After merger og 50% of DA for the purpose of DA,HRA,CCa and other entitlment , the major impact of pay revision is all ready taken. If pay revision is delayed further it will amount to higher aspiration from the union as comparison is always done with the status of factors on negotiation day and due date i.e.1-1-2006
Mr Shaurie, is a real businessman.. who always think of himself.. It has been written that 5th pay commision has given a shock to economy.. it is true .. the main reason is the delay in implementing the recommendations. Government has to pay huge Pay Arrears.. who is responsible for such situation?
Right now the honest young garduates are not interested in doing the government job while private jobs are offering the huge pay package.
if somebody expects to have the pacakge comparable to private whats the problem?
if government doesnt compensate their employees in proper way they will then look at other income source which leads to corruption.. who is responsible?
RE:Reply
by krishnaraj on Feb 11, 2006 11:51 AM Permalink
Nikhil, It was really clever of you to mention the defence personnel. I am sure that none of us will oppose a pay hike for the defence personnel. What many opppose is the pay hike offered for the bureaucrat. How many of the government servants actually are worth their salary. True, there are some real hard working people. But they are the exception rather than the norm.
by vijay on Jul 21, 2006 03:22 PM Permalink
good suggestion, I was a defence civilian employee and i seen people who cant read and write properly sitting on my head as they born before me. time bound and seniority based promotions are ruining the services and country. let the promotion should be based on performance rather than seniority. then you see 80% sh... will be in the same level as they joined.
by P.Krishnakumar on Jul 20, 2006 03:33 PM Permalink
Do u really mean to say that all IT professionals are efficient or there exists any scales to measure the efficiency of the same... Pls come out of the Dream world...
by wildfish on Feb 10, 2006 06:44 PM Permalink
1. In Private sector after retirement you wont get ZERO and for your pension you have to save and only 10000 is TAX free.
2. To earn double digit sal you need to take the responsibility and double profit for the company. What the Government guys do. Do have any performance monitoring system. in my company if you un productive you are GONE. No minister, no Caste can save you 3. In IT the bottom line what is your worth. If you can code and earn 100000$ for the company. then company will pay you accordingly. If you just receive in the phone call , you will get Rs5000. Please compare apple with apple and orange with orange.
Finally if possible stop the communists and Union.
Hey Have you looked at the other side. Officers of Defence forces and IPS services, pensioners after 35 years in service were getting 5k to 6k as a monthly pay. you as private corp employees want to earn double digit annual salaries, have the best of gizmos, cars etc etc. i would like to ask what wrong have they done in not getting decent pensions. an army officer's widow who is in the scale of 10000 per month pension, will receive half of it after 7 years of the man expiry. 5000 grand now. Had it not been for the pay comm., it would be 2500 hundred, what life do u get now with that. what crime have they committed in not getting a decent pension after a life spent in serving the nation and possibly dying while doing it.? if the govt took a hit then there finances are messed up. A class 4 employee needs a may hike just as a junior programmer does or a junior executive in IT. every one of us deserves a life. stop differentiating on who gets what. let me know if you can live on 3000 on month... If you so worried about salaries, then please protest against the raising of salary ceiling in 1993. none of these problems would be there. you and I would be earning 7000 grand a month,
RE:Pay Hike
by Pratap on Feb 10, 2006 03:25 AM Permalink
Perfect, But whoz gonna ensure the efficiency of the Work ? if an IT professional gets some money, He is working hard ot make the business run. He is getting the share of the profit.
Why not Govt. implement a system of Pay Hike, based on efficeincy and not juz megre on Number of years in Job.
by Avinash on Jul 20, 2006 06:56 PM Permalink
Dear Pratap, You cannot probably do your IT buisness unless you are protected by defence forces/state macinery and provided a safe environment. so, kindlty donot undermine others work
by saikat on Jul 21, 2006 02:20 PM Permalink
If you are not happy with the salary you get , just quit nobody is holding you back, point is you are supremely confident of your INCOMPETENCE, which private sector employer would pay you the salary of an IT engineer for just adding figures or sitting on their butts.
You guys want to have the perks of a private sector employee, without the associated risks. Opportunistic leeches are what you guys are.
Another pay commission, another 400 million increase in the wage bill and another tax burden for the tax payers. High income tax rates added with VAT and the education cess will only increase tax evation in the country.
