Total 64 messages Pages | 1 | 2 | 3   Older >
Constipation & gastric Problem
by pappu venkateshwarrao on Jul 05, 2009 05:37 PM  Permalink 

Hi Shameem
I do Yoga regularly. Iam a diabetic & and having Thyriod problem which iam able to controll with regular Yoga. for the Last one month Iam having Severe Constipation and Gastric Problem. Kindly sugest me which yogic exercise will help to solve my problem. Iam 49

Superb is not the word for you Shammem
by A J on Aug 20, 2008 10:09 AM  Permalink 

Awesome! Simply AWESOME. May be I could add another 150 adjectives along side to this one. Your explanations, the grace and flow is simply SUPERB. I look forward to increase my learning from you each week. God bless... and hey your blog spot is a BIG help as well. Peace and Love to you :=)

hi! shameen
by Shajila Aravind on Dec 10, 2007 12:42 PM  Permalink 

could you show some simple poses of hatha yoga, and are there any simple asnas for weight loss. my hair is falling a lot because of hard water we are getting in the bathroom.is there any remedy for that. whether mudras or asnas will help.
shajila

Need to gain weight and let the stress away
by on Oct 17, 2007 04:39 AM  Permalink 

Dear Shameem ,
I need to gain weight and i guess the reason i can no to gain weight is cause i get stressed very easy cause of life situation.
What can i do to let the stree away and gain some weight

Hello Shameem
by siddhartha on Aug 29, 2007 02:29 PM  Permalink 

Hi Shameem ,
I am having the Flu problem for quite a few years and its like almost every day in morning I sneeze and cough problem is also there.I wish to do Pranayam but the problem is that almost all the time one of my nostril is blocked so I cant do the Pranayam... can you please suggest some remedy for me...

Hello Shameem
by Avanindra Dugar on Jun 30, 2007 02:43 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I have gone through various slide shows and I'm also a regular reader of your articles in Hindi magazine Aha Zindagi. I do perform yoga (mainly Pranayams). However, I'm still not sure about what breakfast should be taken after Yoga and what should be the time gap between yoga and breakfast? Also, if I take half cup of tea 1 hour prior to go for Pranayama, is it safe?

RE:Hello Shameem
by Shameem on Jul 03, 2007 10:47 AM  Permalink
Avanindraji, Indian food in general is accepted as sattvik, except where you use too much oil, spice or fry or overcook or recook. So see that your breakfast does not fall into any of these descriptions. Also, such food specifications must never be flouted only when you are doing very intense pranayama/asana sadhana. Otherwise, for most people doing a `normal' 30-one-to-one-hour sadhana, regular food is advised. The Bihar School of yoga even says that with regular yoga your body automatically begins to reject (after you develop disinterest in such foods)certain foods as not suitable for your yoga practice! You also begin to eat less, as you become more fuel-efficient. So continue with eating whatever is sattvik. Since you say you read Aha Zindagi, which covers such matters with great detail, you must now have an idea about what constitutes sattvik surely? About the timings, two to four hour gap is essential between a heavy meal and yoga practice (whether it is breakfast or lunch is immaterial), the gap is essential to ensure the blood flow reaches the limbs while digestion and nutrient absorption are not interfered with. And yes, one-hour gap between tea and pranayama is ok -- some pitta dosha people feel discomfort (esp when doing kapalabhati and breath retention) when the tea is had too close to practice, due to reflux -- but otherwise you don't have to get so nervous about this... when your practice is regular and steady these things will begin to matter disturb even

RE:RE:Hello Shameem
by Shameem on Jul 03, 2007 10:48 AM  Permalink
less:)

RE:Hello Shameem
by Avi on Jul 09, 2007 04:50 PM  Permalink
Shameem Ji

Thank you for much for such a wonderful and useful tips. I'll definitely try to adhere to these. Thanks you once again

