Really enjoyed reading this article. It is a way of life for a successful community, be it japan, europe or US. Value other people's time. Do what you commit, no open ended things. Wonderful!!
It is true that India is having a great scope of work with Japan. Japan has never been so open for outsiders. Other hand they also expect good and timely business with their counterparts which means we have to do a big improvement in our working style if we want to do business with them. During working in Japan I noticed that they do not like the trend of "No problem" or "Chalta hai" which is very common for us. One day they told me that your people (Indian companies) do not keep promises and change the schedule everyday which of course is not a good sign for long business relationship. It is not only that individuals should change this manner, also it needs to change the way of thinking of our corporate management. Most of the cases, management do not study the manpower requirement of the job properly and blindly make the promises of execution. In Japan, they (Japanese) give sufficient time for a particular work with no delay is acceptable. I believe that Indians who are working in Japan complete their work before the given time. Let,s hope that this culture will be adopted widely and the Indian business culture will be changed as it will be exposed more and more to the overseas organizations.
This is extremely good article. What Japanese expect from us are very basic things 1. Punctuality 2. Think and analyze before commiting. 3. Come prepared for a meeting on what you talk. 4. Be attentive and do not lose even minor points. 5. Always, keep up the quality and schedule. These are nothing extraordinary. Whatever may be your job (IT/Medicine/Insurance/Banking etc) these habits can be and should be followed.
The article is really informative and what so ever we need to get inspirations from every succesful country. JAPANESE DONT DO STRIKE TO FULFIL THE DEMAND INSTEAD THEY WORK TWICE THE NORMAL!!!!!
Eg. Instead of strike in a production unit they produce double!!!!
It's been 18 years since I joined Volvo, a Swedish company. Working for them has proven to be an interesting experience. Any project here takes 2 years to be finalized, even if the idea is simple and brilliant. It's a rule.
Globalize processes have caused in us (all over the world) a general sense of searching for immediate results. Therefore, we have come to posses a need to see immediate results. This contrasts greatly with the slow movements of the Swedish. They, on the other hand, debate, debate, debate, hold x quantity of meetings and work with a slowdown scheme. At the end, this always yields better results.
Said in another words: 1. Sweden is about the size of San Pablo, a state in Brazil. 2. Sweden has 2 million inhabitants. 3. Stockholm has 500,000 people. 4. Volvo, Escania, Ericsson, Electrolux, Nokia are some of its renowned companies. Volvo supplies the NASA.
The first time I was in Sweden, one of my colleagues picked me up at the hotel every morning. It was September, bit cold and snowy. We would arrive early at the company and he would park far away from the entrance (2000 employees drive their car to work). The first day, I didn't say anything, either the second or third. One morning I asked, "Do you have a fixed parking space? I've noticed we park far from the entrance even when there are no other cars in the lot." To which he replied, "Since we're here early we'll have time to walk, and whoever gets in late will be late and need a place closer to the door. Don't you think?" Imagine my face.
Nowadays, there's a movement in Europe name Slow Food. This movement establishes that people should eat and drink slowly, with enough time to taste their food, spend time with the family, friends, without rushing. Slow Food is against its counterpart: the spirit of Fast Food and what it stands for as a lifestyle. Slow Food is the basis for a bigger movement called Slow Europe, as mentioned by Business Week.
Basically, the movement questions the sense of "hurry" and "craziness" generated by globalization, fueled by the desire of "having in quantity" (life status) versus "having with quality", "life quality" or the "quality of being". French people, even though they work 35 hours per week, are more productive than Americans or British. Germans have established 28.8 hour workweeks and have seen their productivity been driven up by 20%. This slow attitude has brought forth the US's attention, pupils of the fast and the "do it now!%u201D
This no-rush attitude doesn't represent doing less or having a lower productivity. It means working and doing things with greater quality, productivity, perfection, with attention to detail and less stress. It means reestablishing family values, friends, free and leisure time. Taking the "now", present and concrete, versus the "global", undefined and anonymous. It means taking humans' essential values, the simplicity of living.
It stands for a less coercive work environment, more happy, lighter and more productive where humans enjoy doing what they know best how to do. It's time to stop and think on how companies need to develop serious quality with no-rush that will increase productivity and the quality of products and services, without losing the essence of spirit.
In the movie, Scent of a Woman, there's a scene where Al Pacino asks a girl to dance and she replies, "I can't, my boyfriend will be here any minute now". To which Al responds, "A life is lived in an instant". Then they dance to a tango.
Many of us live our lives running behind time, but we only reach it when we die of a heart attack or in a car accident rushing to be on time. Others are so anxious of living the future that they forget to live the present, which is the only time that truly exists. We all have equal time throughout the world. No one has more or less. The difference lies in how each one of us does with our time. We need to live each moment.
As John Lennon said, "Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans".
RE:Slow Down Culture....
by OM PRAKASH on Feb 22, 2007 10:28 AM Permalink
Hi, Can you provide us the basis on which you say that there is more productivity in case of France & Germany.The details will be very helpful.
by Suganth M on Feb 23, 2007 04:27 PM Permalink
Couple of things.You look at life in different perspectives.No offence meant for Sweden but for a country which is the size of 'San Pablo' ...they can afford to live like the residents of San Pablo and chew food slowly and enjoy living life in every instant.
Things are not so good in other countries.If I drive late to work, I dont get a parking space.I have to write exams with 1 lakh other equally qualified students to get a seat in a college.The fittest survive.We have lots of important things in mind and ekinga livelihood is always given a priority.Not that I dont enjoy my jon but sure I cant affors to live and relax every minute... And anyway..I dont know whether it is relevant but incidentally Sweden has the highest divorce rate in the World...;-)
by Pushan Banerjee on Feb 23, 2007 10:58 AM Permalink
Wonderful post. Finally here is something that captures a hidden essence of the article. I agree whole heartedly with the slow movement. Explaining it to the corporate honchos is another thing though.
It is always a great pleasure working with Japanese companies and people. * PERFECTION at every stage of business and execution, which is difficult, but must while working with Japanese. * Understanding of Japanese language and culture will help you moving smoothly.
-manish panjwani manishATsaoraDOTcoDOTjp Saora Kabushiki Kaisha, Yokohama, Japan
Very well written. Chanced to experience Japanese punctuality, preparation for meetings - (they have a meeting among themselves before they meet up with you) which I dont't think we do here. But punctuality & delivering commitments - I feel we too are not anywhere behind.
I should be thankful for this article...it is very useful for people like me who are into international trading......we hope for more articls about many countries to understand them better for Our business.....
Iam working in Tokyo,Japan and whatever you have said is very true. I would like to add one more observation.I truly admire our grasping ability and efficiency but we need to improve ourselves on listening ability as well.Japanese simply cannot take the habit of frequent interruptions in conversation when you cut in abruptly to tell your viewpoint. As you rightly said, Japanese are very particular about time commitments. Indians have the habit of telling two minutes, one minute, Will get back in a moment but all these may at times take days.We should avoid such phrases like `two minutes` etc.