Total 163 messages Pages < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>
Broadband
by Manoj C on Apr 26, 2007 04:27 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I have been using BSNL broadband for the last 1.5 years. They are reliable and from last January they are extremely fast (2mbps) and that too for just Rs 250/- per month. The private providers claim a lot but add up lot of "hidden" costs.

So I sincerely hope that broadband become cheaper and more accessible. We all are part of the privileged 5% of Indian population who has access to internet. This is shame and this should change.

RE:Broadband
by B Subramani on Apr 26, 2007 05:07 PM  Permalink
Yes Manoj, even I am using their broadband service for one and a half years. My experience has been very good. Now they are giving data tranfer of 1Gb at the same charge. BSNL is very reliable. I hope Maran gives us free broadband as promised soon.

Are you kidding
by satish ranjalkar on Apr 26, 2007 04:26 PM  Permalink 

Mr. maran,

Applied for a broadband connection in Hyderabad my hometown. Your guys could not get me connected. And gave up saying \"there is some problem we could not figure out\". I can imagine what the situation would be in the interiors.

Satish Ranjalkar

GO FOR VSNL not BSNL.....
by manoj kumar on Apr 26, 2007 04:24 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Go for VSNl its Fast reliable and unlike BSNL you dnt have to wait..I hav experienced it .Maran is trying to foolaround... who will pay the price of equipments.. cheap publicity

RE:GO FOR VSNL not BSNL.....
by Raj K on Apr 26, 2007 08:03 PM  Permalink
I have VSNL & BSNL serivces, office and home..

BSNL is anytime better. I want to get out of the VSNL mess. Don't opt VSNL if you have BSNL choice

by Jinesh H. Shah on Apr 26, 2007 04:39 PM  Permalink
i have used BSNL since 2 years and i m getting very good speed without any problems.

by bishwajeet kumar sinha on Apr 26, 2007 04:38 PM  Permalink
VSNL is not available in evey round & corners of the country.so, majority of the netizens has to depend upon BSNL and its reliability can be trusted.

Marans Shit
by aneesh dubey on Apr 26, 2007 04:23 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

yaar such a big country call USA. not even provide any such thing free for there people and Mr. Maran was. how come MR. Maran....or MR. Maran is such a big Sheikh chilli.........whose work is just donly to dream with an open eyes.....

RE:Marans Shit
by Mangesh on Apr 26, 2007 04:30 PM  Permalink
Internet is free in the US, and so are local calls.

by Ganpat on Apr 26, 2007 04:32 PM  Permalink
Thats fine, Mangesh.. Here BSNL had been looting people's money for years until private players jumped in.

by Raj K on Apr 26, 2007 08:07 PM  Permalink
Yes, that is true, BSNL looted people..
just compare they are offers a year ago..
So much customer base. I rate them as one of the biggest looter in the country.

by Sunit Kumar on Apr 26, 2007 04:43 PM  Permalink
Ganpat samajnaa, why did GOI brought in Private Players against GOI owend BSNL ??? Bina soche bol deta hai !!!

by sanjeev jain on Apr 26, 2007 04:34 PM  Permalink
i have seen foreign as well as indian broadband.In Uk they charge about 15 pounds(approx rs1200)per month,but hasslefree service.DO you know the speed,amazing 8 mb.What is the speed of BSNL broadband-250kb.So,donot compare india with foreign.In india,you have to [pay extra ,if you download more than 1 gb.
So,for netbuffs,it is very slow and costly.

by Sunit Kumar on Apr 26, 2007 04:41 PM  Permalink
Sanjeev Jain, 6 years ago when i was working in Mumbai, we had a hassle free internet connection with a speed almost equal to the todays broad band, yaa our support had to be in touch with VSNL on a constand basis, bottom line the company had a undisturbed inter connection !!!

So whats ur point ?

Forget that 2 months ago i was able to work from India on my laptop via remote connection to servres in UK "almost" hassel free !!!

So what again is BLOODY POINT ??

