Think about the pollution mister, can any amount of money can just curb the pollution and help the millions of people in living healthy life and pollution free life and can you please just the count the money wasted in lot of political scams. May be metro's money is huge but atleast it is for the convience of the common people. Long live metro!!!!!!
The Delhi Metro may be expensive but it is the most efficient means of transportand is a boon for those who use it.Even those who use cars prefer to take the metro.It is clean and there is no blaring music which passengers who travel in buses have to put up with. I have lived in this city for 42 years,using public transport for 35 of those years and I maintain that the metro is infinitely better than our bus service. Give credit where it is due and stop carping about costs.Our elected representatives cost more and contribute less.
You have failed to consider the time saved by Metros and Jam free pass ways!! Whereas in Delhi, you are not sure on road to reach office in 1Hr or 2 Hr(in case of Jam), in Metro longest distance takes 40-45 mins & u can be very sure of tht everytime. Additionally, Metro gets cheaper and efficient as load increases whereas BRTS service will degrade as load increases. Hats off to Delhi metro !!
Delhi Metro is the best thing to have happened to Delhi since 1947. It is THE ONLY METRO in the world to be actually earning consistent operating profits. And by the way, the full phase through has not even started yet - gosh it rocks. And I love it too.
DMRC mega rocks! Here is one fulfilled Delhiite who is willing to vouch for that :-] Sealed, Signed, Stamped Delhiite
Dear Sir, Tha informations given in this article are confusing. In the third para there is a sentence " which carries 4.5 lakh (Rs 450,000) passengers per day" It means that 1 person has to pay only one rupee for travelling in delhi metro. and if total cost = Rs 10,500 crore and income of one day = Rs 450,000 then it wil take 640 year to get bak Rs 10,500 crore. which is a very long time and i don't think that the govt. would do such a lossy business. vinayak
DMRC needs to think about accomodating Multi-Level parking in their development plans then that will be great. Right now there is just one-level parking & most of it is used by long-term parking users & not daily travellers. Example - Welcome Colony station.
Bolldy hell.. Cant you people just leave one good innovation witout any critic...The same rediff posted and boasted about the metro just when it started ...Now it comes along with some lulaby about it... Grow up fellow indians and let it live for the sake of it atleast.. The Man who made it Is Made of Steel...ANd all those brazilian and other stuff well I have one phrsae.."Actions speak more than words"
CHeers
NAveed NAwaz
"Keep Smiling It makes People Wonder What you are Upto..."
The capacity utilization of Kolkata Metro is 10% !!!! That is not true, anytime you take a ride on metro you will see that the trains are crowded. In fact the Kolkata metro is increasing the frequency from 8 min to 5 min. Also a huge expansion upto Garia is undergoing. Do you think a capacity utilization of 10% will provoke the authority to take such steps?
All experiments must be tried in smaller towns or in the big cities in an iterative manner. All experiments must be kept with budget in mind, that delays cause unnecessary rise in costs.
Here in Geneva, Switzerland they 've dedicated line for Bus(coupled buses) and Taxi. Punctuality of buses is another important thing which must be maintained.
I believe dedicated bus lines must be available atleast in Central Business district and Shopping.