Total 370 messages Pages    <<  < Newer  | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15   Older >   >>
Pathetic salaries of college teaching staff
by Sam on Jul 20, 2006 08:27 PM  Permalink 

Some states did not implement the recommendations of the last pay commission and set up their own pay commissions, like Karnataka.

While the State salaries are very low compared to Central salaries, take the case of a lecturer in a first grade college working under Karnataka State scales of pay. He/She draws less than Rs.12,000/- while a Senior Clerk of the Central Govt. draws more pay in comparison.

How is that one for comparing one with a Post graduation/Ph.D qualification with a mere matriculate?

Pay Commission
by Thomas on Jul 20, 2006 08:04 PM  Permalink 

When it comes increasing pay of the employees it is a drain on the economy.But when it comes to increase the salary of the MP/MLA there is no drain on the economy and the money spent on their security and other things its is very essential.They are doing at the expense of the tax payers.

sixth pay commission
by Hemant on Jul 20, 2006 07:59 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Hi,
To be frank, the salary of the Government Employees should be reduced instead of increasing. The pay is directly proportional to the work progress. Whatever you pay them, the work will be there on their table for years. There are people ready to work for little pay and do sincere work. My suggestion is if the employee wants higher salary, remove him and employ a new person for that job. There are plenty of unemployees in India. Why spend more for a no-output.
Thanks

RE:sixth pay commission
by Vikram on Oct 22, 2006 08:53 PM  Permalink
my dear friend hemant. Thats really shallow thinking. What do you
have, your father,s money to spend? or some ancestral property to
waste. Or are you so rich that you are blind to poverty? I am in the
armed forces, and let me tell you my dear friend, if were working with
the attitude you have, you would have been calling yourself a paki or
a china man.

In the end of the day i too go home and my wife expects me to
provide more than just love. I have children whose needs compete
with the children of likes of you.

Dont ever curse the government that runs you, my dear friend you are
responsible for the government that that runs us.

Sixth pay commission
by subramanian on Jul 20, 2006 06:56 PM  Permalink 

Only 10% of civil servants deserve a salary. Five percent of them are in class one and above and the remaining five percent are in class two and below. The balance ninety percent of government employees are parasites eating away all the taxes we pay.

A pay increase to this "working" government force is justified; the increase could be granted without much ado if the parasites could be shed in the next two years.
Subramanian.

6Th pay commision
by s kumar on Jul 20, 2006 06:26 PM  Permalink 

whoever are jealous from pvt sector employee are fogot the work they are doing. pvt companies give the higher salary and drain out all the energy from the employee As in goverment job is like no work and only money...hardly 25% of the total goverment employees works hard othere are all lazy and wanted a pay hike ! what a Joke !

6th pay commission
by sunil on Jul 20, 2006 06:15 PM  Permalink 

It is time now for government employees to share their smiles .

it is a good step as the government employees salary structure is not good.

the new pay commission
by g.raman on Jul 20, 2006 06:15 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

until around 10 years back, the cream of the students from the top unitversities preferred indian civil and engineering services. It is not so at present. the prefer the corporate, software and the outsourcing sectors. or go to USA get a PG degree and serve there or other some western countries. Even the last pay commission's gift of higer salaries did not help.
At present an engineering officer will get around Rs,15000 at the start of the career and may get around 35000 plus dearness allowance if he were to reach the highest position i.e. cabinet secratary. So is the case with army and other services like IAS etc. Many will be retiring with around 25000 plus allowances.
In mumbai a simple 3 bed room apartment cost around 1 crore.
The remuneration for the central and state governemnt servants should be inviting the best and the talented. If it were not so, we will be reminded of the quote of Senior Minister Lee Kuan Yew of Singapore. " u pay peanuts, u will get monkeys to do the job."
There is nothing wrong with the formation of new pay commission. the comission should be liberal and take the living conditions of serving officers in comparison to the private sector.

RE:the new pay commission
by Sajaal on Nov 02, 2006 04:16 PM  Permalink
I totally agree with Raman. I often visit various offices in the late evening and I find the Senior Officers still on their job. I also hear them saying that they are just in the middle of the ocean. They cannot just avoid their responsibility. The information /reports asked for by the higher authorities have to be tabled the next day. So, they have to complete their their job even if it meant late night.

I therefore, agree, with Raman that Group -A officers should be paid at par with private sector. I also understand that it is due to them the government is functioning. Everything will be in shambles if they stop working beyond office hours.

Also, the Group-A officers are inducted in govenment service thru tough competion both written and interview. Actually, they are trapped once they complete a few years. I appeal to the government to review their salaries.

Salaries of other groups more or less comensurates with the private sector.

6th Pay Commission
by Narendera K Gupta on Jul 20, 2006 06:05 PM  Permalink 

Sir,

I was associated with 2nd and was benefitted by recommendations of Third Pay Commission under the Chairmanship of Shri S Boothalingam.

I got arrears after my funeral-disgusting. The period of the recommendations must be adhered by the Members. I am a student of Management and has served one of the Navratnas of Central Govt and has worked in Govt of India too. If the Members cannot afford to contribute time, let them decline their offer of nomination to the prestigious Commission, whose recommendations are viewed by ILO. Thanks

Yes! Payments should be increased.
by Shailesh Agrawal on Jul 20, 2006 05:40 PM  Permalink 

Everyone, I am not a govt servent and no one in my family is. In contrast, we are business who in their daily routine deal with the govt employees. my view is:
1. Payment must be increased.
2. Every departments employee posts should be resturctured and everyone roles should be made clear.
3. Number of G-employees must be reduced and we can instead use E-governance and believe me it can work very effectively.
4. G-Employees must be made accountable to the bribe/inefficiency they are showing. Punishment should be hard.

I mean implement everything like it is getting done in privvate sector.

Stop the Drain
by Kraz on Jul 20, 2006 05:39 PM  Permalink 

Who asked you not to downsize the bloated govt departments.

Did you know the best of the talent in the government, research institutions, military quit before they complete ten years of employment with the government. So what are you left- your are left with the mediocracy in the govt while the talent is fished out by the Private Sector.

So now you know why you have such an defunct administration and inefficient governance?

You pay them a decent salary the good ones will stay

I know of a brilliant engineer in a govt dept who used to be paid 18,000/- a month. after 10 years in the dept. Living in mumbai he could hardly afford a decent living.
He left joined a MNC they pay him 1.2 Lacs a Month. Come on now if thats what he is worth..for a private company...u want to pay him 18000 and get his best out

Total 370 messages Pages:    <<  < Newer  | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15   Older >   >>