Total 59 messages Pages < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>
Currency rate
by Mendi on Mar 23, 2006 12:15 AM  Permalink 

Has anyone mentioned that 109K pounds in UK may be Rs 84 lakhs, but in term of spending power, it is not more than Rs 10 lakhs.

IIM hype
by sudarsahan on Mar 23, 2006 12:04 AM  Permalink 

i dont agree with the article or NDTV opinion poll
they are deserved to get those salaries
if you analyze properly only those with work experiance get top salaries
those who enter into IIM dont get those amounts

IIM salaries ...
by Sachin on Mar 22, 2006 11:51 PM  Permalink 

Its all a big hype. No one actually gets a 85 lakh salary a year. They get a dollar salary which they have to spend in dollars. For eg : average approx rent for an apartment in NJ is say about $1200. Thats Rs 54000 a month. Yeah, anybody ready to pay that in India???? The Top US salaries in IIM are pretty much on par with the top IIM indian salaries of say 15 lac rupees. Its depending on the cost of living. Thats a argument which media reports fail to project and make raise hue and cry about 86 lac rupees !

The average Indian software professional on deputation in US from the big 4 Indian IT firm earns about $60000 per annum which translates into Rs 27 lacs per annum. Now thats food for thought !!!!

Brilliantly written piece...
by Subhash on Mar 22, 2006 11:34 PM  Permalink 

I hope you keep this article on the home page for a few days, if not weeks, at least.

Great Writeup
by Ram Mohan on Mar 22, 2006 09:48 PM  Permalink 

Lovely article. I liked the way you ended it with a chuckle!:)

salary v/s satisfaction
by lokesh on Mar 22, 2006 05:45 PM  Permalink 

I have been resding the last few articles of yours. Its been a great insight into the various dimensions of the IIM/ MBA race. But I feel u have been concentrating more on the dollars, pounds and rupees rather than the opportunity of intellectual enhancement and job satisfaction. I feel that also is an importact aspect of life........not denying the importance of money. I would love to read about stories of satisfaction and/or disapointments, which to me appear interesting.

Thanks its been a jouful reading.

misleading figures???
by Pratibha Nagia on Mar 22, 2006 04:46 PM  Permalink 

Well the figures provided by you in ruppee terms certainly provide a misleading picture to the readers. most certainly, Gaurav Aggarwal (Rs 84 lakh guy)is going to earn it in London so the conversion of his earnings into Indian currency sounds only fascinating but not really practical. it does create the splurge to turn westwards where the cost of living is certainly high as compared to Indian standards and it is this factor which completely eludes your report.

what's made record is the fact that an Indian has been offered so much money from a MNC and not the equivalent figure in terms of Indian currency.

in the same respect I would like to reiterate the faulty and misleading reporting done on your part which depicts only one part of the story .

Hype by the media is a disservice to the nation
by Goutam on Mar 22, 2006 04:30 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Why we do not get to hear about the next big product innovation by an IIM Grad? Why not a story on the turn-around made by an ex-IIM? The list can grow longer. We do not get to see media making stories on such achievments. Given the hype around campus offers that the media has been creating for last few years, the whole of young generation would be led to believe that the salary offered at the campus is the highest achievement that exists on earth! An earnest request to media: Please stop this, you are doing a great disservice to the nation!

RE:Hype by the media is a disservice to the nation
by Ravi on Mar 24, 2006 12:44 PM  Permalink
I agree. The media highlights the high salaries drawn by the young graduates as if this is the only achievement of the IIMs.
There are many other professions that pay similar salaries why don't they report on them also.
One may try to guess the reason and there are several.
The Brand IIM is one. The indirect boost to the mushrooming coaching institutes who cash in on the mania in the younger crowd is another; paying astronomical sums to get into these prestigious institutes a third.
Lastly, they seem to have attracted even potential extortionists as a recent news item reveals.
I think it is time that the media stopped talking about salaries of the IIM graduates in everybody's interest.

Total 59 messages Pages: < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>