Total 125 messages Pages    <<  < Newer  | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Older >   >>
Wake up
by Shiva on Apr 26, 2006 08:00 PM  Permalink 

Its time that students from lower castes came up and said that they don't need this reservation.The only reservation that can be justified is a quota for the disabled.
What is the basis of all this? Does this mean that certain sections of the society have no brains,so they get a quota,admission with lower marks?? Income groups can be justified but not caste......what have they done from 1947? Enough of these cheap politics.I think students should contest in elections and put all these politicians behind bars.Maybe,we can have a reservation in jails for them.
Come on students,time to rule the nation. I'm for it.Lets join forces.Students all over should get together and contest elections.

Perfect title
by Ashwini on Apr 26, 2006 07:49 PM  Permalink 

I absolutely agree with the author. Reservation is not a means to atone for our sins! Im sure thats what most of the political parties think it exists for, but it is not meant for that, and it should not be meant for that. We have to strive to build a just social system. It is not easy, but it is possible. From our end, we have to do is to be sincere, and always put what is best for the country and for truth before us.

Christians??
by Deepak D\'Souza on Apr 26, 2006 07:35 PM  Permalink 

The author is mistaken in saying that Christians are demanding reservations. Rather, at the time of the Constituent Assembly, Christian representatives opposed job and electoral reservations but asked for the right to run their own institutions without interference.

SOme Dalit CHristians(????) are asking for reservations because they feel that they should get the same benifits as their hindu coubnterparts.
I would advise them to give up CHristianity if they want to be Dalits

You cannot be a DAlit and Christian at the same time

Hi,
by Suchitra B on Apr 26, 2006 07:31 PM  Permalink 

I agree with you a Hundred Percent!!

Just few questions
by sabari on Apr 26, 2006 07:31 PM  Permalink 

Has anybody seen a person who got a job based on this reservation not showing so called dicremination towards his/her poor caste fellows? I haven't seen even one in my life so far. So how will this reseravtion helps in eradicating dicremination?

Has anybody seen an SC/ST putting lot of hardwork as much as a non OBC, SC/ST fellow puts into his/her academics? Again the answer is not a single one, from my side. Reason: They just need PASS/some 40-50% marks to get a government job.

Reservation - A baised society in the name of equality
by Karthik on Apr 26, 2006 07:17 PM  Permalink 

You are very right in pointing out the flaws of the system. I would also like to add another facet, during my school days we were a bunch of friends who never thought about caste etc. Once the asdmission process began and I couldn't secure a seat I wanted being an upper caste, I felt bad, moreover my friend who aimed just to get 50% in his board got a seat and got the same marks whereas I got 78 and couldn't make it. I was also not able to get into mgmt quotas due to financial reasons. More than anyhting else reservation limits the knowledge base and targets of an individual. Ppl aim just to get thru the exams. I wonder on what basis netas of India decide which community needs how much marks?????

Reservations Tamasha
by ravi prasad on Apr 26, 2006 07:06 PM  Permalink 

I have no problem with reservations.Tamil Nadu in particular has been having reservations for over 3 decades.Adversity is anopportunity-brilliant young minds are adding value to foreign countries to avoid discrimination against merit.

I have an suggestion to policy makers.Let them lead by example.Let them pass an ordinance banning family members of politicians from participating in elections and positions of power.Politics is family business and dynasty-oriented leading to poor quality and sychophancy and deprives other non-political families from entering.Once they show the way they are at liberty to enforce reservation.
Let them demonstrate a spirit of sacrifice and lead by example before indulging in discrimination against merit.
Do they have the guts to do so

Quota: Cure worse than disease
by lokesh on Apr 26, 2006 07:05 PM  Permalink 

i think only taking in to consideration of Non resvation study it currect but when u take other OBC
it perfect
do other caste like - muslims or christn or gowda in south india

give reservation for SC/ST they desrev it.

coz they have been down for many centuries let them come up.

let them get education that is way u can reduce poverty in them

Quota: Cure worse than the disease
by vm venkatarajan on Apr 26, 2006 06:55 PM  Permalink 

a well written and thought proving article.
a well wisher of the country

Quota: cure worse than disease
by VM Venkatarajan on Apr 26, 2006 06:51 PM  Permalink 

The article is well written, though it could raise a storm in the vested priviledged.

The objective of eradicating gap is not questioned and we have waited with this policy to yield results for over 56 years. Is there a measure to find how effective this policy has been? If not effectitive, is it not the duty of the powers that be to evaluate whether this is the right way to achieve the goals or something different be tried out? There shall be dispassionate voices to arouse a sense of purpose rather than vote bank politics. vmv

Total 125 messages Pages:    <<  < Newer  | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Older >   >>