I am from Chennai.Though I am no supporter of Ramdoss & co, I have certain points to put forward regarding Reliance
I have been shopping at Reliance Fresh for past few months. I should accept the rate was fair & products were good initially. Apart from fruits & vegetables, they were selling other items like Atta, Rice, Dal etc below MRP. For example, MRP of Moong Dal was given as Rs 65 & they were selling for around Rs 45. Initially, I was excited. But, later on I found that the actual price for a quality Moong Dal was only Rs 45. So, they are just hiking the price & show it low in the bill. If you buy other items like Complan, Horlicks etc, the price is same as MRP. On the other hand, if you buy the same items from small sized %u201CANNACHI%u201D shops (Shops usually run by Nadars who sell it on a low margin), you will get the same product for lower price.
Another thing that I noticed is that the %u201CToday%u2019s Offer%u201D from Reliance. They sell fruit juices like Tropicana, Real etc about Rs 10 to Rs 15 less than the MRP. But, customers should be careful. They are actually old stocks & the product might expire in few days.
Once they gave an offer of buy one sliced carrot packet and get one free. I bought it and found that both packets contained sliced %u201Crotten%u201D carrot.
I decided to go back to usual local ANNACHI Shops and famous vegetable markets in Koyembedu, TNagar, Perambur etc as I get fresh products in cheap rate.
RE:Reliance
by Venky N on Aug 24, 2007 05:17 PM Permalink
Let the public decide what is good for them. Instead of threatening people, these politicians must make life easier for rural folk without middle men eating most of the value. I have used places such as "Uzhavar Sandhai" (Farmers Market in Tamilnadu) - it is possible to get fresh vegetables about 20% cheaper than normal retail shops. The point is that if the mechanisms are made available to rural farmers they will be able to sell it at a value that benefits both consumers and themselves instead of the middle men making money. Reliance and Bharti Walmart are replacing the old middlemen goondas and will twist these villagers to sell them at cheap prices and sell at vey high prices to urban/semi-urban folks.
Let the market decide who has to survive and who has to perish!
by Chatur on Aug 24, 2007 04:57 PM Permalink
This is exactly what the point is. If the prodcuts and service are really good thne people will definetly buy from Reliance or if they are not satisfied they will not. Lets leave the choice to the people. Ramadoss has no business in deciding whats good or not for people of this country.
by prithiviraj A on Aug 24, 2007 05:11 PM Permalink
Hello chatur... The idea of opposing reliance is right only..
If People starts buying from Reliance Fresh... they alone get profit... so Rich get richer... It will affect many local vendors whose entire life is with those vegetable markets....
So i would go against reliance..This does not mean that am supporting Ramadaoss..
RE:RE:Reliance
by Brad Pitt on Aug 25, 2007 01:29 AM Permalink
So instead of using email next time...write post card :D that will help your poor post man and he dont lose his job.
Reliance or any other entity has as much a right to do business in any part of India as you or your cirlce of politicians have to breathe. The constitution guaratees your right to life...and it equally guarantees the right of others to conuduct business.
Further, have you ever thought about rights of the buyers - who in number far exceed the unorganized and inefficient (and also chearing oriented) small time retailers?
Are you not going to help your impoverished Tamil brethren in having a chance at buying with dignity...the same dignity that you preserve for yourself with your illegally obtained assets (houses, cars and foreign currency accounts in third party names).
Wishing you end of your career in disruptive, negative and illegal politics. Yes, both Tamil Nadu and the country do not need you!
RE:Message for Dr S Ramadoss
by Nesar Ahmad on Aug 24, 2007 05:21 PM Permalink
what happens to the right life of the thousands of farmers who are commitiing sucides all over the country. what happens to the right to life to the people who are being displaced by the big industries, mines, and dams... what about the right to life of the people who's common resources of lands, forest, water etc are being looted... what about the right to life of the people who are losing their jobs, or/and are being exploited in the factories... what about the right to life of the people of this country my dear..
RE:Message for Dr S Ramadoss
by Friendly OBC on Aug 24, 2007 05:39 PM Permalink
If you only think about it...properity is not built upon a foundation of appeasement and socialism...those who propogated this idea in the USSR have junked it out in favor of market economics. Keep thinking this way...and the future generations will be poor too. And of course, you would not be one of them. You would only knowingly support unworkable ideas even then. Go on...make India poorer.
My dear rediff readers. Ramadoss dosent represent tamils. I see lot of hate messages against Tamils here. Ramadoss is a self centered politician who taken open bribe from the public. He is known best for cutting trees as a form of protest two decades ago. He has cut around 30,000 trees to mark his protest. His speeches have often incited violence. He represents only 4% of the total votes in Tamil Nadu which comes from his community. I have known educated youngsters from his community have utter disregard for him. Ramadoss should be taught a lesson in the coming elections. I appeal to the rediff readers not to post messages inciting hatred. There is large population of non-tamils in Tamil Nadu. Malayalis, Marwaris, Telgites, Kannadigas and others have considerable presence in the state. Not all tamils are fanatics like Ramadoss. 96% of the total population of TN want industries to come to TN. We all companies like Reliance, Tatas and other companies to invest in TN. Chennai is the automobile and electronis hub of south asia. Its also a major IT/ITES destination. IT exports in Chennai account for 21,000 crores second only to Bangalore in India. Hyndai, Ford, BMW, Renault, Nissan are some of the automobile majors. Nokia, Flextronis, Samsung, Intel & Dell are some of the other companies. Let Ramadoss and his son do farming and improve Tamil Nadu. We want India to grow and a small state like TN to grow along with India. I am an Indian first, we are all Indians first. vande mataram
RE:Hate messages against tamils
by Vijay Dalwani on Aug 24, 2007 03:10 PM Permalink
Friend, you are absolutely correct. We all have been living in this country which is ruled by caste based politics hence these emotions erupt.
