RE:KOLKATTA WAS ONCE COMPARED WITH MUMBAI...
by on Dec 11, 2007 12:49 PM Permalink
What the hell do you think of Ahmedabad? come and visit us sometime.. being a metro city since ages you have achieved nothing but communism..being a city to a mega city we have seen lots of developments. We pity that Ahmedabad is compared with Kolkata instead of Banglore or Mumbai..
RE:RE:KOLKATTA WAS ONCE COMPARED WITH MUMBAI...
by MGR Fan on Dec 11, 2007 12:55 PM Permalink
I think you have misunderstood me.. Kolkatta was far ahead of ahmedabad in 1950s, now kolkatta is behind ahmedabad and in future it will fall behind Dhaka and Kabul also. The only solution is for Bengal to throw its CPM rulers.
by MGR Fan on Dec 11, 2007 01:04 PM Permalink
Cheers my friend... Feel free to share statistics to expose the CPM mismanagement of Bengal. There are lots of communist lunatics who post rubbish here and tell that Kolkatta is some great paradise under CPM rule. All those lies should be exposed.
by Anurag Shrivastava on Dec 11, 2007 01:07 PM Permalink
I don't drink and have a good time in Ahmedabad and you call it a good city ? City is not made of empty roads and clean streets - it is about having a buzzing and vibrant nightlife along with fine arts and liberal mindset.
by MGR Fan on Dec 11, 2007 01:29 PM Permalink
You can have a great nightlife and enjoy fine arts, but what do you do for a living?
That is where your COmmunist philosophy falls flat. Communism in fact is more elitist and anti poor than capitalist. The so called intellectual class of Kolkatta represent a rarefied Elite, who have lots of properties and wealth (mostly outside Bengal). they dont need to strive and work hard and so they spend their time day and night, drinking whisky, chewing hilsa and steak and smoking cigars and debating endlessly on why Bin Laden is great and America is evil.
These intellectual communist elites have long abandoned Indian culture or bengali culture. For them, Durg pooja is one big occasion to booze or make busines. They condemn Indian movies and see some meaningless artfilms and worship them. They lookdown upon those who believe in god and claim their communist religion as god.
Kolkatta is a city ruled by such hypocratic, selfish, perverted narrow minded CPM goondas. Shame on your city
by Anurag Shrivastava on Dec 11, 2007 02:31 PM Permalink
Its not my city buddy... I go there on business and thoroughly enjoy the place. Best after Bombay.
by mktm on Dec 11, 2007 01:11 PM Permalink
here you go.. you have got the best definition of having a good life in a good city..
by MGR Fan on Dec 11, 2007 01:31 PM Permalink
Drinking and partying and having sex and endless smoking alone out of other people's money is not life.
The Kolkattan intellectual elite have fun at the expense of millions of other ordinary bengalis who are left illterate, have no electricity in house and have no means to buy books or afford piped water supply.
by Anurag Shrivastava on Dec 11, 2007 02:34 PM Permalink
If your idea of good life is spending an evening with old fogies of an RSS shakha ... then all the best ... or maybe chant bhajans after eating shudh vegetarian food with sambhar and rasam. Enjoy your good life and I will enjoy mine.
RE:RE:RE:KOLKATTA WAS ONCE COMPARED WITH MUMBAI...
by Anurag Shrivastava on Dec 11, 2007 02:35 PM Permalink
And your tastes seem closer to that of jehadis than that of our bohemian ancestors who liked the good life.
i wanted to share somethin after reading the article. ahmedabad and gujarat has got good people. but look wat politics has done. 1) IT: Ahemdabad is catchin up in information tech kolkatta is catchin up in interntiaonal terrorism. thanks to commies.. 2)no strike in ahmedabad, listless strikes in kolkatta
3)terrorists like sohrabuddin are killed in ahmedabad, democrats like taslima are kicked in kolkatta.
People in both the states are indians.. but only prob in commie... please send them to china..
RE:ahmedabad and kolkatta.
by TRUE INDIAN on Dec 11, 2007 12:30 PM Permalink
DEAR SUDERSHAN , I TOTALLY AGREE WITH UR STATEMENT WELL SAID, THE BUSTURD COMMUNIST ARE LIKE "GANDI NAALI KE KIDE" THROW THEM OUT OF INDIA, JAI HIND
Some Communists are telling that Kolkatta has produced 4 nobel prize winners in last 100 years. If that is the case, why is that West Bengal is having the 3rd biggest no of illiterate people in India?
