Alpha in vileparle is worst.. They are having monoploly and it doesn't harm them if they losse any customer. Everytime they charge customer with 2.25% TF for Debit Cards and Credit Cards from Customer. They are vry rude with the customer. I had argued with them of about charging TF to me when i had pur cell. They say : AAPKO LENA HAI TOH LIJIYE WARNA REHNE DIJIYE.
RE:Alpha - Vileparle (w) - Worst Experience
by rohit rajput on Dec 05, 2007 06:30 AM Permalink
yea i agree with this too. I had such experience many times but when i read it in Times of india news paper that charges are to be borne by merchant next time i did transaction thru my debit card i refused to pay. This actually happend in The walden hotel in jublee hills hyderabad. But the merchant said he will definately charge 2% extra for using debit card. I was left with no option but to pay.But i asked merchant to give me in writting about extra charges. He agreed and he has given me in written on the bill the details of extra charges. Based written details i called my ICICI bank people. They said they cant do anything on this u have to contact the merchant. It felt cheated by the bank. I am now planning to move to court. BUt i want ur suggestions on this. PLz write to me abt it on Rohitsheen@gmail.com or rohit_sheen@yahoo.co.in. I want to stop this bug in India. Plz come up and join me.
It is true that some merchants charge 2.25% as transaction fees on purchases. For Example M/s Janata Book Depot, Near Gole Market openly charges 2.25% when we purchase any Books, stationary through credit cards. I have put forward this matter to City Bank, ICICI but nothing concrete has happened. Same is the case with shops selling mobile phones. They also charge transaction fees of 2.25%. Who will bell the cat?
I think it is fair since merchants cannot have differential pricing for cash and credit card customers. The charge should be standardised to a fixed %. The merchant is expected to pay this charge and also spend some time and effort in recovering the same from the bank. Not all banks reimburse smoothly and quite often needs follow up incurring expenditure like phone calls, depositing slips with bank and keeping records for the future. If the charge is standardised, the merchant also will not feel guilty. The days of selling the concept of credit card is over. Now it is part of the system and I positive the customer do not mind a small charge for the benefits he reaps. I am not a merchant but in the corse of my profession have practically seen the operations. Balu Sankar
RE:transaction fee charged by Merchants.
by Milind Gonaji on Nov 28, 2007 05:26 AM Permalink
Its not just customer getting benefited but merchant himslef as well cos if m bying a costly product just out of a chance as i liked it but had no intention to buy i dont carry that much money every time instead i pay by credit card so who is benifitetd? merchant or the customer.
Le the govt or a statuory body bring out an ordnance that it will be invalid if they charge a transaction fees.The same can be published in leading dailies.
RE:let govt wake upon this
by on Nov 26, 2007 12:02 PM Permalink
Yes, i really feel that such facts should be published in the news papers, shown on the tv and should also be advertised by the media so that the merchants dont dare to ask for the transaction charge.
As a consumer, we are normally left with no other choice but to pay this fees because we are in need of those goods.
The rules should be made strict and government should make sure that if a merchant asks for the transaction fees, he is (on the extremes) bound to get his licence cancelled.
I PERSONALLY FEEL THAT EVERY INDIVIDUAL WHO HAS CC IS EVER OF THIS. BECAUSE AT THE TIME OF PURCHASES THE ESTABLISHMNT IS WARNS YOU THAT THE TRANSECTION FEE WILL BE CHARGED. AT THAT TIME WE SHOULD PROTEST FOR THE SAME AND CANCELLED THE PURCHASE. IF EVERYONE WILL START DOING THAT THEN ONLY THIS PRACTICE WILL STOP. NORMALLY PERSON IS HAVING A EGO THAT OTHER PERSON IS LOOKING AT THE SAME.
I AALWAYS PROTEST AND CANCELLED THE PURCHASE. NORMALLY THIS HAPPENS WITH ME IN JWELLARY SHOP. AND STOP BUYING FROM THEM.
EVERYONE SHOULD STOP BUYING THE GOODS AND SERVICES FROM THE ESTABLISHMENT WHO CHARGES THE TRANSECTION FEE
RE:TRANSECTION FEES ON CREDIT CARD
by Divakaran Nair on Dec 01, 2007 10:02 AM Permalink
i fully agree with you. We should do it irrespective of thinking "others will see us argueing" etc. We should avoid arguing, can say "No Thanks' with a good smile. D Nair
If a person goes to small retailer . He will charge you a Transaction Fees anywhere between 2%-3% because his profit margin is low and the deal that he gives is the best one. If you go to a big retail giant they have a large profit margin and include the transaction charge.
We live in INDIA. SO the rules and regulation that are accepted internationally are not valid in INDIA.
RE:Transaction Charges
by PRAVEEN GUPTA on Nov 26, 2007 07:03 PM Permalink
Very well said. I just wanted to buy N-95 some times back. When I went to a big showroom, they asked me the retail prize of 27K (off course they were happy, even though if I was paying through CC). The same N-95 I bought from a small shop at 25 K only but yes, He was sure to take 2% on 25K when I proposed to pay from my CC. It's always a good deal to bargain on cash prize and not just swipe in your card. After all, It's you who is gona pay the money back .
If the credit card companies ask the retailers/ shopkeepers to pay for the transaction charges, why dont they stop this practice. The credit card companies want to provide each and every Indian with a "FREE" credit card but actullay it is not "FREE" when you are paying the transaction charges or the high interest rates when they don't pay the full amount. GOI should also ask the companies to stop this practice or the people will stop purchasing the things on cards and will revert back to purchasing on cash. If the people will revert back to cash, then the credit card companies will loose lot of money which they earn as interest fees and it will effect the market as people will then buy when they have sufficient cash to buy. Now it is high time for banks to think on Transaction fees or to loose lot of money as interest rates.
RE:Transaction Fees
by nitin khare on Nov 26, 2007 11:39 AM Permalink
You are absolutely right mr. Gautam. Big retailer keep included the transaction charges already in the price of items. So knowingly-unknowingly we are paying that charge by our pockets. We can not do anything about this. It all depends on the honesty of retailer, which is very less among indians.
RE:Transaction Fees
by venkat on Dec 03, 2007 04:54 PM Permalink
Is there any legal clause or point we can produce before them and ask for refund of the extra amount/transaction charges ? Is there any provision for this in our judiciary?
I have never paid any transaction fees till date. ( I am using credit card for the past 4 years). If any merchant establishment asks me of charge, i refuse to buy from those merchants. Then they will waive the transaction fees. Or else i simply walk out to a different merchant.