Rediff really needs to wake up and get its act together. While I\\\\\\\'m in no way trying to belittle Mr. NRN\\\\\\\'s tremendous contribution to the Indian society, it does get a little grating to read about Infy (and him) day in and out. Why dont we hear about the other companies and individuals who have also played a role in shaping the India we have today? And can we get past the hero worship and do some critiquing besides the cloying accolades as well? Rediff, you may want to pursue a more objective angle in your columns and report a more balanced story than simply presenting a go-ga-ga-over-Infy article every day. Kudos to the well-oiled Infy PR machine for having done a great job in keeping up the company\\\\\\\'s in-your-face visibility but no cheers to Rediff for letting itself be held as a mouthpiece.
Rediff is never tired of eulogizing Murthy - wish stalwarts like Kohali - Sheshagiri-Vittal receive .001% of this attention. Infosys and the ilk like them were lucky enough that there were a phenomenon (or unnecessary phobia) called Y2K and they cashed in(almost overnight became giant)smartly. Now since the euphoria is over along with the other euphoria called dot com and BPO becomes everybody's game - only a future can say how 'deep' these companies are. You would expect that companies like Infosys with flush of cash would venture into product innovation - well they moved into real estate business (in short) to protect their equity (they would not admit it but a little bit of study makes that apparent). Mr Murthy always amazes me with his larger than life image in the media. Great PR @work of course. It is good to see a company grwoing up as Infosys did - only a future can say whether they would sustain. That would be the legacy (good or bad)of Murthy. Rediff never does any objective analysis and yes to an extent 'Bhajana' is the right word to describe that.
He is the best of the lot. He has always maintained a very high standard in whatever he did. Why not enter politics and become PM. Sure he can achieve this as well and to weed out our corrupt Babus and usher in a clean political scene we need Mr Murthy to hold the torch.
I'm sure Mr Murthy has contributed greatly to India's image as an IT heavyweight, but what exactly has he done on an individual basis to ameliorate the suffering of the poor and backward masses? It's time that people like himself, raher then using individual charities etc, for economies of scale, pool their resources to form a huge development fund in order to provide much needed social basics like education, health and housing at low cost - things useless govts has been either unable or unwilling to provide, so it's up to folks like him with the exposure, know-how and drive to get things moving.
is Mr. NaryanaMurthy. He has shown the world how a son of middleclass School teacher can not only make tons of money but share it with others. This is strange concept to Indian Business with Tatas and Birlas and Ambanis only throwing crumbs to their employees. Secondly he has run his business by standing up to corruption and politicians. This requires courage just like Mahatma had courage when he stood up against the British. Thirdly he has shown that its possible to be a nice guy and still be a winner. In today's world where every MBA is taught how to be aggressive, mean and cook books. Mr. Murthy has shown that if you stick to the path of TRUTH and DHarma you will succeed. This is the ETHICAL way of doing business.Yes Nice guys too can win and when they win its BIG. Fourthly, he is not handing down anything to his children. We have already seen in today's business, the consequences of handing down to children, though they may be educated in Stanford, Wharton etc., if they don't have values it means NOTHING. I can only say that it will be a very LONG time we will see a business leader like Mr. Murthy...Kudos Mahatma of Business. may your tribe increase.
Mr.Narayana Murty will remain an iconic figure in the history of corporate world. In spite of being at helm for so many years, he never showed the greed to accumulate the share holding. All the infosyites and shareholders would have cheered his stay but that was not to be.He is a man to be emulated like Mahatma Gandhi
His exit should open eyes of our old politicians like Vajyapayee and Advanis
RE:mr.narayana murty
by Seems on Aug 25, 2006 05:42 AM Permalink
Every Indian should be proud of Mr. Murthy..even including you...for having given an identity to Global Indian...Appreciate rediff in bringing out positive stories
RE:Sharam karao
by vk on Aug 25, 2006 11:30 AM Permalink
To kya Soniya, Rahul ya Priyanka aur Robert Badhera ke bhajan gaye?? I don't understand the mentality of you pepole. R u a Congress man? Politics ke li desh bechne waalon. now, reservation ki dafli baja rahe ho. It's disgusting to even laugh at u pepole mentality. Someone who is a true icon for India, inspiration of millions, usko praise karne mein tumhe khuzli ho rahi hai.
RE:Sharam karao
by PRASHANT K SHEE on Aug 25, 2006 10:50 AM Permalink
Hi Mohan, why are you so frustrated. Is it the reason that you can never attain even 0.1% of Narain Murthy? If so it is not with you rather is true for most of the people. Please read the Geeta or Vivekananda literature, you would definitely get your answer and get some cool and calm for your mind. You definitely have an opportunity to surpass Mr. Narain Murthy and Infosys then I would be the first person for write, sing and garner people for Bhajans dedicated to you, but till the time you shut your mouth.