The 30 year CPM rule has failed to eradicate illteracy in this state? Why? the Communists talk about arundathi roy and che guvera and kurosova and drink whisky and feast on steak, but they dont teach basic arithmetic and reading skills to their own fellow bengalis. Is this the hallmark of an intellectual?
RE:RE:WHY IS THAT WEST BENGAL HAS 3rd BIGGEST NO OF ILLITERATES IN INDIA?
by rajesh kannan on Dec 11, 2007 12:08 PM Permalink
yep 4 noble prize winners and rest illitrates nice combination and people still vote for same government
RE:WHY IS THAT WEST BENGAL HAS 3rd BIGGEST NO OF ILLITERATES IN INDIA?
by MGR Fan on Dec 11, 2007 12:12 PM Permalink
And the best joke is that these Elitist CPM supporters call themself intellectuals... Ha Ha
How exactly? Having 4 nobel prize winners and 40 million illiterates makes your state intellectual? They are like those who said that "If you cant afford bread, eat Cakes"
by rajesh kannan on Dec 11, 2007 12:15 PM Permalink
He He, 4 noble winners and 40 million illitrates ,nice Toursit slogan for WB
by rajiv dutt on Dec 12, 2007 12:06 AM Permalink
rajesh, this post shows your uncultured upbringing and unnecesarry jellousy towards bengal! jellousy does not pay, you are wasting time.
by MGR Fan on Dec 11, 2007 12:23 PM Permalink
Good Point - 4 Noble Prize Winners and 40 Million Illiterates makes Kolkatta the intellectual city. LOL
RE:RE:WHY IS THAT WEST BENGAL HAS 3rd BIGGEST NO OF ILLITERATES IN INDIA?
by rajesh kannan on Dec 11, 2007 12:17 PM Permalink
all they do is sit and read ,wear glasses and look intellectual
by rajiv dutt on Dec 12, 2007 12:15 AM Permalink
greatest joke! SC ST fan professing positive things!! how does he even dare to talk about great bengal!!
Mistake. Till the communists are ruling in Bengal investments have to be made with lots of risk taking factors.Old companies who have invested in Bengal before 50 or 60 years before will be able to tell the new aspirants a better story and the differance between old and new times and how they are handling the problems today.The CURRUPT communist leaders are bent upon destroying Bengal and India.
RE:Calcutta for IT ???
by rajesh kannan on Dec 11, 2007 12:03 PM Permalink
they do not work this commies all they do is sit and read ,wear glasses and look intellectual
RE:By The time Calcutta improoves IT will crash
by MGR Fan on Dec 11, 2007 12:24 PM Permalink
And before the crash there will be atleast 10-20 bandhs, hartals, strikes etc
Kolkatta is no way a strategic gateway of Bengal, the way the city used to be till 1970s. Today, Cuttack, Vizag have all the advantages of Kolkatta and have strategic location and closeness to Big industries of Orissa/Chattisgarh. With improving road/rail connectivity, these cities will improve fast and offer competition to Kolkatta.
With CPM rulers, trade unions and hartals, Kolkatta has not much hope untill 2011 state elections.
Its for sure that Mumbai and neighbouring cities are not in the list as these cities are really getting saturated ... Population increase itself is affecting the already living ppl in these areas.. How can more be occupied here.. ? Thanks Rediff for promoting other cities here..
RE:Good to hear Mumbai is not in list...
by rajesh h on Dec 11, 2007 11:50 AM Permalink
same to to Bangalore, population ha ssaturated and no more land available, good to know other cities think they need to have industries,we Bangaloreans can breath easy
by DCS on Dec 11, 2007 11:51 AM Permalink
Mumbai and neighbouring cities are bread and butter for other state's people who shifted here for.like karnataka, UP, bihar, orisa, gujrat, bengal kerla, chennai, rajastan,
you will find here all state people. so please dont abuse maharastra. Jay maharastra..
by rajesh kannan on Dec 11, 2007 12:02 PM Permalink
no body is abusing Maharastra ,he is saying that Bombay is saturated with people thats all and it cannot take any more people ,this is same with Bangalore too
by Anurag Shrivastava on Dec 11, 2007 12:16 PM Permalink
Bangalore can still take a lot of people if the outskirts get developed and that is happening now. It can grow larger and larger without a problem . It will be a problem if you continue to stuff mor people in Indiranagar and Koramangala... otherwise it is fine. Mumbai will also be fine once you clear Dharavi and all those shanty towns like Dongri and East Dadar of slums - and built big roads and tall towers out there connected with good metro system. It is not an issue of population but a will to enforce laws. People like Priya Dutt will take morchas out when slums get cleared but will do nothing to develop the city or keep the place clean.
by MGR Fan on Dec 11, 2007 12:27 PM Permalink
Bangalore, Mumbai , Ahmedabad, all these cities will thrive and do well despite various problems, because the people over here have the work culture and ethic of hard work.