The government really needs to clean up their act and start acting professionally.Its needs to down size hard core and dissolve the useless positions which are still existing.
The frequent setting up of Pay commissions and a complex system of taxes will just scare away all the FDI which is lined up for India. China is sure to make most of the oppoturnity and will lobby hard to get all that money into their economy.
All the loss making PSU'S should be sold off as this is the only way, the losses of the government will reduce. Some professionalism needes to brought about. and finally all the officals should be made to pay for their tea, that will also save a lot of money!!!
RE:Its a joke
by Sailaja on Jul 21, 2006 02:45 PM Permalink
My friend,
You mean to say let the corrupt be corrupt and mint crores of rupees but the government should be economical when it comes to increase in hikes.
If corrupt officials and politicians are caught then the money would be much more than what the govt. would spend on increase in salaries. Let us address that and not try to stop increase in pay hike of central govt. employees.
RE:It;s a joke!
by Alok on Jul 22, 2006 12:20 AM Permalink
Yes you are right. The basic reason of corruption is job stability, not lesser pays. Corruption can be contained only by terminating inefficient employees...not by increasing salaries.
Public of India is footing bill of having these inefficient babu crowd.
Why there should be certainity of job for 35 years when ur life is not certain....this is the reason of corruption my dear
by Chandru on Feb 10, 2006 01:35 AM Permalink
Frequent setting up of pay commission?!? It's a cruel joke really. We get a hike once in a decade and what about this person who wrote this comment? Would he remain silent if he's given a revision like that? Evn if u can not do good, don't do bad. May God bless you.
by rakbal on Jul 21, 2006 02:31 PM Permalink
I think ( if I am wrong pls correct it)every year or once in 6 Months the Salaries and Wages of the Govt. Employees being increased, by way of increase in DA.(Almost equivalent or more than the Private employees get by way of annual increment) So saying that you get the increase in a decade is totally unacceptable.
by ravi5660 on Jul 20, 2006 03:44 PM Permalink
Chandru
Are you (govt employees) any time talking for work???????? NO.............No
You people are getting salary for no work, so what ever you are getting is very high and basically should not expect any salary.And at the same time bribes are sufficient to run your houses.
Its we people who will be burdened ( by another dose of tax)for your salary for getting nothing.
Hypocritical is what we are. On one hand we hate the fact that we have one of the most corrupt governments in the world. On the other, when the time comes for resolving the issue by correcting pay imbalances, we crib about the large bill!
This will go a long way towards making the bureaucracy more efficient and corruption free. Bite the bullet!
RE:So what?
by Karthik on Jul 21, 2006 12:59 PM Permalink
Damn Govt. Central govt employess get the pay hike and other increment in allownaces? what abt pvt sector, dont just think abt MNC's what abt those work in indian pvt companies? Govt employess are getting huge salary . They are the cause of Indian economy downfall. even 2% of employess are not working in the offices. Worse TN govt gives the GO that their employess need not to sign the daily attendence. then how u can calculate their attendence and salary for the month??
I think its time the goverment emplyoee to be paid better and they have improve their attitude and effecincy. Most of them won;t do any work unless paid a lot of bribe why not pay them more rather paying them bribes. People should be made accountable to corruption and there has to be standards they should forced to mantain.
RE:Its time they get better paid as well.
by S K Paul on Jul 21, 2006 02:33 PM Permalink
I agree to RAJ's point of view. In todays era where lucrative jobs are available, a government employee who has already served more than 15 years just can't leave his job lest he loses his pension. Government can either introduce a viable VRS Scheme or can give lien to all employees for 5 years wherein he can try a better job in private sector. During this lien period he may be given half his basic+DA as salary. After 5 years if he wishes to leave his government job, he becomes eligible for pensionary benefits(15+5 years) and in that way the government can get the vacant post abolished. Within a period of 5/6 years, about 25% of posts can be abolished. ALTERNATIVELY, an employee can join his earlier post after his lien is over in the same pay packet.
In this way, the government can save 2/3rd of salary outgo during lien period. And even if 10-15% opts for such lien, the government can save around 20000 cr in a period of five years. In the mean time, the government can restructure its workforce under its ambit.
And in order to get success, the VRS scheme should be a viable proposal. So should be LIEN conditions. AND WATCH FOR THE RESULT.