Warm regards
Avanindra

Hi Shameem
by Bindu Murali on Jun 11, 2007 12:29 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I've been practicing Yoga for the last 1.5months(45 minutes including pranayama) but there is no weight reduction. Though people are able to observe some changes in my physique, there is no dropping of numbers on the scale. What could be the reason? Please suggest

RE:Hi Shameem
by Shameem on Jun 12, 2007 05:06 PM  Permalink
Just spotted your query Bindu. The numbers on the scale won't show weight loss because your muscle mass and bone density would have increased with yoga. Both are very good things, but muscle weighs more than fat and dense bone is obviously heavier than frail, hollow bone -- so don't worry about the weighing scale. For real assessment, you must now start measuring yourself with a inch-tape: at the crucial spots, like thighs, calves, hips, lower waist, chest, upper arms -- this will give the right estimate. So, don't worry. I think if people are noticing some changes, you are on the right track.
Another point: your body gets used to same moves. So, even in the same poses you are doing, you can bring about some change to make your work-out more effective. If you have mastered a pose, hold it for longer and longer, breathing well and smoothly. Another way, is to find variations for the same pose. For instance, if you are doing cobra (bhujangasana) you must move ahead for its advanced variation like urdhvamukha svanasana (upward facing dog) -- this way you will do more in less time.
best of luck. Yoga helps long term, remember, because your hunger levels go down, so don't lose hope just now. And also, include a good set of pranayama -- this also helps well with weight control. Happy sadhana!

Many thanks
by Dara Acidwalla on May 31, 2007 07:21 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Ms Shameem Akthar,

Many thanks fot this really superb guide.

Not often do we see authors interact with
readers (and readers with other readers)
as in your articles.

Will visit your blog soon.

But in the meanwhile, please do see this item
'American attempt to patent yoga puts Indians in a twist"

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/world/asia/article1862524.ece

It appears some Americans (and Indians who have
become Americans)want to patent India's
knowledge which has been in the public domain
for centuries.

They have tried to do this with our herbs
-- Haldi, tea, Tulsi, Chillis and Basmati rice -- before
and now they are trying to patent Yoga!

Next they will want our Sandalwood, Tigers, Elephants, and so on...

I would -- and so would your Rediff readers, I am sure --
like to know your views on this soon.

Thank you once again.

RE:Many thanks
by Shameem on Jun 01, 2007 11:15 AM  Permalink
Thanks for your encouraging words. And detailed message. It is amongst the most sensible messages I've seen since I have started writing on Rediff.com. The purpose of message boards is for having an intelligent discussion and exchange of views, news and assistance (as with problems etc). And messages must need have a coherence of thought. I see that your message reflects this role aptly: unfortunately, message boards otherwise seem to be used more by people regressing into juvenile-teen mentality or who misuse it smear net grafitti or worse, lavatories for their verbal diarrhoea:) You have restored my faith in the freedom this medium upholds.
And about my views on this topic you mention, I have blogged extensively on this, and you will find my take on it at my blogsite, mentioned above on such topics like Turmeric. In any case, it is a subject close to my heart and bothers me a lot, because though the government of India has woken up patenting in yoga, its still not taken an aggressive stance on this. The last I heard of this was that it was preparing a list of yoga asanas/practices and props that it intended to give to the International body dishing out these patents, to dissuade it from issuing such patents (and I know prestigious yoga institutes like VKS was involved in helping the government in compiling this list). But I have not seen any subsequent media report on whether the compilation of this list is complete or whether it has been handed over to the concerned in

RE:RE:Many thanks
by Shameem on Jun 01, 2007 11:35 AM  Permalink
internationa body.
You may know that Pilates is largely yoga-based, with simple names for yogic practices (though practitioners, and definitely instructors and franchisees will claim otherwise). So also Bates method, based largely on yogic trataka. Hypnotherapy is also hugely influenced by Indian dhyana, while the popular Progressive Relaxation Technique is based on yoga nidra. Last year an international dancer visiting Mumbai claimed to have created yogic dance therapy (largely, no doubt based on Bharatanatyam, referred to as flowing yoga or vinyasa yoga), while I was amazed to read an article by a popular international yoga magazine the claim by a North European that he had invented rope yoga (which is credited to Lord Hanuman and is a variant of the Mallakhamb or pole yoga). I can cite more examples where claims such as these when left unchallenged, will be granted patents.
But we just cannot fret and fume about the government's role. In other countries the baton of such responsibility in promoting and preserving local pride, tradition, culture has been passed on to industrialists. Our country too has to engage private initiative in such issues.

