My openion on reservation is, criteria of reservation should be revised from Caste to Poor people on econamy basis. Now a days it's become a political stunt for polititions because of this our country is loosing respect in all aspects. Kindly Under stand each and every person regarding reservation has ment for poor people who are under below property line.
RE:RE:Reservation
by Anil Kishore Saxena on Jun 06, 2007 12:49 PM Permalink
Recent situation created by Meena and Jurjjar communities in rajasthan shows that now it is taken as right.
It seems taht inplace of giving reservation Government should think over giving free education to poor irrespective to any cast and no reservation at all. At the maximum some weightage like 5% additional marks in competition. I think UP election of 2007 gives a massage that if any party try to divide India on the basis of cast It wil be remain in minority
A community to me means - a group of people who belong to similar social and cultural status. And backward community means - all those people who lack basic needs and they can be across castes and religions. And definitely all THOSE lacking people definitely need reservations for their upliftment. But having said that it is not logical to retain the family (to which the reservations had been given one time) in the backward community list. Because if a guy from backward community gets education and job through reservation, he is financially stable enough and he is no more a member of the community and hence his son doesn't need reservation any longer.
Dear freinds, If We think so, think again..........
and see the last one month's Media reports..... about India..... and find those Non-muslim involved Violences due to Seemingly Silly issues:
1. Ulfa...... in Assam with Non-Assamese....... 2. Attack on Masjid.... yet NO reaction from Muslims. 3. DMK cheif's two SONS rivalry violence..... 4. Nandigram... and other SEZs violence.. 5. Sword-weilding Sikhs in Punjab....... 6. Naxals....... everywhere in India....... 7. Now You see in Rajasthan and other places... CASTE ...WAR....
and Globally..... Nigeria ... and SriLanka are the chart Busters with Ethnic Violences guided by Oil-based Vested interests.....
IN FACT.. Where there is people There is politics Where there is politics.. there policy is involved........ Where there is POLICY , rather than Performance. there is Conflicts And Where there is Conflicts......... There would be VIOLENCE
there is least connection of Violence with any Religion as such....
Only solution is that the King or the government should be wise and Just. JUSTICE only is the solution of Conflicts and Violence......... I mean........total and eternal justice........ based on Human Brotherhood, not just short-sighted and Localised or Nation-based theories of Justice
RE:And We thought .......Only muslims go for violence......
by Sarath Chandra on Jun 06, 2007 08:03 PM Permalink
Valid observations Mohammed and I also appreciate Manish for his appreciation. Thanks to both you guys.
by kumar kn on Jun 06, 2007 12:49 PM Permalink
dishonest poitics is the root cause of all conflicts and evils in the world. if religion or caste plays a role it is only because politics uses releigion or caste to create trouble . So dishonest politics must be prevented. but dont know how. Even democracy is a failure. Only the almighty can show the way.
by manish varma on Jun 06, 2007 12:46 PM Permalink
Well Said Mohammad Sahim Ahmed. I agree with your analytical views. In fact, India needs the progressive people like you (I am deliberately dropping the word - Muslim, as I do not wish to brand people like you in any religion). Just and just, if some peole had been more accomodating, instead of selfish transaction of interests, things would have been different in India. There are issues related to cheap publicity, for which people seek additional favor and becasue of that a whole community gets a bad name. I beleive that you understand, what I wish to say. Best Wishes and hope that you continue to influence others' though process on this issue.
We know for a fact that anything the government touches turns to dust while the private sector often does a better job of many things.
Why not leverage the energies of the private sector to alleviate the caste problem?
Setup a fund that will pay out 1 Crore to any coaching center that can coach an SC/ST student to get into an IIT ON MERIT.
If in the first year not enough candidates get through, roll over the money into the next year so there is even more money at stake.
Trust me some enterprising soul will scour the earth to find and nurture talented kids to fill these seats. And no one can complain that these students got in through the back door.
And once things improve and more and more SC/ST students get into these colleges, then the prize money can be gradually reduced.
The quota system is very conveniently and effectively used by power hungry politicians to win elections and anti-nationals to create rift in the country (especially among Hindus) while appearing to show fake concern for castes and tribes.
RE:Quota an effective tool to divide Hindus
by M Rao on Jun 06, 2007 12:32 PM Permalink
Yes, you are 100% correct and if the present trend continues then every caste in hindu needs pass port for travelling from one street to other.
