costly syndrome. It's not preaching. It's reality of life. I was hit once coz my greediness. I am not lamenting like you guys. I understood that frauds thrive on people like us. People like us are the life line for all kinds of frauds. It's not philosophy. It's fact.
who is responsible for this,i say us government and indian companies like,infosys,tcs,wipro are responsible,they ask two years software experience where to get ,definetly they go for it.let them take people from genuine training institutes.people pay huge amount for doing courses like sap,oracle even then the companies ask two years genuine experience .say for example oracle apps release 12 has come recently ,the companies ask 2 or 3 years genuine experience in 12 version.dont blame the companies you blame the system.
USCIS works on supply and demand. They simply process the paperwork.
The Indian Bureaucracy is CORRUPT from the top down. So let us fix our own mistakes first.
US takes care of its citizens and enforces the laws of the land in order to make every citizen feels like a real citizen.
India lacks respect for its own laws and the laws dont make its citizen feel proud of justice served. (that is, there is one law for those with money and another for those without)
Therefore, many Indians leave for the US seeking freedom of Justice.
So if you want to see India prosper put an end to corruption in the legal system and respect the laws written down in the Indian Constitution.
RE:Dont Blame USCIS
by dora babu on Jul 04, 2007 10:26 AM Permalink
Hey man, seems u r blind to USA scandals. We are not blind. I agree that India is corrupt. But I also agree to the fact that USA is much more corrupt, if not plunderor bandit. Mistakes take place irrespective of countries. We need to look at them with human mind rather than taking the names of the countries and doing mud slinging.
by StrongerMan on Jul 04, 2007 10:26 AM Permalink
Dora Babu, This discussion is about H1-B visa scandals propogated by Indian companies. Its all over the media (press). So instead of supporting this stupidity and bringing down the respect educated Indians have earned for India for the past 55 years across the globe do something to fix the corruption in India.
You are another person who is supporting corruption.
by dora babu on Jul 04, 2007 10:38 AM Permalink
Well, my dear. I dream for corruptionless society. But, it's dream. Show me one place, single person who is not corrupt. You are seeing only that part which affects you. You are blind to the rest of the world. Wake up my dear.
by gangutelli on Jul 04, 2007 01:45 PM Permalink
S.B Mujumdar in Pune.. is one embodiment of a corrupt less success... look him up... rather me telling u more of him....
by anthony on Jul 04, 2007 10:20 AM Permalink
yes i agree with you.but when you want software professionals say in oracle where you wil get them.oracle got started in usa.oracle is giving training ,even after paying huge amount companies are asking for experience,one way to get good professionals is let us government believe oracle like training institutes and go for campus interviews and select good people
A story i heard - a person went to US using this route ...
Did not find a job.
Joined the same company he was working for here! Again. As a fresh recruit.
More hilarious comments from our netas at:
http://sycopant.wordpress.com
Recently, i had to interact with an officer for a period of time. I found that they were all having fun, and not doing much work.
I have feeling, that Jayanthi Natarajan, Ambika Soni, and all others must be having similar fun on Pranab, Arjun, Manmohan, and Patil with Sonia as their cheiftain.
As India - Today had said in an ARTICLE - what i s going on is the Great INdian Circus.