Total 22 messages Pages | 1 | 2   Older >
one thing i understand
by Prabagar Balakrishnan on Feb 06, 2007 07:48 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

In those days the laws were to hinder the growth of anyone instead it should help to the growth of its people, these days it might have changed but yet has to be changed alot and the law should be for it people convenience and growth. no use of law unless it didn't meet the requirement of its people.

RE:one thing i understand
by suppandi on Feb 06, 2007 11:14 AM  Permalink
reliance=JUGAAD

guru
by nitin gupta on Feb 06, 2007 07:39 AM  Permalink 

Just leaving the acting and directing bit aside for a while, - to be frank, I didnt know, and I am sure many indians didnt know too- that some of our great businessmen, whom we respect so much from our hearts, were so corrupt earlier in their days! I have truely developed more hatred for the people whom I respected after seeing the movie..

Does anyone else agree with me?

Awesome acting by Amitabh!
by Joomera on Feb 06, 2007 03:00 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I must say that tremendous performance by Amitabh. He was great in Agneepath but now he has evolved as an actor. The story line was good and justified all the corruption activities. We should commend the Director Mr. Mani Ratnam for that. Songs were ok though a couple of good ones.. The court room scene at the end was fantastic. Good job Gain Sr.Bacchan. Was Abhishek in the movie???? if yes then it felt like a cut an paste image of Amitabh. PLEASEE stop copying Abhishek..

RE:Awesome acting by Amitabh!
by nitin gupta on Feb 06, 2007 06:52 AM  Permalink
well said.. i totally agree.. He has got nothing of his own.. just tries to immitate his dad.

GURU ! a big FART by mani rathnam
by vemula charan on Feb 06, 2007 01:18 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

1. Looks like even Mani rathnam got the disease of first roping in the big names and trying to make a movie around them (Kran johar is the other one)
2.no need for aishwarya in that role; she was just thrust upon viewers

2. Was Amitabh doing the dubbing for Abishek??; even some scenes remind me of Agneepath. Amitabh should stop acting and then we wont miss him as abhishek does the same.

3.songs were shot first in typical mani style (reminds me of bombay) and they tried to squeeze them in.

RE:GURU ! a big FART by mani rathnam
reliance=JUGAAD

Its a good movie but justification of corruption is wrong
by Ramesh P on Feb 06, 2007 01:01 AM  Permalink 

I liked the movie Guru, the way it is being shown how an individual with a vision and enthusiasm to achieve can raise to heights. A middle clss person without big MBAs can reach a stage being a country's largest corporate house. It just blows our mind! It will inspire lot of people in India to be successful.

Other aspect as mentioned in many comments is India is still in socialistic economic policies and back then there was lot of red tape to do business. Infact even now goverment (Politicians and top brass) wants to keep it that way so they get bribed once file moves from one department to another.

I felt movie sort of justified the wrong doings of this visionary (or Dhirubhai) on two aspects.

1) Corruption - Now to cut the red tape, he bribed the politicians. I feel this cannot be justified. You want to make things by giving away money. In India this becomes a norm that every other individual who has bypass rules has to be bribe. I feel this cannot be justified in anyway.

2) Breaking law - A law or rule is a law. Even if it is tough. Doing production more than what has been told government or using machinery and showing them sparts. Basically breaking a law or misusing a law is bad. Later the hero claims he is illiterate and he cant understand the rules is TOO MUCH. If you dont know rules hire a person who can read and understand for you.
Basically it is cheating government and avoiding Tax.

BTW government sets policies for public welfare, for example import duties or big ones like FDI in retail. You cant simply break them for your profit or bribe a way out and say there is red tape. This is NOT acceptable at all.

For all those ppl who are abroad and in India, if a person evades tax or breaks laws in US they will not getaway so easily. Standing example is Martha Stewart who was convicted of inside trading

Guru Movie and Family
by AA on Feb 05, 2007 10:57 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Hello there,

I watched Guru movie recently and to be frank I was very disappointed with the movie. It's OK (average) kind of movie but nowhere near Classic. The climax was really aweful. It definitely copied the scenes of Aviator movie in which the arguments go for more then 1/2 hour. It was so horrible to see in 4 1/2 minutes he is able to change the complete views of judges which is truly a INDIAN HERO story (usual stuff).

There are many scenes which were not required at all for the story. It starts well but not so good on ending.

It was very sad to see how GURU becomes successful and profitable by cheating on government. There must have been a better way.

There are many people in the world where the business are successful with family related people.

I would recommend all to watch Aviator if you haven't so far.

Long live the Successful Entrepreneurs.

