Total 35 messages Pages < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3
Hello every one
by kumar on Aug 01, 2006 01:22 AM  Permalink 

From my point of view studying for a foreign degree in India is not worth.It wont help in getting a job abroad or in India as.What the universities want is only money?

More over training in U.K and U.S.A are really structured and they need follow certain guide lines.People who are teaching in a foreign university should have Phd in the subject.

The way of Indian education and getting a job is different from that of foreign countries.In U.K OR U.S.A when a student graduate only their work experience counts not the degrees.

Why people who are going abroad is doing well when they come back is that when they go abroad they also need to follow some guide lines.So the way in which they grasp things is structured.

Among the top 100 MBA universities only 13 are from U.K. The best being Oxford(20).My advice is that before joining any institue thoroughly enquire about it because some colleges are not popular in the country(U.K / U.S.A) itself.Education is also a business!!!

Foreign degrees from India
by labrea on Jul 31, 2006 10:58 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

In the US a degree is merely only to show that one has actually studied in the field they state on their resume. The real clincher lies in your on-the-job capabilities - can you do the job, can you perform? Other than working as lecturers and specialty jobs in some large corporations, at most firms, actual ability is more important than where one gets a degree. Maybe in India, a piece of paper counts more than ability or capability - maybe this mindset needs changing too.

PGDSM MIT from Virginia Tech, USA and SP Jain Institute,India
by Gopa Chakrabarti on Jul 31, 2006 08:36 PM  Permalink 

Hi

I am currently pursuing the PGDSM MIT course from SP Jain and Virginia Tech University. It is a dual degree course.

We get Post Graduation Dipoma in Systems Management - PGDSM from SP Jain Institute of Management and Research and Masters in Information Technology - MIT from Virginia Tech University, USA.

The faculty from Virginia Tech fly down to mumbai to teach their course. Faculty from SP Jain teach the management part. We are the second batch and will be be placed in September first week. The first batch passed out with 100% placements.

The third batch has already joined and the fourth batch admissions will start soon. This is an excellent course for someone who wants to have a blend of management and technology.This course has also been well received by the industry.

Regards
Gopa Chakrabarti

Foreign degrees from India
by PVLN RAO on Jul 31, 2006 07:42 PM  Permalink 

You have not delt with 1.Couse curriculam,Faculty from Home town or abroad,How indian Media permitted to advertise the status of foreign universities without the consent of Govt of India,How the IIMs and well known B-schools amd Universities annonceing tieups without geting permission from Govt of India and finally Why Print media or electronice media not providing the international ratings of the universities to the Indian students and Parents?

Viewpoint of studying for a foreign degree in India
by Khozaim N on Jul 31, 2006 02:04 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I have studied MBA from TASMAC (University of Wales -- Pune.The programme cost around 3000 Pound Sterling which is around 2.5 Lacs + Accomodation Expenses.The programme was an intensive ine of around 1.3 Yrs Duration.THe degree is recognized globally .However the placements offered by the institute are not very attractive.
The course was taught by permanant and visiting faculties(All Indian faculties).

I wold rate the prospects after studying for a foreign degree in India as average.

Regards
Khozaim

RE:Viewpoint of studying for a foreign degree in India
by rajesh on Dec 12, 2006 11:07 AM  Permalink
hello khozaim,

i am a mech engg...wanna pursue MBA from TASMAC pune..i just have on hand experience of 5 months as GET at TATA CHEMS..however i am not expecting much from CAT and wanna pursue MBA.. you grade TASMAC as average..would you please lemmi knw average package u get as i`ll be starting right from scrap.
did u had any experience wid u before joining da pragramme??

awaiting for ur reply sir..

thanks..

rajesh.

Message awaiting moderator review
Total 35 messages Pages: < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3