RE:india - best place for women
by CHACKO PURATHUR on Mar 06, 2008 12:56 PM Permalink
It is Ok a Womens day celebration/ The same day can be celebrated as a Men's day also - that is a Day for "Men & women" suggest a name for the day ? & let them celebrate freely without any interference from society, or political parties like VHP or Shiv sena etc., Any comments
by shveta gulati on Mar 06, 2008 04:19 PM Permalink
True, women are being treated as Godesses and that's how Godesses are treated as in Mumbai on New Year's eve where mob attacked 2 women or same day in Goa when a girl was raped... female foeticide, eve teasing, molesting, burnt alive the list goes on. All this in India! And strange the country is no way behind the others. Shveta.
RE:RE:india - best place for women
by gautam rao on Mar 06, 2008 04:39 PM Permalink
By talking about women's issues alone and not exposing the other side of women, the media has played havoc. High time men's rights are also taken into consideration. Are men dogs according to women?
by Swathie on Mar 06, 2008 05:05 PM Permalink
Hello shveta,
Can you tell how many of these have happened in entire country for the year?
Do you think because half a dozen atrocities on women have happened one must force 80,000 men to commit suicide? To help these few hundred women should 1.2 lakh innocent women go to jail?
Why are you afraid of punishment if the case of 498a is falsely filed? If it is a genuine case she has nothing to worry. If it is a false case she has a lot to worry.
Do you not her the cries of 1.2 lakh mothers and sisters falsely jailed every year? Or you think Mothers and sisters are some cheap commodity for criminal women to trample on.
RE:RE:RE:india - best place for women
by asdf jkl on Mar 08, 2008 08:35 AM Permalink
Steps should be taked to avoid the misuse of this law.If used in properly, mothers ,sisters, anuone involved in the case of dowry must be punished. Like any other law, this law can also be misused...it does not mean that there should not be any law. Jessica lal/Priyadarshini Mattu and Naina Saini's murderers are still roaming free after all the evidences..the law is always in the hands of the fraud, rich and powerful. It is not about men and women but the proper implementation of law.
by srilalitha vishnubhotla on Mar 06, 2008 03:05 PM Permalink
I am afraid if it is my husband who is speaking like this... Definitely, these views matches.. heard when i just got married and still maintaining relationship...because i am woman from india.
by gautam rao on Mar 06, 2008 04:35 PM Permalink
Srilalitha, India men are also not as modern as western women. Husbands are sticking to their abusive wives because they are INDIA MEN.
india is the only place on earth, whr so much privileges, rights, tax-concessions, and reservations r given to women with no mandatory responsibility...
-- women get concession in tax -- women has no responsibility of earning and feeding her family -- DV laws r for women only. if women harass men, thr is no supporting law. even though survey said, men r more harassed in marriages. -- then their r 498A and adultery laws. however, these laws were made in view of abla nari.. but statistics shows 98% false alegations / cases and women r mis-using these laws to terrorise their husband and in-laws. -- then there is reservation for women every where.. frm education, to bus/train seats, to employment... -- if a man wants divorce, he has to fight for at least 3-4 years in court and also to pay hefty alimony whereas if women wants divorce she can get it in a day time. -- after husband's death, his will is transfer to wife's account. on the other hand, if wife died before 7 yrs of marriage.. its consider dowry death without any investigation and husband got jailed. -- in india, women r most respected and treated as godess... but these godess r losing their values nowadays bcoz of some wicked women and feminists.
by asdf jkl on Mar 08, 2008 08:42 AM Permalink
Attacker..I recognised you. When the feminists kicked your butt on Orkut..you are shoting here. Women as godess..huh? Where do you live? Don't give one sided statements. We have to suffer everyday on buses, trains when guys pass lecherous remark on us..everytime when a girl child is killed we feel humiliated...everytime I see women change their name,home family after marriage but nothing chages for the man. A country where still the maximum women live in villages ,are iliterate, what can be the % of feminists? This is a problem that maxm people posting here ignore the plight of village and small town women.
One notices that a good number of educated people quote things without any data. It is difficult to reason when one makes such vague assertions. I am posting some data from NCRB website. Think for a few minutes: Men suicide due to family problems: 68,000 per year. What are these family problems?- Financial and legal terrorism. Women suicide per year- 26,000.
Number of men burnt in 2006: 3423- No investigation till date. Number of women burnt in 2006: 1800 (All of these are AUTOMATICALLY called as dowry death (304B) and entire family made to run around courts for 15 years to prove innocence in 70% of these cases.
RE:Objectivity in the making of statements
by krishna tripathi on Mar 06, 2008 04:01 PM Permalink
i know..i keep track of atrocities against men. u r probably the one who was writing about a dharna in bangalore...hai na??
RE:Objectivity in the making of statements
by Swathie on Mar 06, 2008 05:09 PM Permalink
Krishna,
It was in hyderabad. If you are from hyderabad you must know the great media coverage we got for this event. Almost all local news papers and local channels have covered the plight of 150 mothers and sisters who have attended the conference. We have invited the National Women Commission members to attend and have a debate with us. They have agreed to come but did not turn up as they were scared to face the media and live coverage of the event.
Who says both genders are equal? Look around you. Are all women given the same educational opportunities as men? Is the status of a woman equal to that of a man in all families? Aren%u2019t a number of female foetuses are aborted every year? Don%u2019t women face glass ceilings in their careers? Isn%u2019t domestic abuse a part of life of many women in India?
As long as there are question marks as above, gender equality will remain a thing of fiction.
