Total 247 messages Pages < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>
LMAO!!
by timepass on May 23, 2008 10:34 AM  Permalink 

Why is the author surprised at her daugther liking India?? She lives in f-ing NJ, the shit-tiest place in USA.

Sheer hypocricy
by Ananthanarayanan Iyer on May 23, 2008 10:32 AM  Permalink 

I do not know why rediff is publishing this kind of article. What is the authort trying to say here. I could understand if the author is not an Indian because they are certainly not aware of our country and its culture. But here the author "Ruby Banerjea - Banerjee" is an Indian who has migrated and now she is reluctant to send her children to her own country for petty reasons. Why do rediff publish these kind of articles? Is it ridicule us Indians that rediff finds these be published. I still do not know what is going on.......I think it is time for people ignore these hypocrites........wherever I go and wgatever I do, I am always an Indian and I am proud to be one so. Rediff, please do not encourage these kind of listings. It is my hunble request.

my daughter went to India with stars in her eyes
by vilma lobo on May 23, 2008 10:29 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

These indians are two sided people. The writer of the above story forgets that she herself is an Indian, now settled in US. The place Kolkata from where she has ben bought up, is a totally big shit pot with all the Bangladeshis around. Such a dirty filthy place. Now that she has gone to the US she is talking negative about her country.

RE:my daughter went to India with stars in her eyes
by suchhando chatterjee on May 23, 2008 10:48 AM  Permalink
You say that Kolkata is a big shit pot....
And westerners call it the "City of Joy".
Is there all well in stinking US.
Who spoils all the oil of the world and enjoys freedom when other countries are buying oil for 135$.
People from Kolkata and all over India has a bigger heart than stinking Americans who select that bullshit like Joerge Bush as president.

by Sachaunmai on May 23, 2008 10:58 AM  Permalink
India has more no. of two wheeler wen compared to other nation. forst look at tat.

by DS on May 23, 2008 10:59 AM  Permalink
as much as I appreciate your patriotism, so much I hate your sense of ignorance. City of Joy was called by English rulers and I still don't understand why. The name stuck and so did the filthy conditions. I have traveled across India and Kolkata, even though a very different, unique and culturally vibrant, is far away from being the city of joy unless dirt, smell, long traffic jams, poverty is what constitutes joy for people.

And please don't even compare Indians with Americans for political choices. Our parliament has 30% MPs with some sort of criminal record and 35% with less than a college degree. And you are from WB, a state destroyed by commies for so many years. What did Bengalis do in their own backyard? Please understand that I am not singling out Bengalis because that is the same problem everywhere in India.

Let us all Indians stop to pretend that we are better than west. Let's face it. If so were the case, based on the law of mass transfer, people will move from west to east which is not happening.

For all its worth and importance, lets accept that we have problems cause that is the only way we can solve them.

by Rubin Cherian on May 23, 2008 11:25 AM  Permalink
Dear Mr. DS, please stop talking as if you are a Prof speaking about a new theorm in Maths. We are talking about a lady who doesnt show the basic love everyone has for their maternal parent. Here it is not about 'the law of mass transfer'. here it is about a great country being Humiliated..the country that is yours and mine.

The Lady stooped so low as to speak about 'Long queues awaited her as she went for registration, and the pushing and shoving to be able to get the classes' making it sound like a madhouse rather than a country.

Even the site admin found it fit to advertise this typical 'NRI'ism in the headlines, can you believe it in the TOP NEWS !!!

RE:RE:my daughter went to India with stars in her eyes
by DS on May 23, 2008 11:31 AM  Permalink
That is where the difference is. I believe in rationalism. I agree with a lot what she said in the article. I am not going to get sentimental that "how can she being an Indian say that about India". Let's accept that there is a problem because until we do that, we will never be able to solve it.

Are we right
by ashwani mishra on May 23, 2008 10:29 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Thanks to the banerjea family for adoring the pride of our nation. Just turn to the pages of the everyday newpaper and tell me on efront where we are doing good. Neither in politics nor in sports and even not good enough in health. What we need to do is think a while waht we are doing and where we are going. What country we will be leaving to pur children and grandchildren.

Childen are exposed to media where all sorts of things are shown. They are seeing those things which we could not see till we got married. A Murder case discussed in media on a channel whole day continuously for a week and a single outcome which can be decisive has not come yet.

So friends just not feel to be proud if a family from New Jersey writes all the good. its really not good at all. We are just relaxed and waiting for something miracle to happen. Which will never happen.

So think and perorm what can be done to save our country. Declining sex ratio is one issue.

To my understanding irrespective of the disciplines where you are working our attitudes towards everytinh we do needs to be changed. WE should have a attitude to work and perform better.

Dr Ashwani Kumar Mishra
(ashwanikm@uyahoo.com)

RE:Are we right
by DS on May 23, 2008 11:01 AM  Permalink
totally agree with you. we need to act instead of being complacent.
I am glad that to see people like you. please spread your ideas of solving our problems to your friends and families. we need people who are pro-development and prosperity.

Ruby poop
by kiran bagade on May 23, 2008 10:28 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

This orchestrated trash reflects long distance patriotism and convoluted jingoism.

But then , one is entitled to one's opinion.

Stay put in New Jersey and keep away.

