the solutions are really simple. SEZs should be built only on wastelands. If land acquisition is required then it should be leased from the owners for long periods of time. That way the landowners can directly benefit from the industrial development. also government should not participate in land acquisition, it should play the role of regulator and not facilitator. All this is possible with a clear vision and a strong will to do things in such a way that everybody benefits. Unfortunately when the government is made up of people who think they are better batsmen than sachin tendulkar, you cannot trust them to be clever enough to protect the interests of the little people.
If people get good price the govt doesnt interfere and the industry delivers, whodoesnt want it? But industry also should be responsible and take care of pollution and not be a gobbling demon. We cant loose all the fertile land to industry, because we need food. So the right size of land and the effect of industry on land around should be taken into account. Why should industrialists think everything will come easy? Because they have money? Life isnt easy. It wont be, it shouldnt be. But if people can negotiate without middlemen, there shouldnt be any problem. I dont think The people of India cant understand honest intentions. But give them a cahnce to think for themselves. We need a good environment, thats basic, everything works well ont hat.
Since when has rediff started to pander to emotionalistic journalism? I would like the author of this article to make clear what the actual reasons for delaying approval were in each case. He has grouped together environmentalists and bureaucrats with abandon. Isnt the environment important to you? after all, what is the point of great industrialization at the cost of our very existence. The west (EEU, UK, USA) are finally waking up to this and incorp[orating measures in their budget etc. Indian does not have to ape the west in their penchant for destruction of the earth for short-term GDP related goals. Sir, please wake up and report clearly as to why the current problem as exhorted by you exists. Then have the foresight to propose a solution. Or else you would have joined the ranks of millions of 'cry babies' who blame 'them' for problmes we all have to deal with.
You should have known better. The Dubai SEZ is built on a wastless desert land. The SEZ's being built in India are on producing farm land. You will pretty soon start paying 400Rs a kilo for Tomotoes and so on for other foods.
RE:Chetan
by Biswajit Choudhuri on Apr 14, 2007 08:08 PM Permalink
For your kind information tomatoes are cheaper in the Middle East and South East asian countries than in India.
RE:RE:Chetan
by santanu sengupta on Apr 14, 2007 09:39 PM Permalink
Maybe bacause out there they don't like tomatoes ? Atleast in Israel for last 2 years or so it was costlier
The Dubai SEZ was built on a waste desrt land. Indian SEZ's are built on producing farm land. But I support the SEZ's in India. Let us use the weapon of poverty and eliminate all 20 crore persons directly dependent on farm sector. This will be one great population control policy. Secondly We can create about 20 crore slave workers in India working for American corporations. Boy I love America and their corporatision. Finally India is getting cleaned and producing worker slaves, where the rich can live happily and suck the blood of the liberalised workers, as the govtis not having control over anything as everything is being privatised
Look, few people should not be allowed to get rich by making many poor. If companies require land, they must acquire it by paying the right price ( At a premium ) for it. Govt should not be involved in this process. It is really unfair to the farmers, if the goverment acquires land at unreasonably low prices and later give it to the big companies. Everyone should benefit out of the entire process.
There are many reasons behind the recent agitations against land acquisition by government on behalf of industries.
1. Land sellers, or rather land-losers, often do not get adequately compensated. Government fixes unrealistic rates, far removed from the market realities, and the land owners do not have any choice to refuse also. That is very unfair trade practice. Land owners should have the right to decline.
2. Even if the rates offered by government happens to be good, it is rather difficult to finally get the money from babus. One has to put up with long delays and then pay a certain percentage to release the money.
3. An ideal situation, where the rates are good and the payment is also prompt, may not also induce the land owners to sell. What will be the alternative livelihood of that person? Today's industrial units generally require highly skilled workers. Assurance of job in the manufacturing units may be difficult implement.
4. Let us consider a very ideal scenario. Rates are good, payment is prompt and the landowner can also be trained for the particular industry. Even then the landowner may not want to work in a manufacturing unit. An agrarian life is in many ways better than the life of a factory worker.
5. Some politicians oppose land acquisitions when they are not compensated adequately by industrialists.
6. Some politicians also create trouble when they get hired by rival business groups and, of course, compensated suitably.
7. Environment activists are hard to tackle. But I have heard from reliable sources that today's high inflation economy has forced some of them to seek suitable compensation and subsequently shut up. That is in fact a good news for industrialists.
RE:Good article
by on Apr 14, 2007 08:49 PM Permalink
Biswajit your last point is quite revealing! Environmentalists are indeed hard to tackle because quite a lot of it is based on objective science and motivated by a certain concern for the underdog. Its very convenient to pegionhole the whole opposition to SEZ as "them " with the implicit labelling as troublemakers. That way its easy to demonise them as against progress , and gullible puppets of corrupt politicians. However the fact remains that the big industries are not that labour intensive any more and while getting us the 5 figure salaries does more damage in the long run. I suggest you open your eyes to the various international reports regarding the plight of industries under the big business. There are plenty of well cited peer reveiwd references about these in the public domain you can look for on your own, I for one don't have to mention "reliable resources" for that .
RE:[object MouseEvent]
by on Apr 14, 2007 08:51 PM Permalink
Biswajit your last point is quite revealing! Environmentalists are indeed hard to tackle because quite a lot of it is based on objective science and motivated by a certain concern for the underdog. Its very convenient to pegionhole the whole opposition to SEZ as "them " with the implicit labelling as troublemakers. That way its easy to demonise them as against progress , and gullible puppets of corrupt politicians. However the fact remains that the big industries are not that labour intensive any more and while getting us the 5 figure salaries does more damage in the long run. I suggest you open your eyes to the various international reports regarding the plight of the environment under the big business. There are plenty of well cited peer reviewd references about these in the public domain you can look for on your own, I for one don't have to mention "reliable resources" for that . Santanu