Total 269 messages Pages < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>
AP trends
by Eagle on Jul 06, 2007 09:13 PM  Permalink 

Major %age engaged and getting less than $30,000 PA in US which is less than average.
Even in India, More than 100 Engineering college have campus average 4L PA salary.
They have to spent couple of years to earn some money. You can't find APs in Design or critical testing area.

Why not L1 for Indian companies?
by shankar pp on Jul 06, 2007 04:05 PM  Permalink 

Indian companies have their offices in the US. THsy can send their employees on L1 visas. They unnecessarily apply for H1.

H1b applicant
by on Jul 06, 2007 01:05 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Guys,
let me tell you the truth. Everybody believes that the desi small firm consultants eats up the share of h1b from the big IT giants. In reality, what are these big IT giants doing with so many H1b's? They are also doing the same thing as the small guys except that these big firms have much more reputation.

Small firm consultants:
For a fee, they get h1b's and then put these guys into some other companies after the actual interviews. They eat 40-50% of the money what the employee earns there.

Big guys like TCS, infy:
They get H1b's for their employees, even though many times that employee is never sent to the US. This is bylarge a means of retaining employees. The employee will day dream of going to the US someday but which will never happen. Even when they are sent, most of the times they work for some other project than they had initially had applied for the visa. These big guys also loot most of the money from the clients and pay a very small portion to their employees.

Bottomline: H1B visa's should be taken off. A UK visa equivalent of HSMP should be brought in wherein an employee is not tied to his employer. Probably we can have a maximum cap on this.

This is more of my personal opinion as a H1b visa applicant of 2006. Ya still an applicant.
I can be reached here: http://timeforblog.blogspot.com/

RE:RE:H1b applicant
by Ashish Bandyopadhyay on Jul 06, 2007 01:34 PM  Permalink
I fully agree with you regarding the big firms. I have personally seen this happening in big companies in Pune. I rediff had some way by which we as readers could make and article more prominent(, say a voting system) so that concerns like these get redirected to people who have the authority and power and can actually do something about it.

RE:RE:H1b applicant
by Dharmesh Patel on Jul 06, 2007 01:37 PM  Permalink
You are right and i agree with u.

M. sairam
by kd srivastva on Jul 06, 2007 01:01 PM  Permalink 

this is bad .. no one should encourage it

Hyderabadi consultants
by Ashutosh Kole on Jul 06, 2007 11:28 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

How much more are the Hyderabadi consultant companies going to ridicule Indians in front of Foreigners? Do the have any downward limit? They can go to any extend to earn money. They are shame for all the Indians. Many Indians in US have to face discrimination from the Americans because of these people. Their basic nature of "doing anything" for some cash is a spit on the face of genuine Indians here. They bring hoards of Hydrabadi professionals here in US and make them work as second class citizens, meager pay, no benefits, simply bonded labourers. Its difficult to see the plight of fellow Indians here in Silicon Valley who work for such consultants. I came across a person from Hyderabad who was employed by one such consultant. That fellow walks 7 miles each way to work, 6 people stay in one bedroom apartment, the remaining five just like him. This is just because they do not get paid well and off course never on time. How much more are these people going to ridicule Indians?

RE:Hyderabadi consultants
by suresh on Aug 12, 2007 02:35 AM  Permalink
Hi Asuthosh, Bakwas bandh karo. Only andhrites & kannadigas respect others & they feel every indian as their own. But you North Indian people always differentiate from North part and south part. Struggle make technology. 100 people in one ship room came from europe to US. One mexican walked to Canada. Walking 7 miles is his personal problem. North part of india like Bihar, UP, MP is spoiling the name of India. In north, only 5 percentage people has access to education and in south we have 45 percentage people has access to education. if more people are studing means more struggles. Most of south indians come to USA to do MS not on H1B as you mentioned. I know lot of north indians in New York, Toronto are Taxi Drivers and lot doing very very low level jobs.... Before commenting, ek baar check tumhara back. Make sure it won't smelled...

by Ravi on Jul 06, 2007 02:51 PM  Permalink
Great point Raised, Ashutosh, but basically it is an inherent built-into quality of every Hyderabadi( andhrite's) pshyche that they want to settle in US,even tho all know that they will be cramped in a room, walk a lot and get paid less.Blame the people more than the consultants.