RE:Ruby poop
by Partha Sen on May 23, 2008 10:39 AM  Permalink
Oh! Well said

RE:Ruby poop
by DS on May 23, 2008 11:02 AM  Permalink
can i agree more? hell No

Racisim Emerging Trend in India and Indian Govt Policy.
by m prabath kumar on May 23, 2008 10:27 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Yep,I feel proud be an Indian, India is always good for visitors, they can't see this much Pluralism any where in World. Is that really true here, nope. I think India is only country in the world having RACISM in the govt Policy. Few month before Venugopal a distinguised doctor was sacked by Indian cabinet, only reason behind is He stood for Talents and he is opposed Racist Policy of Indian Govt. Indian can live peacefully in any other part of world except in India. North Indian can't live peacefull in Maharastra, tamilian are hated in Karnataka, Bihari's are untouchable through out India, this our great culture, even though we have RedLight area in Mumbai,kolkatta, Pune and other Major cities we are Taking about tradition.Goa known in the world for SEX tourim, Politician,actors and cricketer not ready to spare girl child in the cradle. Ups and down is every where in India. We are Proud to Indian culture and Tradition until we explore them.

RE:Racisim Emerging Trend in India and Indian Govt Policy.
by Pradeep Menon on May 23, 2008 10:31 AM  Permalink
You are right on point Prabath. but many Indians will not agree to ur genuine views.

RE:RE:Racisim Emerging Trend in India and Indian Govt Policy.
by DS on May 23, 2008 11:04 AM  Permalink
it doesn't matter whether many Indians will listen now or not. we just need to do what is right and trust me, others WILL follow cause they really don't know what they are doing.

RE:Racisim Emerging Trend in India and Indian Govt Policy.
by Deepak Pawar on May 23, 2008 10:46 AM  Permalink
I agree there are problems. But lets try to make a difference by whatever small ways we can to improve and create a better tomorrow instead of just complaining.
Cheers dear friend !!

feedback
by Bhaskar Khemchandani on May 23, 2008 10:26 AM  Permalink 

What this article doing on rediff??? Is this a forum where personal experiences are put under the section "Headlines". Absolutely ridiculous. Article is good though and projects the attractiveness and warmth India brings to the world. I'll request to put this article on some good social experiences sharing forum, not as a time-waste piece under headlines of the day.

Ur an Indian?? could have fooled me !!!
by Rubin Cherian on May 23, 2008 10:25 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Lady, you call yourself an Indian??? NO one would be nervous to send their children to their own mother. Precautions are essential, prevention is much better than cure. But that doesnt mean that no1 can stay in this country. Population of this great country is in billions...you know what that means? It means that more than a billion Humans are staying here, not that a billion Animals are...What do you think of the people of this great land? They have much better things to do than harm your daughter lady !!! You are dispecable. Staying in a foreign country doesnt make you 'SUPERIOR'...understand how to be humble first. Of all the NRIs, people with your attitude are the worst !! Shame on this country to know that you are an Indian !!

And to those who responded to this article, dont you guys feel anything when such a humiliatory article is been written and worse, published??? Some one has even said its very touching. I say its Disgusting !!!

RE:Ur an Indian?? could have fooled me !!!
by DS on May 23, 2008 11:06 AM  Permalink
you have some good points but you are way too emotional which also happens to be the biggest problem of our society. let there be a combination of heart and brain when we make decisions. for all its worth, rationalism combined with action to take care of our problems is the biggest solution to our problems.

and please, don't come back saying that 'how could you not be so emotional'. just learn how not to be cause there are people who are not.

by Rubin Cherian on May 23, 2008 11:16 AM  Permalink
Dear Mr. DS, can you come forward suggesting a solution 'here be a combination of heart and brain when we make decisions', 'rationalism combined with action to take care of our problems is the biggest solution to our problems'?

I know that being emotional cannot solve problems. but when reason too is helpless, i think emotion is much better to express ideas.

by DS on May 23, 2008 11:23 AM  Permalink
For instance, arrange marriage. my family wants me to marry a girl from my caste even though two of my uncles who married to the women of our castes are going through the worst marriages ever. i gave them this example and asked if it is reason enough for me to marry whomsoever i want irrespective of caste. not surprisingly, my family still wants me to marry a girl of my caste.

so they are more emotional than rational.

but since i want to strike a balance, i am marrying a girl who is from a different religion since i love her a lot and see a great future with her. i don't care what my family thinks about it because it is a logical thing to do.

Reason is never helpless. It is just that emotions are an easier way out, almost an escapism.

by Kondiparthy Rao on May 23, 2008 10:31 AM  Permalink
someday when americans kick these indians , they keep wailing and return to india to see all those things which they are afraid of

by Pradeep V on May 23, 2008 10:37 AM  Permalink
Well said sir...

by kallumadi srinivas on May 23, 2008 11:10 AM  Permalink
these fellows went to usa at the cost of nations money, instead of repaying these are complaining and speaking dam about the monkeys... , monkeys are there in us also , i have heard many people die in us bcos of rattle snake bite.so think positive and paint a good picture of the country that made u go abroad at the cost of millions of poor people.

THAT IS NICE
by radha ra on May 23, 2008 10:24 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

The reading made it very nice. While we brag about foreign countries, our country has so much to give foreigners. So as a proverb goes nothing to beat once mother and motherland. Mera Bharth Mahan

RE:THAT IS NICE
by siddharthamehra on May 23, 2008 10:39 AM  Permalink
i totally don't agree with u. while it may have some good things about india, most of the story is based on how bad india is.

Good article
by Riya Sonam on May 23, 2008 10:18 AM  Permalink 

Well .. iss country mein kuch toh hai... jo ek baar aata hai yaha se jaa nahi paata....
INDIA ... na marne deta hai.. aur na hi jeene deta hai.. :)
Cheers INDIA

Total 247 messages Pages: < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>