And that is precisely the reason why we need to celebrate Women%u2019s Day %u2013 not because both genders are equal, but because it needs to be stressed that gender equality has to be achieved.
RE:If both genders are equal, why celebrate women%u2019s day?
by gautam rao on Mar 06, 2008 04:45 PM Permalink
I can quote about problems which men face. 50000 false cases of dowry harassment every year. Around the same figure of men committing suicide every year. No support systems. No IT rebates. No concessions. No train concessions. The entire society and Govt is in their favour at the cost of men. So women have got more than what they could swallow.
by BVR Murthy on Mar 06, 2008 04:48 PM Permalink
I guess we should launch a PIL in the court against gender biased laws and tax concessions. If so, we should have right to freedom of doing whatever we want with our money & that every woman also has to contribute with equal share of money to family.
by gautam rao on Mar 06, 2008 04:54 PM Permalink
Mr. Murthy, some advocates did that and the case was trashed. The court said that women wear "Bangles" and sarees and so the Govt can do whatever to give them concessions in the name of equality.
RE:RE:If both genders are equal, why celebrate women%u2019s day?
by attacker on Mar 05, 2008 08:03 PM Permalink
girl child r giving concession n reservations in education field. status of women is perfectly equal in indian families. as per domestic violence is concerned, men is equally harassed by women.
its high time to stop men harassment in the name of women's equality.
82% of tax payers r men, but not a single penny ever utilized for male welfare in last 60 yrs.. we have ministry for even animal but not for men.
RE:Equally
by Munmun Sinha on Mar 07, 2008 10:08 AM Permalink
:) some truth in it, but rural india is a different ballgame and so are small towns. I know women who stay far from their parents and who suffer physical abuse and silently suffer in their marriage. unfortunately they are not aware of rights and their husbands take advantage of the situation . We need combination of awareness, sensible laws/ sensible police and administration mechanism . Till then, both sexes can get victimised.
RE:Equally
by Swathie on Mar 07, 2008 12:49 PM Permalink
I think you have correctly identified the problem. However it is some what unfair to say that both sexes can get victimized. They are getting victimized. Hence this struggle for the last 4 years. All what is needed is small changes in law to prevent abuse and more awareness to help the genuinely needy people. Giving more powers to those who already are at an advantageous and better position has only worsened the situation for all the people concerned independent of gender.
THE FIRST WOMAN Next, God created the woman. And what a special creation she was! %u201CThe LORD God said, %u2018It is not good for the man to be alone. I will make a helper suitable for him.%u2019 %u2026So the LORD God caused the man to fall into a deep sleep; and while he was sleeping, he took one of the man%u2019s ribs and closed up the place with flesh. Then the LORD God made a woman from the rib he had taken out of the man, and he brought her to the man. The man said, %u2018This is now bone of my bones and flesh of my flesh; she shall be called %u2018woman,%u2019 for she was taken out of man.%u2019 For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife, and they will become one flesh. The man and his wife were both naked, and they felt no shame.%u201D(Genesis 2:18,21-25 NIV) Thus, God performs the first operation, fashioning from Adam%u2019s side a beautiful and lovely wife and then personally presenting her to Adam. How Adam rejoiced in the close and loving companion and %u201Chelper%u201D God had provided for him! The late Biblical scholar Matthew Henry wrote, %u201CThe woman was made%u2026out of the side of Adam; not made out of his head to rule over him, nor out of his feet to be trampled upon by him, but out of his side to be equal with him, under his arm to be protected, and near his heart to be beloved.%u201D120 Like the man, the woman was made in the image and likeness of God%u2014created to reflect the LORD%u2019s character and
I don't like to indulge in the war of words like equality for men and women.
Being a women what I have seen, felt and observed is that though Status of women have increased in the society in few aspects, but they have to go a long way to be on the same level as of women.
On one side there are people saying that women is Goddess and bring happiness in there families but on the other hand there are NUMBER OF MEN TILL TODAY WHO SAY OR FEEL OR TREAT AS %u201CAURTE TO PAR KI JOOTE HAI%u201D Thus hard to comment on the equality aspect.
AS FAR as the Celebration part is concerned, I feel it is just a small gesture which is given to women and no point discussing on this YES or No. -We are celebrating just to -Respect the women of Today and the past who have sacrificed far more. -A cheers given to them for all what they have achieved over the years due to there inner strength and motivation. -To bring awareness in the minds of people who does not feel that women are the same as men. -A gentle reminder to all men that they have to do far more to reach the level of women%u2026%uF04A
Rather than looking at the fake side of this day we should look at the BRIGHER side of the day to Wish the Women(can be our Moms, wives, sisters, colleagues. Neighbors, aunt etc ) from whom we are impressed for what they do and what they have done for us.
RE:Women's Day Celebrations- Say Yes
by Vinu on Mar 05, 2008 03:54 PM Permalink
I am not among the people who feel "aurat pair ki jooti hai" I male around me I dont remember if someone believe in that. I am 32, till now I have experienced if a Man says that within the group also we categorise him as ganwar or sick mentality. We all respect women in our life, sometime we are behind them like slaves.
But why promote Women's day and make it like fight against men.
RE:Women's Day Celebrations- Say Yes
by gautam rao on Mar 06, 2008 04:58 PM Permalink
Men too have always faced a lot of discrimination but it was never exposed by the stupid media. So, everybody thought men had no problems. 50000 married men commit suicide every year due to various reasons. False dowry cases are common these days. Why can't you women look at the sacrifices of men to society? Why talk about women's rights and not responsibilities?