Every person should have equal oppourtunity based on their skills and no other consideration. There should be an effort to provide amenities to all below certain family income level with books and libraries or reading areas so that they have resources to put in effort and hard work and prove their worth. No other freebies... By reserving quota for some on caste or economic level you deprive someone else of their capabilities. This is bound to create rift between the ones being wrongly showered with freebies and the ones being robbed of their efforts. Treat everyone equal to end the animosity and grouping of people.
The reservation policy was originally introduced to uplift the socially & educationally backward citizens in India. As this backwardness was very closely linked to the cast of a person so cast was taken as the basis for reservations. Today after following the policy for more than 5 decades there is a need for taking review of the whole policy. It is to be found out whether the policy has achieved its target i.e. uplifting the socially & economocally backward people. Today the reservation policy has become a tool in the hands of politicians for gathering votes. Most of the benefits of the reservations are grabbed by the well to do people in these catagories. The real backward people are not coming upto the level where they can utilise the policy. The govt. instead of providing compulsory & free education for these people is only extending the reservations in other areas like higher education. People who are really backward are not able to complete their basic education & are not getting benefitted from this policy. Only the people who have got benefitted earlier are utilising these opportunities repeatedly. The need of the hour is to bring the real backward people on par with others. This can be achieved by giving them compulsory & free education, concession in fees, free books & school uniforms, providing expert coaching for competitive exams etc. Also, while uplifting these people the govt. shall ensure that the people from other categories are not becoming backwar
Quota system is very important and very necessary for development of india for atleast for next 50 - 60 years. This is important for making a level playgraoungd and instigating competation among all sections of people and for all aspects. Presently in India there ia a total monopoly of all the high end jobs being hijacked by few vegetarian eating community. In order to break this monopoly the quota system has be brought in place , ehnaced and be made more effective. The best testimony of the fact that how backwards the OBC/ SC/ STs are is this blog/ forum where in it is evident that there is minimal or no voice in the favour of Quota and this show how far they are from technology.
RE:Quota is very important for development for India.
by Himanshu Rajgor on Jun 06, 2007 10:12 AM Permalink
I would not mind agreeing with the reservation policy if it was really helping the needy, but nowadays reservation is being misused as a vote bank, and also only the better off people among the SC are really benefiting from it. Also sadly it is true that anybody can get a SC certificate and avail of quotas, thus quota policy like all policies which although fundamentally might be sound, are being misused by undeserving elements of society
by vijay ram on Jun 06, 2007 11:24 AM Permalink
If the idea behind quota is to break the monopoly of the "vegetarian eating community", then there is enough data to show that it has failed for 60 years.
What you are really asking for is to create a new monopoly of certain "non-vegetarian eating communities". I dont think Quota is going to help you there either.
by stephen black on Jun 06, 2007 11:31 AM Permalink
Every person should have equal oppourtunity based on their skills and no other consideration. There should be an effort to provide amenities to all below certain family income level with books and libraries or reading areas so that they have resources to put in effort and hard work and prove their worth. No other freebies... By reserving quota for some on caste or economic level you deprive someone else of their capabilities. This is bound to create rift between the ones being wrongly showered with freebies and the ones being robbed of their efforts. Treat everyone equal to end the animosity and grouping of people.
RE:RE:Quota is very important for development for India.
by shwetha reddy on Jun 06, 2007 12:46 PM Permalink
Quota is important when the people are weeker section but not SC/ST like that.Govt has to Enquire in their heirarchy of the family any two persons has job then their family has to remove from weeker section.Then Every weeker section will get the oppourtunity to have the benifits of govt.other wise Govt benifits will go into wrong persons hands.
by Marvel on Jun 06, 2007 12:50 PM Permalink
Stupid fool by on:
Your name suggests your quote attitude. Give your name and discuss. You should be definitely from a reptile eating community, though i do not mind ur eating habits.
RE:RE:Here is an idea: Like Voter identity Card, there should be reservation Voucher for Family
by on Jun 06, 2007 09:41 AM Permalink
People in the SC/ST categories are given a good opportunity by providing the Reservation. Once a person becomes IAS officer then will he give up asking for reservation for his kids saying his kids are in better situation compared to a middle class family.
The answer will be a BIG NO.
So in these cases we should tag the people getting jobs based on reservations after first generation benefit holders.
Mr. MAX, B.TECH, IAS(SC QUOTA) - If he gets the IAS job based on SC QUOTA and if his parents has benefitted by SC Reservation.
Though this sounds like teasing if this is made a rule we can see many SC/ST/BC's opting for no reservation atleast in the second generation- Giving a chance for the real people in need of the reservation. Thus helping in the social equality.