The way all service oriented jobs are shifting to India and Chaina, indicates how India and Chaina would lead the world. Dependence of western world will increase and in near future they would depend on India and China for everithing. I hope in 50 years, people sitting in India would ask costomers from west to drop down and have a meeting or deal done.
Hey...Does this returning number inculde the 500 fishermen too that pakistan ahd captured for fishinging in their seas....???? Good to know our data figures are very sharp!
Looks like some govt. official had a task to collect data. He might have got the number thru some swami and sneaked the figure into records by bribing someone...!!! hih hih hih... True data...every one please believe. Be positive and this is a sign of India shining!!!!
RE:Returning Indians
by thepolice stewart on Apr 27, 2007 02:51 AM Permalink
my foot....its just that u may be mugged anytime after 6pm and not venture to some areas inqueens and bronx
by Six Sigma on Apr 27, 2007 03:55 AM Permalink
I've been in NYC for the past year; I've found the city very friendly!! The people are great AND I've walked the Bronx, Harlem and Brooklyn till late nights and have never felt threatened.
Its no India but if you walk through the subways, you're probably seeing a "little" india at EVERY station.
Its a fun fun city -> And we should learn how to manage running big cities from NYC's example!!!
Its one of the safest cities : Shocking since Its one of the largest cities in the western hemisphere and has a large African-american population (not being racist et al, but it seems where ever afro amricans are in big numbers, that area is usually pretty messed up)!! Not so in NYC!!!
by arcanepagan on Apr 27, 2007 03:16 AM Permalink
Its quite possible that he was being sarcastic! lol! However I find it amusing how many resident Indians hate us NRIs...i say more of us should go out, reduce the burden on the motherland!
by manju amreddy on Apr 27, 2007 03:18 AM Permalink
hi mr. You must be knowing the problem with west, They dont have community living, It sucks in every aspect. Find our your govt policy they want to buold comunities, which are well established in India----for information i am there in America but always want to go back to my mother land
You know what...I'm sure they have counted people coming to and fro from Pakistan, Bangladesh and Srilanka thru train, bus and ship!!! 2 crores in three years...?? India doesn't have so many high paid jobs to offer as of now!!! Hey Minister... u all old people sitting out there are not only are stupid..ur data collection method sucks!!!! Whatever...U entertain a lot with such things...!! keep it up.
RE:RE:what a intersting data from the Minister....!!
by Sathish P on Apr 27, 2007 02:52 AM Permalink
Dude, even if it not 100 accurate, there is so much truth to it. I know a lot of people who are moving back to india for good. It's not a myth but true.
India is a great destination for investment at this time, so no wonder that all the NRIs want to return back so they can get into investment and starting businesses.
Watch this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=491HMSj9xGE and you will get an idea on why people want to go back...
RE:what a intersting data from the Minister....!!
by Ananth N on Apr 27, 2007 03:03 AM Permalink
Sathish, Everyone agrees that folks are coming back.. the point is whether these numbers are right.. I guess this is too high a number to be true.. 'coz 20 million, i.e. 2 crores of NRIs and students returning back to india is like over 20% of NRIs getting back.. not sure if that can be true.
RE:RE:what a intersting data from the Minister....!!
by Sathish P on Apr 27, 2007 03:08 AM Permalink
Sure...may not be 100% true. This may be just the count of people who are arriving and cannot be counted as "back for good".
But the point i am seeing with this is that many NRIs want to be back in india.
All the new papers in west always mention about India and China. as Future nations to look for. India and China were richest nations around 1600 before invasions and colonial rule. In this world everything is circle and again we are heading towards to become the richest nation. So there is no wonder lot of indians returning to home as there are lot of opportunities. I do accept that there is scope for lot of improvement and we have lot of problems also. But dont lets do go into that. Lets cultivate taking pride in being indian :)
RE:Future is in India and China
by Sathish P on Apr 27, 2007 02:49 AM Permalink
Yes, the future is in india, for sure. But we have a lot of work before we get there.
A related video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CXvhNiRn7Y4
RE:Future is in India and China
by Pramod on Apr 27, 2007 03:07 AM Permalink
I don't believe this. I know people are returning back to India but if they talking about only the passenger that may not be the fair to say because whoever go foreign for short visit they have to come back. It is no true return. They should say COMING MINUS GOING= RETURN.
I see most of us here complaining about politicians, pollusion, corruption in out country. One small question, if the $=Rupee or pound=Rupee or Euro=Rupee, Middles east Money = Rupee, how many of us would still live abroad? We immigrate only for money and not for a better lifestyle. We don't do to the west because it's less polluted/less corrupted. At any given day, if there's a problem with racial abuse in the country, all of us will head back only to india. There's no other place to go. No matter how much we criticize our country, deep down u have to accept it's ur home.
USA was founded in the 1600's, most of us in india can even name our great grandparents during this time. It'a country which started developing in the late 1800's. So there's nothing big. As a country we cannot develop our cities as rapidly because it's not easy. Most of our cities have been there for centuries. You can never compare china to india. India & china are completly different countries. Chinese humiliate/massacre people to curb their population growth. It can never happen in india. Every country has its own problems...If you can't be part of the solution, then fine, but don't stay away and criticize. I live in the US but i'm more than sure that i'll make a difference by contributing to my country in one way ot the other.
The sad part is that some of the so called westerner's respect our country more than us. We just don't understand what it is to be an indian and to live in india.
Like Abdul kalam said, you would be ready to clean your own table in a restaurant, don't litter the roads, but no sooner you enter india all these so called values dissappear. That shows our respect for our own country. This is life!!!
Say what you want, but there's no place like home....
RE:there's no place like home
by vatsan on Apr 27, 2007 02:36 AM Permalink
wonderful thoughts....but we need people like you here and not abroad.my country already had enough brain drain,please come back!
by karthik chandru on Apr 27, 2007 02:56 AM Permalink
this seems to be a sticky thread........yeah whatever you said is absolutely right....and it is of utmost importance to understand that the one who doesnt know about his past and the history of his place.....can never go anywhere in the future.....just money man money makes people go berzerk.....
by Vitesh Aggarwal on Apr 27, 2007 02:51 AM Permalink
I completely agree, at least 99% of indians go out of teh country just for money, and all of them wants to return someday. This is teh tim eto go back to India contribute to teh development of country. Also, with this recent streanthning in Rupee value, i am sure teh value of $ will be Rs 35 by 2008. I have stayed in US for more than 2 yrs and going back next month.
How about reporting 365 lakh policeman came to work in airports every year? It would make sense, right? This is an outrage of statistics. I am sure the Overseas Indian Affairs minister got an applause out of the equally clueless Rajya Sabha.
I know good job, salary, technology and all the latest gadgets are important in life and for country. But we also need clean air, water, lakes, rivers, big urban parks, unspoiled jungles,high octane number fuel for automobiles, civilized society, good garbage and sanity disposal system, clean public transport, good social security, public services and public health care. We need place for walking, running, hiking, swimming pools, river rafting, cycling, skiing, boating and all sorts of sports activities for public.