RE:Many thanks
by Mahesh Atale on Feb 14, 2008 11:33 AM  Permalink
while I was amazed to read an article by a popular international yoga magazine the claim by a North European that he had invented rope yoga.. is the sentence in this parra.. I WANT THE HARD COPY OF THAT MAGAZINE IF possible. Mail me to mallayoga@rediffmail.com

yoga lessons and messages posted
by mohd hussain shah on May 25, 2007 04:18 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

The article is really wonderful .The answers by Shammim are very useful.
But I am surprised to note that some guys give it a relegious colour. Shammim a muslima and yoga a relegious discurse! How sick is the Indian Hindu society.

RE:yoga lessons and messages posted
by Shameem on May 26, 2007 06:20 PM  Permalink
thanks for the nice words about the article and responses Mr Shah. Nevertheless, we must avoid seeing a few mischievous messages, posted by those who hide behind the anonymity that the medium provides or misuse its freedom, as representative:)

by Bheja Try on May 26, 2007 08:22 PM  Permalink
shameemji in your article for better sex lives, i asked about treatment of ED through yoga, but you did not reply anything about it. can you enlighten about it, although, this forum deals with a different subject

by Shameem on May 26, 2007 09:43 PM  Permalink
I did not reply because somebody had posted a complete reply, with practices that are drawn from yoga, to your question...
Unfortunately, the subject of fertility and sex is such that, when a woman is writing it, however scientifically and clinically, there is a tendency for lots of silly queries (since this medium offers that anonymity)to crop up amongst genuine ones, such as yours perhaps. So I am sorry that whatever I have had to say on that subject is said fully in that column.
If net readers choose not respect the dignity or intention of the writer than unfortunately we have to chose certain precautions to preserve these. Therefore, my responses are now confined to such subjects where the scope for such irrelevant or frivolous attention is not drawn to the writer. I thank you in advance for your understanding.

Tight clothes
by kalpana minnallagari on May 23, 2007 06:05 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Yoga is supposed to be done with loose clothes. In almost all of the pictures thedemonstrator is wearing tight clothes(jeans like). This is very encouraging to readers!
Kal

RE:Tight clothes
by Shameem on May 23, 2007 06:52 PM  Permalink
The ground rule is for natural fabrics -- which has not been flouted Kal...These are work-out clothes. Loose clothes are awkward in photoshoots, tending to ride up or down. If you a yoga practitioner, surely you must have experienced this yourself...?

by Shameem on May 23, 2007 09:10 PM  Permalink
Also, Hatha Yoga Pradipika, Chapter 1, verse 15 advises any sadhaka from being unduly touchy about rules. Swami Muktabodhanda of the Bihar School of Yoga interprets this verse in his translation of the text thus: "Sadhana is not dependent on social morals. Adhering to rules makes one narrow-minded. Yoga is meant to expand consciousness. Not limit it. A yogi should have a free and open mind."

by Surajit Dash on May 23, 2007 06:35 PM  Permalink
Was it not the posture that was more important to be noticed than the clothes?

Why do some people like you always try to find faults and start a criticism?

by Amar Prem on May 24, 2007 02:02 AM  Permalink
I would not worry so much about other people's tight clothes Kalpanaji. If I was you, I would be worried sick about the tightness/narrowness of the mind such as you are displaying.

by Amita Anand on May 24, 2007 01:50 AM  Permalink
How is this discouraging? Unless, of course, you cannot get into such clothes yourself!!

Total 64 messages Pages: | 1 | 2 | 3   Older >