These ratings have no meaning or importance outside India. You work so hard,pay ridiculous amount of fees and the bottom line is it is not valued anywhere in the world (except in India)and that is because Indian education gives importance only to cramming notes and performing well in written exams, whereas International education gives importance to practical relevant training . i can say this, as like you, even i have spent money on Indian MBA, which all of us know is an entry to big companies in INDIA, but if you think over it again, spend few more thousand pounds and you can get an International degree with practical expereince which is not only valued in India but anywhere in the world
CHOICE IS YOURS EITHER WASTE YOUR MONEY ON INDIAN EDUCATION AND REPENT IN LEISURE OR GO ABROAD, GET THE QUALIFICATIONS AND IF YOU DESIRE, COME BACK TO INDIA AND WORK
On a lighter vein MBA stands for "Maha Bevkoof Admi". On a serious note these institutions should strive to produce good human & good citizen rather than a good money making machine. And then Outlokk should rank them on that parameter ALONE K. Vijay Iyer, Mayiladuthurai
RE:RE:MBA Rankings
by aarti prasad on Sep 12, 2007 09:48 PM Permalink
Sir, i happen to be a student of one of the top 5 B Schools. Do you even have the slightest of idea about what do u mean by being good human and good citizen. First things first, we are taught is to change ourselves. So the same suggestion goes to u as well. Get out of ur coccon, and instead of cribbing and thrashing others, apply the same to u. Take pride in something that has put our country on the world map. It takes a lot to be in one of them, and this remains the truth in spite of the rankings.
The rankings are the magazines own perception according to their own survey. If u dont agree, then go ahead carry out ur own survey and let everybody know the final result.
as an MBA student myself i have been through all these typical stuff like following the leading/misleading rankings, comparing rankings of various magazines,visiting the concerned B-schools website, checking-out the minimum and maximum salary offered, international placements etc.........but when i saw this year ranking it was bit different...in the sense it was close to reality(leaving the debatable issue of IIT'S not being included)...yes i mean it!!
most of the people will surely agree with the top 10 list as for the rest of the b-schools i was really surprised ....no surprises at all....hmm.......
i have a good friend circle that spreads around from IIM-A to LIBA(rnk 18 amg private b-schools) and i know the ground reality and can suggest the MBA aspirants that they can take the ranking of this year into consideration before making any choice.
finally.... the sole purpose of publishing a B-school ranking that is to help the MBA aspirants to take a call on their available options have been achieved!!
i really doubt the sanctity of the whole survey. .Why has there been no integrated rank list of all B schools irrespective of being government funded or not ? .some of the government institutions like IITs if not in the top 10 will surely appear in top 15 or 20 ..why have they been completely left out ,? the list is long ,,the only concern is the faith the sudent community has in these surveys will take a beating
the survey also has no mention about B-Schools run by IITs with the exception of SJMSOM. personally being a student of MBA at one of these IITs i feel the other B-Schools at IITs are worth mentioning especially VGSOM as it can compare with SJMSOM in terms of infrastructure, facilties, placement, faculty. God Knows how they omitted VGSOM. they must come to our campus. infact the kind of reading materials that you get from VGSOM and IIT KGP library and other electronic sources are comparable with the IIMs.
Ha ha ha ha... there's many a slip between the cup and the lip!! A fraud institute like IIPM, which takes close to 8 lacs for a degree that's not recognized by any Indian authority (a degree given by an unknown European institute with less than 100 students on its rolls)gets listed in amongst the top B-schools year after year... what's the use of such rankings. We all know why we want to do an MBA - just to get a high paying job!! hardly anybody wants an MBA for actual learning... hence the only criterion important for deciding ranks is the kind of jobs available on campus after two years. Rest all is just a load of bull.
RE:What rankings???
by cheerful on Sep 11, 2007 07:24 PM Permalink
well said...this IIPM has really become a nuisance...misleading so many students with huge full paper ads..btw, where did u get the stats that the european university has less than 00 students ...if its true, it's really hilarious
RE:RE:What rankings???
by cheerful on Sep 11, 2007 07:25 PM Permalink
oops..my mistake...it should have been 100 students instead of 00 students...but who knows , it may well be 0 students also , in case of IIPM
by Alpha Q on Sep 12, 2007 01:05 AM Permalink
Sorry, my bad! I should've mentioned the source. Check out www.timi.edu, which is the website of the institute which certifies IIPM students. In particular, check out 'graduation photos' under the 'students' link and count the number of people who graduated in 2006. Remember, this is a b-school that gives degrees to more than a thousand students in India!
by Ahmed Adnan on Sep 11, 2007 09:44 PM Permalink
ONE IMPORTANT THING EVEN IF YOU PAY SOMEWHERE CLOSE TO 8 LAKHS FOR IIPM, AFTER COMPLETING YOUR DEGREE YOU HAVE TO SELL CREDIT CARDS OR BANK ACCOUNTS. MY FRIENDS HAVE DONE DONE MBA AND THEY ARE SELLING BANK ACCOUNTS AND IN BAD DAYS THEY HAVE TO PICK THE MTNL DIRECTORY FOR NEW CUSTOMERS. MY SUGGESTION IF YOU HAVE 8 LAKHS, GO TO LONDON AND DO AN MBA FROM THERE. YOU WILL SPEND THE SAME AND SAVE TIME AS MBA COURSE IS OF 1 YEAR THERE.
Surveys! I believe that B-School ranking survey's are attractive to read only in India. I've seen some B'Schools shut down in New Delhi for conducting courses unapproved by Authorities, which were listed in "TOP BUSINESS SCHOOL IN INDIA". Outside India, hardly any one knows IIM, IIT or XYZ from India or less recognized. They see only for brilliancy. A brilliant (Not a hardworking idiot, who has secured high percentages in exams) student can shine in whichever school he studies. So please ignore all surveys, read lot of books, be individual ( do not be a football of others opinion), work hard, tomm is your's!
RE:B-School Survey
by Alpha Q on Sep 11, 2007 03:08 PM Permalink
Ha ha ha ha... there's many a slip between the cup and the lip!! A fraud institute like IIPM, which takes close to 8 lacs for a degree that's not recognized by any Indian authority (a degree given by an unknown European institute with less than 100 students on its rolls)gets listed in amongst the top B-schools year after year... what's the use of such rankings. We all know why we want to do an MBA - just to get a high paying job!! hardly anybody wants an MBA for actual learning... hence the only criterion important for deciding ranks is the kind of jobs available on campus after two years. Rest all is just a load of bull.
this survey is still not comprehensive because there's no mention of any 1 year program, be it ISB or the ones run by IIMA,SPJ etc..considering the fact that any serious MBA candidate seriously evaluates atleast one of these options, its a glaring omission.
RE:what about 1 year programs?
by PRAVEEN GUPTA on Sep 12, 2007 01:21 PM Permalink
they are talking about B School not A school. So ISB does not qualify for survey. It's A school.