RE:Guru Movie and Family
by yalla on Feb 05, 2007 11:15 PM  Permalink
Well I think you need to see movie once again, he didnt change the view of judges, he had to pay for 2 cheatings, which were proved against him. He was just telling them how the actual system is.. Nobody is listening to newcomers. You know my suggestion is.. Keep watching it until you understand it.. Like you know in indian school they used to punish you for your good to read/write a lesson 5-10 times.. just like that..
Believe me its for your own good.. You will get it..

RE:RE:Guru Movie and Family
by Lakshmi Narasimhan Deenadhayalan on Feb 06, 2007 12:06 AM  Permalink
What you said abosulutely correct.the film showed how he become a great business tycoon from a difficult situation. It showed how red tape in india affects business growth. Due to reliance lakhs of common benifited a lot and country benifited a lot. I hope that our government policies are changing and bocoming industry friendly.

RE:RE:RE:Guru Movie and Family
reliance=JUGAAD

RE:RE:RE:Guru Movie and Family
by Ravi Sastry on Feb 06, 2007 12:24 AM  Permalink
the movie is bull shit, honestly, if you understand movie making and keep track of hollywood movies, any TDH can tell that the court scene was taken directly from AVIATOR. though the court scene of AVIATOR is really good, in GURU you start thinking of amitabh instead of guru bhai or abhishek. whats the need for GURU to immitate Amitabh Bacchans style ? do you call it acting ? actors should get into the mindset of the protogonist and theres something called originality which is lacking. can you call GURU as a model ? is this what Dhirubhai really did ? cheat the Govt and made money for self and share holders ? if so, nothing gr8 about it. even i can cheat and make money, wheres the morality ?
FYI...watch AVIATOR and better, watch Pursuit of Happyness, now will smit shows what acting is all about. you dont have to shout on-screen to show your passions and emotions, its the power of expressions and the feelings and the manner in which you convey them. Bollywood seriously lacks it. why the hell cant bollywood come up with really good original stuff ? i was totally dissappointed to see this GURU movie in NY halls. Abhi, sorry, i didnt enjoy your 'acting' and thumbs down to yet again flop director Mani Ratnam.

Ravi,
Malvern PA

RE:RE:RE:RE:Guru Movie and Family
by AA on Feb 06, 2007 12:41 AM  Permalink
Yes, Ravi, I completely agree with you. There are many movies(not only holywood but also non-english) now which are giving strong performances even with a simple story. Movies like Miss Little Sunshine is the best example you can get.

Movies like Babel, The Persuit of Happyness, Little Miss Sunshine, Children of Men, Take the Lead, Walk the line are the best movies to support this.

Mani Ratnam at the end turned out to be a COPYCAT and interested in making only commercializing. Where is MANI we seen in Bombay, Roja.

Bollywood needs

Originality,
Movies with no commercial aspect,
No multistarrer (Only for getting the basic revenues and all else bull shit),
More practical aspects of life n Society,
Movies in the perspective of a common man and not NRIs, crazy rich people.

AND MANY MORE..........

Hope for better movies from bollywood in the remaining 2007.

RE:Guru Movie and Family
reliance=JUGAAD

Of Guru and India's family businesses
by jayesh deshmukh on Feb 05, 2007 10:38 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Hi there..
I watched guru recently and i am highly impressed by the movie. i was knowing about dhirubhai ambani just as much as any general knowledge. but the movie made me think how great he was.he rise from a comman man to big tycoon which is realy impressive. another fact the movie point is that if a comman man has to do business or move ahead in life so our govt our own policies and our own officials comes our way. i know law should be there,policies should be there but they should be to facilited the upliftment of anyone not to curb it.
i read somewhere that if we have to start a business in india then the process takes more time then what it takes in pakistan. while in country like US it just takes 7 days!!!
Movie was great and maniratnam bought an acting out of abhishek.

RE:Of Guru and India's family businesses
by suppandi on Feb 05, 2007 11:51 PM  Permalink
If Dhirubai was just a great business personality, then WHY is the book -- POLYESTER PRIINCE,by Hamish McDonald banned in the country? If there is strenght in what he has achieved, why fear some unknown western author? I think Dhirubai is an example of an Indian tradition called JUGAAD..

You are deriving results on assumptions
by Rahul Moondra on Feb 05, 2007 10:19 PM  Permalink 

The fact that growth occurs when business are held publiculy or indvidually and not by family is only looking at the one side of the coin.Family provides the cushion for the ups and downs of a business and many other benefit which can not be ignored when talking about Family VS publicly held companies.
I also disagree that family owned companies are 17th century concept.Family owned business is a long tradition and is almost irreplceable.

really not true
by Tarun Nagpal on Feb 05, 2007 09:27 PM  Permalink 

ur observations are not true. there are many organizations, which have been family held and still dominating economically. two examples from diverse sectors--WALMART and MONSANTO.

Total 22 messages Pages: | 1 | 2   Older >