RE:RE:Marans Shit
by Ganpat on Apr 26, 2007 04:30 PM  Permalink
Poor dubey... Don't u understand what populism means in India....

by Sunit Kumar on Apr 26, 2007 04:37 PM  Permalink
Ganpat, who do u think Maran is doing it for, people who VOTE him, do they understand what BROADBAND is ? So for whom is doing it for ? Think buddy think.....he is doing it for the industry....atleat he is talking ....let him talk, who knows we might have it soon !!!

by Sunit Kumar on Apr 26, 2007 04:32 PM  Permalink
Marans Shit, in the same USA, incoming calls are charged on the mobile and in India its free, so how do plan to explain this ???

Man dont be so negative, India has surprised many times.

e.g.

1) In 1983, no one imagined in the wildest dreams that India will win world cup and this year no one imagined in their wildest dreams we will be out so soon.

2) Before SUZUKI started MARUTI, VOLKWAGON was approached for a joint venture, VOKSWAGON did a study and said it wont be worth since India's purchase capacity cannot absorb SMALL CARS, lol !!

3) The great IT, Time magazine did an analysis how did India manage it and still could not really understand it.

4) MITTAL's Arcelor, TATA's CORUS and Reliance's WORLDS BIGGEST REFINERY, do u know that India exports PETROL !!!

What more do you want from this nation which was just born 60 years ago ..wait and see !!!

by Ganpat on Apr 26, 2007 04:34 PM  Permalink
Sunit... Yaar they shud have done this years back.. What was holding them back>

by Sunit Kumar on Apr 26, 2007 04:45 PM  Permalink
Man, i say they are trying, US/ UK has been developing from last 400-500 years we have started from last 60 years....besides we have so much of DIVERSITY in THOUHGTS, time lagega re...thoda sabar karo, ye India dekho kaha jaayega !!!

by Ganpat on Apr 26, 2007 04:47 PM  Permalink
OK Sunit bhai... Let's hope for the best..

by Sunit Kumar on Apr 26, 2007 04:55 PM  Permalink
Sorry Ganpat, if i have talked a bit harshly, but yes IT is our modern ROTI KAPDA MAKAN, we got to support it TOOTH and NAIL !!!

This is only way to keep CHINA out atleast of IT.

by Ganpat on Apr 26, 2007 04:36 PM  Permalink
TODAY's HEADLINES on SUN TV: Maran announces " free broadband scheme, free landline scheme"..........

Poor Coverage
by Ruban S on Apr 26, 2007 04:22 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Hi Maran
First try to provide the good coverage and reduce the roaming cast.

Don't say any false statement

RE:Poor Coverage
by Sunit Kumar on Apr 26, 2007 04:34 PM  Permalink
yaa tomorrow u will say to MARAN first provied good high ways than talk of free BROADBAND...whats ur point, do u think he is doing this for vote ? I bet those who vote him wont even know what Broadband is, so why is he saying it ? Think buddy just think !!!

Bullshit
by naveen khera on Apr 26, 2007 04:22 PM  Permalink 

you guys must be kidding man..haha

need some help
by Namita on Apr 26, 2007 04:22 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

guys..i need some help here...i was planning to go for BSNL talkone broadband service...i was reading thru all d posts..and it seems that broadband dosent provide good service..can u guys tell me more about BSNL broadband?? the connection process..speed..service...valur of money..etc..
Thanks

RE:need some help
by Abhinav Agarwal on Apr 26, 2007 04:29 PM  Permalink
Hi Namita,

I switched from Airtel brodband to BSNL. I am enjoying the services of BSNL. I am using HOME500 plan.

--ABhinav

by naveen khera on Apr 26, 2007 04:24 PM  Permalink
Its really reaaly bad...i would suggest you to go for AIRTEL. the service and speed both are good..i have been using it from the past 6 months now and till date i have not faced any problem. so go ahead and get urself an airtel boradband connection.

regards,
naveen

by Devanshu R. Shah on Apr 26, 2007 04:30 PM  Permalink
Hey its speedy and cost effective... well at times of complaint it might delay but some one I know close enough said that she had a promt response from the Bsnl Helpline.

by satish singh on Apr 26, 2007 04:38 PM  Permalink
Are Yar, Ek ladki ne sawal pucchha or bhai log toot pare Jawab dene ke liye!
Agar koi Ladka sawal poochta to shayad hi aap jawab dete?