RE:Hate messages against tamils
by Neutral on Aug 24, 2007 03:22 PM Permalink
Dont compare & judge Tamilians by taking opportunits like Ramadoss & Karunanidhi as example. I would be happy if Tamilians are judged after comparing with great men like Dr Kalam, Srinivasan Ramanujam etc
RE:RE:Hate messages against tamils
by Prashanth R on Aug 24, 2007 03:12 PM Permalink
I Fully Agree with you Dear... But Plz.. ask as many friends of yours and make a chain that we will not vote for such Politicians in future. We need to educate all in order to make our country a Developed Nation.
This is on behalf of all the patrons of Rediff.com. Please do not give importance to such idiots by publishing such interviews.
You should decide what to publish, he is farting more and talking less. so much air in his head, it stinks.
He wants the titanium plant but he does not want Tatas, who the hell is he to decide. Which govt corporation is running effeciently? we all know that unless the govt does such things, beggers like him will not get money.
How about Microsoft saying that they need software programmers but not from tamilnadu? What bullshit he is talking, Mr. CM of tamilnadu, pl beware from this idiot, he will doom you.
People like Ramadoss and Mayawati and not fit to lead states, they are just minting money and threatning other doormat parties of withdrawing support.
Only because of these idiots, we feel that britishers were better adminstrators.
I would award him the MOST FOOLISH POLITITIAN IN THE UNIVERSE.
Thanks for the courage and determination in opposing the Reliance. You are absolutely right they have spoiled the whole nation's economy not particularly in maharashtra and other states. They should be wiped out from atleast from southern states and if possible from other states also where they have clout in connivance with the governments. How are the people going to benefit if he is richest or otherwise after looting the common man and the public at large with support from irresponsible politicians. All concerned NGOS and Social workers should come out in open to oppose these unscrupulous group.
RE:Kudos to Ramadoss
by Ram on Aug 24, 2007 04:52 PM Permalink
Praveen, sorry for Offtopic. But you seems to be too intelligent. Where did Mr.Vivekchand said that he is a Tamilian?
by Raja on Aug 24, 2007 05:00 PM Permalink
Mr.Praveen,
I am a Tamilian and would like to advise you a bit.....
Ramdoss is an idiot doing useless things here....Leave him, there are many similar idiots in this country....But while criticising him, you also dont think like Ramdoss....
when non tamilians write hatred messages against Tamilians, people like Ramdos get his existence strenghtened...
I guess the guy Vivekchand(who has written this post) is not a Tamilian at all...You have decided that who ever who write against Reliance is Tamilian...
Now can you realise why there are Ramdoss, Mayawathi, Mamta and other stupid politicians...All because of us...we, the indian people discriminate our fellow indians by language/culture/religion....and eventually in this gap, criminals and looters and extremists get to the top.
by Vijay Dalwani on Aug 24, 2007 03:02 PM Permalink
Buddy! have you ever been rejected in an interview by Reliance? Dont talk like a jerk, nobody has forced you to buy from Reliance or give them business. It is better than Reliance earning in this country than McDonalds, KFCs and other companies from outside india. Who is not looting the common man? Do you guarantee that Ramadoss does not have black money? he is not accepting bribes? he does'nt each burgers, french fries, pizzas? Come out of your helucination buddy! wake up
by Mukesh Singh on Aug 24, 2007 03:18 PM Permalink
Dear kudo, building se kud jao, being a customer, i am getting benefitted, thats all. Customer will decide what to take, where to take not by the choice of this poltician.
Ramadoss the man who started caste politics in Tamil Nadu. He belongs to the vanniyar caste which forms abt 5% of the total population in TN. His party has less than 4% votes only from his community on the northern districts but he yet manages to ally with either DMK or ADMK and bags 25 seats in the state assembly.
1)Ramadoss if you made a pledge you or your family will never take up any govt post why is your son in health ministry?
2)If you are against airport expansion how do you propose to de-congest the Chennai Airport. Are you going to lend your non-agri land for airport expansion?
3) You want only tamil as a medium of instruction but you wrote your medical exam in english. Why arent you and your son taking up a job as a tamil teacher in govt schools? why arent your grandchildren studying in tamil medium schools?
4) You are against satellite townships. How do you propose to develop new cities and towns in Tamil Nadu? how are you going to accomodate for the spiralling population explotion in cities atleast in Chennai... Have you ever travelled in traffic or crowded Chennai busses
5) If you have guts why dont you contest elections alone instead of allies. You managed only 1 seat and 4 seats when you stood alone. You are a political frog jumping alliances every 2 yrs.
7) The poor farmers and retailers you seem to represent have children studying engineering. How do you propose to provide them jobs? According to you a poor farmer's son should remain a farme