All the articles from the author is outstanding.His story in some aspects resembels mine.Since i was a child i always liked to be the owner of a shop and sell things to my family members in exchange of fake rupee notes.From then till now,wen i look back it made me understand that i was meant to be an entrepreneur.At age 23 and after a couple of job changes,i will finally start building my business in a couple of years.All i wanted to say is that,these articles have made me realise and concrete my confidence.Thank you.
Most entrepreneurs say they work more than 60 hours a week. What would be our or their employees impression about them if they say that they work for 6 hours a day for 5 days a week, may be that's reality? I believe its more of vision and execution that counts at the top rather than amount of hours they work, most of the stuff they say is to motivate their employees which may not reflect the reality.
I am a kolkata based Business Manager with one of the leading garment cos in india.would like to meet somebody who would like to finance/partner a business idea.the concept is from manufacturing to retailing.The investment is two crores. my no is 09831733610.
Successful entrepreneurs have the trait of thinking ahead and sticking on to their vision, come what may. They don't get demoralised on setbacks, viewing them only as stepping stones in their path of moving ahead and find ways to make things work.
For instance, Microsoft wasn%u2019t Bill Gate%u2019s and Paul Allen%u2019s first business venture. Who remembers that their original Traf-o-Data business was a flop? Once you succeed, no one will remember your failures anyway.
RE:Successful entrepreneurs !
by Rajesh S on Feb 15, 2007 08:16 AM Permalink
Check out the "Stepping Stone" article in ICHP Forum. Will make a good read.
Sir, iam an Electrical Engg graduate,since childhood i have passion to make things easy for that i think on everything on daily life to make it easy for the humankind,my question is that if a cocept comes in mind how to convey it to big companies and how to value that concept in terms of money please answer me my email id is musheer_Ad@rediffmail.com
RE:about concept
by Knowledge Software on Feb 15, 2007 09:20 AM Permalink
I am not sure if you want only Sri Subroto Bagchi to answer or can others answer as well? Anyway, here are my two cents. If you have a big idea, then why do you want to give to somebody else? It is better to team up with some others and start your own business.
I like to share my understanding of entereprenurs. They are the set of quirks, they are totally strange, they always dare to dream about the impossible, they break the rule, they are cunning, they are shrewd like fox, highly agile, sportive, they are moron, highly inventive,risk-tolerant. If one see the most successful people they love to try the untried, they are passionate. They cannot think anything other than their goals.
If anyone has althese traits, Never doubt you are on your way, select your field, form a dedicated team , have financial support.
I have recently started a software firm. It is sole proprietory. I want to convert it into private limited. But, as per law, that requires minimum two directors. I can become one director. I am looking for one more. I do not want to make anybody from family/relatives as a directors because I want to keep family and business separate. So, if any of you are willing to join a startup firm and have passion, please let me know. We can become partners.
RE:Any of you interested in starting a business?
by mihir shah on Feb 15, 2007 05:30 PM Permalink
hi.. i am interested.. i am a BE (comp. sci) and have 2 yrs of work ex. in a big MNC.. i am also aspiring MBA and mgmt of things comes naturally to me. it would be great to know abt ur ideas and business and hopefully join in. can u pls reply to me at monushah@yahoo.com
by on Feb 16, 2007 01:28 PM Permalink
KIndly send details. would be interested. My area of interest is education on an e-learning platform. Cheers. mohan arora
PS. I am an IIT graduate and have been working in this area for past 5 years.
RE:RE:Any of you interested in starting a business?
by Knowledge Software on Feb 16, 2007 03:51 PM Permalink
How do we communicate? Could you let me know your email id? My id is knowledge_software@rediffmail.com If we decide to work together, then I will let you know my official email id.
RE:RE:RE:Any of you interested in starting a business?
by dilip on Feb 17, 2007 12:02 PM Permalink
I am currently with a German Software MNC and I am going to join a start up shortly which has got IT Development and Training as main business We also work with Microsoft as Innovation Partner and we devlop software for BFSI segment.
Our Training Division has got centers all around south india and we are in the process of expanding it to hit a larger student base. We are also in the process of opening a center in Shangai shortly.
Elearning is surely an interesting thing and I see lot of synergy between us in this area.
Pls let me know your interest so that we can have a formal discussion on this.
by Usha S on Feb 14, 2007 05:39 PM Permalink
where are you and what sort of investment are you looking at? reply at visrom@yahoo.com
by Knowledge Software on Feb 14, 2007 06:27 PM Permalink
I am in Bangalore. It is software firm in the domain of eLearning/human capital development. I have done lots of research and found that there is huge scope in this field. Before starting the firm, I got experience also. Being a graduate from IIT, I could have joined some big organisation. But I intentionally joined a software company, which was going into losses (they did not have enough money to even pay salaries). I made it my passion to make that company grow. Fortunately, with right support from the company I could succeed. The company became really big. I worked there for a few more years. Then I joined a very big MNC to learn the processes used in big companies. After working there for one year, I left that and started my own. I feel sad that the first company is again going into losses. They asked me to join back. I have some emotional attachment with that company and therefore, want them to do good. But, I cannot join them back because I want to have my own business. You have asked what kind of investment I am looking for. More than investment, I am looking for somebody who can work with me to make the business grow and he/she should have passion for that. Together with that, if there is monetary investment also, then it is good. But, that is not a necessity.