RE:RE:Hyderabadi consultants
by kamaal udd on Jul 06, 2007 08:18 PM  Permalink
angoor khatte hain :)
Losers, hyderabadis are there in US because they study hard and get engineering degree and qualify for H1 visa. If someone is walking 7 miles, he is just stupid..there are lakhs of hyderabadis in US who has the best homes/cars and excellent standard of life in US. Infact, there annual income is more than any other group in US......They are the richest, most powerful and influential group in US. If you don't know the facts, then shut-upppp.

by Eagle on Jul 06, 2007 08:55 PM  Permalink
Just shut up, They work hard to go US only some %age, most of them taking unfair means. I am in US and full agree with Ashutosh.
One guy married AP girls (Engineer) but this guy is waiter in local resto. I saw him and helped once Girls pregnent and she resigned from company and same time Waiter don't have enough money to survive. It is a social pressure to go US for nothing. During economy slow down, who is affected????
One guy kicked by US MNC after 2 Years (because of fake resumes) and now this guy running small rest in bangalore. You go and enjoy Gobhi Machhurian.

RE:RE:RE:Hyderabadi consultants
by ravi on Jul 08, 2007 12:09 AM  Permalink
Let me tell you, most of the ANDHRA people come to US with fake papers, degrees etc.
I have seen loads

Lets make india better
by on Jul 05, 2007 02:35 PM  Permalink 

Lets Make india worth Living, Every year 1000's of people go out and most likely they are smart and are respected outside, In india you get no respect as a citizen, No one keeps . we all can collectively take little steps to make india worth living, it may not get fixed but at least you can say we tried. One step to make your lives simple is that www.indiflight.com, its a world class idea from 2 iitians with no competitor world wide to make finding cheap tickets in india very simple, Now you will not miss your 1 rs ticket. I know its not going to fix a lot of your problems but if we encourage creativity in india slowly we might see more problems of india being solved

Hello
by Rohan on Jul 05, 2007 10:31 AM  Permalink 

I agree there are difficulties when dealing with these consultants, but it's more or less the only route people can use. The visa system itself is to be blamed for the misuse.

Suppose I have a genuine company and I want a SAP consultant for 6 months if not for such system I will have to conduct interviews on phone and give them offer letter and it would take them a yr or more to get to US. The company can't wait for such long time. People need to be in US when they are required and by going through the rules would take ages and many a times some IT personnel are required only for short span of time so a company can't guarantee
they would be with them for a long time.
So these consultants get them here and send them to various locations in US to work on hourly basis for short periods of time.

These politicians are making noise only to get attention, all of them across the spectrum are well aware they need lot of Engineers.
Also if they don't get engineers when required out sourcing would only grow. A couple of bad quarters you will see the US economy doing badly it would hit US and India both. Some of them are underpaid but many are also rewarded richly some of the SAP consultants get more then $ 150 per hour which is much more then some of the engineers in silicon valley.
Even though some Indians come by wrong ways to US most of them are law abiding and only contribute to the US economy that is the reason no one actually cares.

H1B - Precautions!!
by mate on Jul 05, 2007 10:09 AM  Permalink 

Even though the article mentions about the H1B Scam, it does not mention any precautions.

The quota for this year is already over and if one needs to come on H1B he has to wait till April 2008 when his application can be filed.

This year INS (USCIS) the agency for approving H1B have chosen to do the selection by lot (Kind of Lucky dip) and will choose applications. Getting H1B (Probably from here on) is now pure luck!!!

Once H1B Petition is approved then a candidate need to attend interview in US consulate for getting his Visa. He can go to only that consulate which is located close to his residential address (Meaning a person residing in Hyderabad can go to only Chennai Consulate, there are some exceptions though). The consultates have lots of information about the universities, organizations etc in their Domicile. People who are heading with Fake Certificates beware. Consulates can sieze the documents and can handover to police.

A candidate going for H1B visa need to have the original petition with him and it his right to keep it safely and he need not give it to the agent. A person to travel to US need to have approved Visa and petition papers. A person requires 2 current pay stubs to transfer his H1B visa and he is free to work for any employer (Of course In the same profession) and the employer has to pay him a minimum salary (Check immigrations sites like murthy.com or immihelp.com for more info).

If US want to catch these fake companies
by Srinivas on Jul 05, 2007 03:11 AM  Permalink 

US has so many things to do that it hands are tied up. Politicians just keep making and changing rules, but they do not have enough resources to enforce them. Let them keep changing them...

Total 269 messages Pages: < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>