Total 108 messages Pages | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Older >
Hmmm
by Manoj J on Apr 27, 2007 04:17 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

That means 2 % of our population....rediff should do some fact check before publishing such nonsense....

RE:Hmmm
by Mukesh Sharma on Apr 27, 2007 10:06 AM  Permalink
hamare netaon ka bayan to kabile tareef hai par rediff must think before publishing 2 crore figure

I Wonder
by Twister on Apr 27, 2007 04:03 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I Wonder if there there was not one Rajya Sabha member with average IQ to question these numbers

RE:I Wonder
by Balaji Viswanathan on Apr 27, 2007 04:24 AM  Permalink
Seriously... Indian news quality is at rock bottom and some people might seriously believe such goofs. Whatever little respect I had for rediff is gon with this.

I wonder why would some one run a news agency when they are so off base with even basic facts and statistics. The total number of Indians outside India is 20 million and of which some Indians are returning now. Some moron couldnt read that news properly and wrote this news item

The Real Reason why this article is popular
by Paanwala on Apr 27, 2007 03:49 AM  Permalink 

Is because we Indians don't like 0.5% or small numbers. We like big numbers, talk about growth - no one is happy with 5-10%, we want 100% increases in our money, in our homes etc. Every one in India talks about being 100% right (some even say 200% these days). Indians only believe in extremes.
I have yet to hear from an Indian anything less than "I am 100% right".
I guess when there are 1 billion voices (and ignorants) you need something Sensational to make the masses hear you.. Rediff and Indiatimes know this.

The Number is not correct
by Srinivasan Ashok on Apr 27, 2007 03:49 AM  Permalink 

It looks like, he included the people went for Tourist and Business visa.How come 20 mil people reached India by Air or Ship in the span of 3 years and the calculation is something 18K persons per day. I visited India twice in last 3 years and back to my work in USA. Did he treated me as one Indian or 2 Indians?.

I support the Reverse Brain Drain, but how reliable are these statistics
by Twister on Apr 27, 2007 03:45 AM  Permalink 

People of Indian Origin returning and being a part of these progressive nation is the most welcome sign.
But i really doubt these numbers. Can our honorable minister confirm that this number represent the people who came to india and never returned or have they included all the students, and non immigrants who just visited the country for a while and then returned back to their respective foregin countries.
One thing that really can tell that these numbers are not reliable is that it also includes tourists....AS FAR AS I KNOW TOURISTS ARE THE ONES WHO VISIT ANOTHER COUNTRY (IN THIS CASE INDIA) FOR A SPECIFIC DURATION AND THEN RETURN
I would once again like you tell that Indian's returning to their mother land is the best sing of India shining but we should not rely on the numbers conjured by our uneducated/under educated ministers
Vandemataram

Guys, Returned ... but NOT Returned for Good!
by on Apr 27, 2007 03:34 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Guys, these are the numbers of Indians who visited India in last three years from Abroad. So If I went back 4out times in last 3 years, it would be counted as 4 so you see the numbers are misleading there :)

RE:Guys, Returned ... but NOT Returned for Good!
by Jay on Apr 27, 2007 03:40 AM  Permalink
true...hard to believe 20 million returned for good. only today i read another article that there are 20 million NRI's whose total worth is greater than Indian's 1 trillion dollar GDP. That means all Indians have returned back and California streets should be empty :)...I wish it was :)

Bahut hua bhai log
by on Apr 27, 2007 03:26 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Bhai logo, India ko gali de rahe ho bahar rah ke. Itna hi doosra desh pyara hai to India ke news kyo padate how. CNN padho, MSNBC padho, uske chat pe response karo.
Kismat ne doosre desh pahucha diya, iska matlab nahi ki jaha paida hue usko gaali do.

Long live Indians, what ever the problems maybe there is true freedom, dont have to worry about a cop catching you driving 35 in a 25 mile zone. No need to sit the whole nite reading rediff chats, have firends with whom we can talk or family with whom can spend time with.

Its a personal choise, so if you dont care dont worry of the stupid statistics. Just worry about who wins the next game

RE:Bahut hua bhai log
by on Apr 27, 2007 03:35 AM  Permalink
well said

RE:Bahut hua bhai log
by on Apr 27, 2007 03:53 AM  Permalink
Take it for what it is, dont beleive so be it. Stop wasting energy on this, NRI time to go home, sleep well

Conversation between two indians:
by on Apr 27, 2007 03:11 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Indian living abroad:
I cannot live in India. I have money, clean water, air, parks, garbage disposal, sport facilities, electricity , toys for my kids etc.

Indian living in India: I have "Maa"

For me this much pretty much summarizes why I would go back to India. It is where my family, it is where I feel like home.

RE:Conversation between two indians:
by mitra rony on Apr 27, 2007 09:27 AM  Permalink
stay there even if a civil war brek out on that country dont come to india and if u did we will hack u down

Total 108 messages Pages: | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Older >