elearning/ human captial development is a interesting domain beacuse every human born need some type some kind of education / learning. But the sucess in this domain depends on your capability to satisfy this need. I am not sure this is the way to identify the potential business partner. My best wishes for your search.
by PRAVEEN KUMAR on Feb 14, 2007 08:54 PM Permalink
dear sir, I am financial services individual in a senoir level post.i want to start and do something than wasting my time on giving lacs of profit to such blood suckers.I can sell anything witha flair and make a try to pep up your business.Lets meet and chat then what if I donot get dumped in the end if your business starts growing. I have the passion and drive to do the impossible and achieve it. Please mail back if you it is possible to do something. Praveen kumar email:pkc9567@rediffmail.com
RE:RE:RE:RE:Any of you interested in starting a business?
by on Feb 19, 2007 03:14 PM Permalink
Good Evening Mr. Praveen Kumar,
I was intrigued with your letter as you stated that you were good at sales. I am very bad at it. I have joined a Co. that has retailing & recruiting. Would it be possible for you to join me in this venture. It is an international co. that has a very good pay plan. I am doing quite well except that I would like to increase my retailing. You would be joining me as a Business partner/consultant. If you are interested kindly e mail me at ericanina@redifmail.com Looking forward to a business partnership
by on Feb 16, 2007 01:22 PM Permalink
Hi, It is interesting to read ur passion for entrepreneurship. I have similiar passion and am a IIT graduate. Presently, running an educational institute preparing students for engineering entrance exams. We are also working to create a e-learning platform to reach students at low price point. Will be interested to get in touch with u.
RE:RE:RE:RE:Any of you interested in starting a business?
by Knowledge Software on Feb 16, 2007 03:59 PM Permalink
Hi, Talk about coincidence? When I read that you are teaching students, then it struck me that in my future plan teaching is also included as a part of business. When a person starts a software firm, then he often feels that he should be only in the domain of software product development and services. But I feel that we should keep in mind our core aim. And if the aim is to be reached by software development, fine. If we need to do other works to reach the aim, we should do that also. I have started business for eLearning. The prefix e says that software is an essential part. But the word learning is also very important. Learning need not be only by using softwares; it can be by other means also. So, why not adopt other means as well? It is in my plan to open educational centres throughout India. The facilities and the quality of education in those centres will be so good that people would love to study there. They will be taught in various means, including through computers. For that software will be required. We will ourselves develope software for that. So, the business and software development and the business of educational instituitions will go together. You can contact me on knowledge_software@rediffmail.com
by Amitabh Chakraborty on Feb 15, 2007 10:27 PM Permalink
My Dear Entrepreneur, I am quite impressed by your story and I do not know why I finaly decided to put my dream into paper. I am a UK based free-lance Consultant in IT. I takeup projects at Middle level management level (Enterprise Architects etc)and execute them , have been doing this for the last 3 years. I was a permy till 2004 and used to work for Merrill Lynch in the square mile in London and was made redundant in 2002 and then joined Vodafone and made redundant in 2004. I thought I had to take charge of my destinity and started to work for myself as a free lancer and with some luck now I make more than 4 times I did after taxes. This experince triggered a long heald dream in my which I used to think about in my early days in London. I used to think of building a brand that was bigger than Microsoft. I used to think of a concept where Indian IT does not exist because of the West but the West gets enriched by Indian IT. No BPO stuff but a real revolutionary concept or product. After my recent experiences I am confident that one day I will sow the seeds of that idea in my country although having said that I do shudder with the lack of knowledge of Indian bureaucracy and legislations. I left India in 2000 and then I had only been in IT for 4 years and Knew nothing outside my realm. Also worth mentioning that I do not have a technical degree I am a simple BCom 2nd Class and that too correspondence as I was working after 2nd year. I donno weather I am ready to team up but reading what u have written made me blurt out my dream. u can contact me at ch_amitabh@yahoo.co.uk
by srinivas reddy on Feb 19, 2007 11:06 AM Permalink
Hi, I am Sreenivas Reddy from Hyderabad. I want to start a small hotel. How much investment would be required. Do I need to have work experience in any hotel? Please guide me. csr_69@rediffmail.com
by Sumit Rawat on Feb 18, 2007 11:50 PM Permalink
hi, i'm an IT Sales professional working for a MNC into business development.
i would like to join your startup company and confident to make it a big success. pls. drop in some more details at sumit.rawat@rediffmail.com
by Ravikiran Andukuri on Feb 14, 2007 05:43 PM Permalink
Could you please provide more information abt what the business is all about.
by Multiply India on Feb 14, 2007 06:45 PM Permalink
You can reach me at wishlist@rediffmail.com , I have roughly around 7-8 years of e-learning management experience ... Lets see how we can make it happen !
by Knowledge Software on Feb 14, 2007 07:06 PM Permalink
That is good. I have 9 years of experience out of which 8 years is in domain of elearning or similar (e.g. BPI). My email id is knowledge_software@rediffmail.com