Total 362 messages Pages < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>
rediff playing smart?
by rakesh nagrani on May 20, 2008 03:14 PM  Permalink 

is this a game by rediff just to provoke people on this issue which is dear to everyone. this way rediff ensures lot of visit to its seie too. rediff is only trying to make money by selling the pain in us. this is not an ethical way to earn money...
by starting topics like this rediff is only trying to be nice... lets hear what rediff employees have to say about their appraisals.

appraisal in indian industries
by Radheshyam Sarda on May 20, 2008 03:02 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Hikes are given to persons who are fit to
KAM NAHI KAM KA FIKAR KAR
FIKAR NAHI FIKAR KA ZIKAR KAR
Secondly who by hook & crook can arrange to propogate their voice.
Thirdly who by vertue are expert to take credit of others efforts

RE:appraisal in indian industries
by taatparya on May 20, 2008 04:15 PM  Permalink
I have worked both in USA and India...and it is very much the case in India unfortunately.

Best Seller Book - How to get good salary.. Mystery Unfold
by dddelhi on May 20, 2008 01:04 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Best Seller Book - How to get good salary.. Mystery Unfold
- From one of the star employee who has received 45% hike with promotion even by doing nothing
Some experts from the book
1.      Do not criticize your Boss
2.      Always say %u201CYes%u201D for any work if your boss asks for
3.      Avoid backbiting about your boss from your colleagues. Walls have ears
4.      Always pass information about other colleagues misdeeds and weaknesses
5.      Be always polite
6.      Never be angry
7.      Have an smiling face (depends on boss%u2019s mood)
8.      See boss%u2019s mood and talk accordingly
9.      Always praise boss like he is really a great Topchi and without his help this abc work can not be done (even if he is doing some silly things)
10.      when ever you meat your boss, always lower your pants and show your back to him
11.      Know what to talk at right time, when to talk at right place and whom to talk with maska polished statements
12.      Do nothing and project your boss if all work is done by you and without your help, your team is dumbbbassshoole
13.      Always talk about leadership

RE:Best Seller Book - How to get good salary.. Mystery Unfold
by Truth Prevails on May 20, 2008 03:35 PM  Permalink
LOL!!

All 13 points are VERY VERY TRUE!

RE:RE:Best Seller Book - How to get good salary.. Mystery Unfold
by Jedi Knight on May 22, 2008 10:17 AM  Permalink
Hey DDDelhi, are you Moses?! Because you just handed over us Rediff'ians 13 commandments of getting a good hike every April ;-)

RE:Best Seller Book - How to get good salary.. Mystery Unfold
by dddelhi on May 22, 2008 12:53 PM  Permalink
you are right dear... have fun

Its just formality
by goyyale on May 20, 2008 11:55 AM  Permalink 

Appraisal is just a formality what the management does. Though there will be some employees who would have done an extremely fantastic job in the previous year, that goes unnoticed while giving appraisals. Top management always rates every employee in the same scale, they will never have a criteria of distinguishing a good employee with the moderate one. Your appraisals are already fixed in the last year itself. Before you perform better everybody should understand that your appraisals are already finalized in the last financial year budget itself. but still we perform. It also depends on the bosses. You are like a horse, and the person riding the horse is your boss. He will extract the work and throw yourselves. Thats what happens in most of the comopanies. People doesnt leave the organization, they want to actually leave their bosses. But the funny thing here is everywhere they go, they will get the bosses worst than the previous one. Thats how it goes.

C****tia kaaatne ke 108 tareeko mein se ek hain PA
by sachin kumar on May 20, 2008 11:34 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

fact is PA is done so that u as an employee shud be convinced for low entitlement and ur boss wud be able demand a high entitlement as he is mainting u at such a lower salary and still keep u motivated....cheers!!!

Appraisal Formality
by Parag Penjarkar on May 20, 2008 11:17 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I think Appraisal is just a formality as it does has a hike, but at the same time empolyee doesn't take employer into consideration. I feel the real appreciation can be given in mid month if the performance of an employee is upto the mark or outstanding. This kind of appreciation can be considered as an employee is Appraised as conducting an Appraisal is a by default process. Normally i think while giving an appraisal HR plans the CTC in such a way that they feel they are appraised 45% or so, but i don't believe any company will give 45% hike in Actual amount (in-hand), if that is the case then we really need to see such Company. But i strongly feel the need of discussion as to why employee feels he/she should be appraised 20% or 30% with respect to performance. So its by default feeling of an increment which makes individual happy. I have a ? does anyone came to a stituation where there was no increment after appraisal since the performance was not upto the mark. Never i believe, so just think with the stituation and act accordingly. (Acme)

RE:Appraisal Formality
by aj on May 20, 2008 11:31 AM  Permalink
Mr. Parag

You will have to belive that I got 45% raise in my in-hand salary.

I belive that running behind brand names does not give you complete satisfaction. You should choose your company rightly and then work hardest. Then you will surely reap the benefits.

So IT sector is not bad at all. Infact, from my side of the world it looks really green.

by dddelhi on May 20, 2008 12:47 PM  Permalink
dear aj..seems that this time you got a good hike..that's why you are talking like this ;-)

by goyyale on May 20, 2008 02:17 PM  Permalink
Seems u r company is doing a big blunder

re:
by Aditya Singh on May 20, 2008 11:14 AM  Permalink 

Test Test Test ....
Failed Failed Failed....

Excellent appraisal
by aj on May 20, 2008 11:03 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I'm more than happy with my apparaisal this time. When the market avg is between 5-10%, who will not be happy to get 45% raise.
I love this company.

RE:Excellent appraisal
by Suneel Choudhary on May 20, 2008 03:58 PM  Permalink
I know you are doing well but stop tom-tomming about it

Your salary is good (CTC 7.5 lakhs at 3 years exp) but not worth the loud mouth you are projecting

Talk to campus recruits freshers who join Oracle and Adobe. They make 10-11 Lakhs without bonus

Appreciate that there are loads of people who are doing well in IT and stop your gyaan sessions on how to be successful

You considering yourself a success itself is a big misnomer. You have lots of distance to cover still

My best wishes

Total 362 messages Pages: < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>