The governments in these cities dont believe in the fraudulent thing called communism and they allow free enterprise.
That is not the case with Kolkatta. The 30 years of CPM rule has destroyed work culture in the city. The attitude to work is destroyed by the intellectual argumentative communist who keeps arguing on every damn thing instead of finding constructive solution.
Only the removal of Communism can make Kolkatta a glorious and great city that it was till 1970s..
by Anurag Shrivastava on Dec 11, 2007 02:55 PM Permalink
If the communists follow what their chinese counterparts are doing in China - then Bengal will be as good as China . However - the Bangladeshi problem is most acute and there can be no progress unless they are removed from Bengal.
by on Dec 11, 2007 11:59 AM Permalink
U dumb ... am not abusing our state.. Maharashtra is my state too.. and am son this soil... If u cudnt understand my message please understand now... Maharashtra has been feeding till today to lacs of outsiders.. now no place to already ppl staying here .. Its good rediff is promoting other cities.. What if still they had promoted Mumbai.. ?? More ppl wouuld have tried to invest in this city and they we are in a huge trouble..
RE:RE:Good to hear Mumbai is not in list...
by rajesh kannan on Dec 11, 2007 12:05 PM Permalink
I agree with DEC , i am from Karnatka and always like Bombay, each time I visit ,i can see Bombay groaning under pressure from migration, this city could have been awesome ,if people had not come in hoards here
by jay b on Dec 11, 2007 09:42 PM Permalink
Nobody is doing favor for allowing people to live and work in mumbai (and few other cities in maharashtra) . The state needs these so called outsiders to keep on developing and generate revenue . Maharashtra is number one state in development mostly due to mumbai (and its people) and due to the revenue,opportunities,... it generates for the last 50 years. For ex pimpri-chinchwad belt near pune would not developed if it was not close to mumbai from where the industries migrated initially. similar case for real estate,jobs,.....
Eversince Nandigram Issue came,I have pointed out several times in this rediff forum regarding Importance of Kolkata .Now comes Ahmedabad as a potential place.There are various reasons 1. During British rule , British understood the potential of Ahmedabad and kolkata .So they made Kolkata as capital and Ahmedabad as Manchester of india .The relation of Kolkata and ahmedabad is very old and there was tremendous business riveraly between this two coastal cities .Both the cities once the hub of textiles but alas ! last 60 years this two cities were neglected as a result Ahmedabad has lost lot of textile Mills once it had and Kolkata lost the hub of forging and other steel Industry .Thanks to the political apathy of our all political system and those who once thought that by killing this two cities other states will gain and yeas they gain to a certain extent as long as our economy was a controll economy but suddenly this two cities has attracted so many Industrialist due to economic liberisation initiated by Late narsimha Rao and Dr manmophan singh in 1991 . 1. Kolkata is gateway of entire South east Asia,Australia ,North and South America and Ahmedabad is the gate way of entire west Asia ,EU .That is the reason Cherismatic CM Sh. Buddha is trying to develop Nandigram , a strategic island between Kolkata and Haldia port in the bay of Bengal.That is the reason L>N Mittal,Posco is trying to do their business in Jharkhand and Orissa due to easy proximity to Kolkata and haildia ,
RE:Kolkata to Ahmedabad
by MGR Fan on Dec 11, 2007 11:45 AM Permalink
The charismatic CM thought he can industrialise the state by killing hundreds of Muslims in Nandigram.
And the charismatic CM's Party CPM opposes SEZs and industrialisation in other states like Orissa.
by rajesh h on Dec 11, 2007 11:53 AM Permalink
they do not work this commies all they do is sit and read ,wear glasses and look intellectual
by Tapan Palai on Dec 11, 2007 12:14 PM Permalink
CPM HAS NO CONCRETE STAND. IT DEPENDS ON THE SITUATION. THEY ARE BUSY TO CAPTURE POWER IN ANY MEANS, NOTHING ELSE. MOST OF THE MINISTERS ARE ILLETERATE AND COME TO POWER BY QUOTA, SO HOW THEY THINK BETTER FOR FUTURE GROWTH.