Are Bhai Kuchh to saram karo!

by Prasad Gudipati on Apr 26, 2007 04:35 PM  Permalink
My Experience with BSNL Broadband is completely different. It is very good. Speed is very good(unheard of in india). At night time we even get 2 MBPS, BTW this may differ from area to area or exchange to exchange. I am currently in Hyderabad

by Namita on Apr 26, 2007 04:53 PM  Permalink
thanks all...except a stupid moron...lol

anyways..it seems that everybody has different views..but i agree to prasad that service differs from place to place...

Mr abhinav,
if i take home500 plan (which gives 2.5gb u/d per month),will it be enough for me,if i will be listening to audio and video webcasting for almost 10hrs a day???

also hows d spd during the night time when downloading is free...

Thanks

by Raj K on Apr 26, 2007 08:11 PM  Permalink
BSNL IS GOOD

by aneesh dubey on Apr 26, 2007 04:27 PM  Permalink
total wasting of u r money and time. b'coz most of the time u won't be able to connect, and if connected agaib the problem with the speed. so go for the private connection....if u really want the value of ur money....

by manoj kumar on Apr 26, 2007 04:29 PM  Permalink
Go for VSNL Broad band.. connects with the speed promised..

RE:RE:need some help
by Srini on Apr 26, 2007 04:33 PM  Permalink
Go for BSNL. It is the most reliable one.

by sadique hussain on Apr 26, 2007 04:27 PM  Permalink
i bet u can go for bsnl....am usin it since two yers almost n never had any probs....n more over rates r cheaper....i have seen many oif my frnds havin probs with reliance n sify but bsnl dint have any prob till now...n its very fast

going good
by ravi kumar chintalapudi on Apr 26, 2007 04:22 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

well maran has been doing well till now..lets wait and see

Telecommunication Ministry is Amazing !!!
by shankar on Apr 26, 2007 04:21 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

If we forget the fact that Maran has a soft corner for Chennai, he has done an amazing job in the Telecommunications field.

If we monitor the telecom scenario in india for the past 10 yrs, the growth is exponential..

1. Initially, mobile phone industry used to charge for incoming calls also. 1999-2000.. incoming calls were made free. (He encouraged so many private players)

2. At a point there was a fear of the industry being monopolised. He reduced the license fee for new companies and thus created a flush of companies to enter the competition and let the market forces dictate terms.

3. He kept harping on One-India One-India...though hardly a fraction of the population took him seriously. And now, we can call anywhere to anywhere (within india) for one rupee per minute.

4. He didnt like the companies milking the customers for the roaming charges. Removed the ADC for the companies, now the roaming charges are stabilized and they are going down-wards.

5. Now, he says broadband is the main focus. Given, his pro-active nature, very soon this will also become a reality.

India desperately needs such dynamic ministers. Knock-out all the old dumb-heads (please include our dishonourable Arjun singh in this list). Our country needs such pro-active ppl at the helm. The rate at which the economy is changing, the govt cannot afford to build up the infrastructure and it s the duty of the govt to bring development to the whole of the country (rural & urban). It cannot rely on the private initiative alone for developing the country. The bulk of the job still needs to be done by the govt.

Some examples of the govt institutes which can be role-models, even for private companies are
BSNL, SBI, etc...despite the cut-throat competition they face from the private companies.

We need ministers like Maran, Laloo Prasad Yaadav (i know he loots a lot of tresury money....but which minister doesnt? he atleast does something for the nation

RE:Telecommunication Ministry is Amazing !!!
by satish singh on Apr 26, 2007 04:27 PM  Permalink
Mr. Shankar, i think your memory is short. It was NDA Gvot, who did a lot for telecommunication. So if you want to give the credit, give it to NDA Gvot.

So far the 'One India' plan is concerned it nothing but to cheat the people and making the users a fool. When one move on roaming, the charges is not Re.1.00 but it coast more than Rs.2.40 and above.

by Ganpat on Apr 26, 2007 04:43 PM  Permalink
Shankar Bhai, well said... It also means that Maran has been given a free hand to decide on policy matters...

by Sunit Kumar on Apr 26, 2007 04:27 PM  Permalink
Well said Shankar, yaa its worth waiting.

by Praveen Tavargeri on Apr 26, 2007 04:28 PM  Permalink
Correction, Point 2 license fee was reduced by Pramod Mahajan, which encouraged new players to enter the industry

Total 163 messages Pages: < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>