Total 220 messages Pages    <<  < Newer  | 21   Older >
MBA Suggestion
by salman on Jul 18, 2006 02:26 PM  Permalink 

Dear Sir

Am working in MNC Industries as an Export Asst from the past one year and also corresly studying in MBA in open university. I wanted to some suggest for About career because i will try mostly abroad job

can you give me some suggestion

we awaite your reply

regards

salman

Work experince before doing MBA
by Neeraj Arora on Jul 18, 2006 02:13 PM  Permalink 

Its'an interesting question. Most of the students after graduating have one common goal now a days and that is doing MBA, irrespective of whether he has the right balance of capabilities or not. However one need to delve carefully, understanting that MBA is a professional degree, where one has to learn more about market / industry and environment affecting it. Business school do not teach the practical aspect like, dealing with customer / boss / colleague, etc. If you work a year or two in the industry shall give a platform to co-orelate, while learing theory. This will definately help a person to do justice to MBA program. It must be made mandatory by all MBA college that a student must have three years working exp. before going for MBA program.

Your query re MBA with /without experience
by Ravi K on Jul 18, 2006 02:12 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Hi,

From my experience ,both as an Industry professional (HR) and also as a Professor ( now )in a B-School,I would definitely prefer an MBA student to have at least 2 to 3 years of Corporate Exposure in a medium sized Company.A student with kind of a profile generally turns out to be an ideal blend of exuberance and maturity.An MBA after working for a few years is also helpful ,as the student would have sharpened his analytical skills and people management skills...and would be able to combine theory with practice quite easily.

Most Companies also prefer MBAs with some prior work experience as it eanbles them to drastically reduce induction downtime and get the maximum value out of such resources very fast.

Hope I have answered your query to your satisfaction .

Regards,

K.Ravi

RE:Your query re MBA with /without experience
by Ankur on Jul 21, 2006 10:21 AM  Permalink
HI Nitin, You had mentioned in your reply that if one has 3yrs or more work-ex. then one can go in for a 1year MBA.

Can you please list the reputed institutes in india, which offer 1 yr MBA for experienced professionals?

Work ex is better for an MBA
by Nitin on Jul 18, 2006 01:33 PM  Permalink 

Absolutely yes.Though you might not get deep insights into (HR,mktng,finc etc)of the company, you tend to get an overview of the functionality. If you are very sure about doing MBA then try working in a medium size company where you get ample opportunities to interact with peers/mngmt/admin which gives a fair idea about what you want to specialize in. A bigger company will give you the Brand name on your resume but exposure is not certain.You need to sell yourself to the interview panel in either of the scenarios. More the stuff, better the prospects.

Since you are a commerce graduate then its more likely that you will specialize in finance.If so then try to get into a good B school after graduation.If you are not sure about specialization then you better work for a year at least to feel the corporate world. You might find finance not all that interesting and might want to specialize in mktng/HR. It all depends what your intentions are.

Indian B schools are not giving much importance to work ex unlike foreign B schools.

With 3+ work ex you can do 1yr MBA from ISB,XLRI and few more B schools or an MBA abroad.

Work ex for an MBA !
by Sunil Chauhan on Jul 18, 2006 01:17 PM  Permalink 

Dear all,

This was the same question that comes into my mind when i was onto completion my B.E.

What i heard is that in other countries trend of work ex before MBA is popular & helpful too & it is gaining in India too.

Now i have got atleast 2.5 yrs of work ex & i am doing PGDBA ( distance learning)as well.

I think practical experience( before going for MBA )is far much more better,useful & easier before theoritical knowledge It is more useful/helpful for MBA students if experience is in Management/excecutive field.

I too planning to go for MBA next year.

Thanks,

Sunil.

Answer whether MBA or work experience first
by Sanat Modi on Jul 18, 2006 01:05 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I have done MBA from USA. I would say that you should go for the work experience first. But it is very important to find your niche. You must decide which field you would like enter after MBA and which specialization you want to go for. It would help you to expand your horizon and get quick promotion after MBA and your work experience before MBA would help you to do that.

One and the most important thing is to understand what is MBA. Our old people has lots of witty things in their mind and put them in a systematic format is MBA. In MBA, you would count on your work experience to do projects and score in the exam. I would the experience of only two years would help you to enter MBA and score good in MBA

RE:Answer whether MBA or work experience first
by Aparna.R.Hombali on Jul 21, 2006 05:44 PM  Permalink
Hello,
First I am happy to know that you are also a student of Symbiosis Centre for distance Learning.
I am an Bcom Graduate from Bangalore. I am working as an Accountant in a company in Bangalore by name LIVE MARKET WATCH SOLUTIONS and I am also doing my corresponding course of PGDHRM (Post Graduate Diplomo in Human Resouce Management) offered by the Symbiosis Centre, Pune. Really as you have stated this centre is one of the best centre trying its best to provide education to the people.I feel very nice to study and work simultaneously and this course has really helped me out to gain a lot of knowledge in general.As you have said the course materials provided by this centre are flexible.

I wish u all the best for your future as well as for your exams.

Work-Ex preferred for an MBA.
by Varsha Mohan on Jul 18, 2006 12:52 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Hi,I have done my commerce from Hyderabad.Soon after my graduation, i joined as an executive in an well know organization and still continuing.

I'm considering PGDBA(Post Graduate Diploma in Business Administration)offered by the Symbiosis Centre for Distance Learning.I find the programme offerred by SCDL extremely good and flexible, especially while you are working alongside. The course material is extremely helpful and easy to understand and one does not need any external assistance.

If You ask me about the reputation then i say yes,As far as the market value of this course is concerned, Symbiosis his a very reputed name in the education industry.But among all the distance-learning courses I am aware of, Symbiosis definitely offers one of the best.

My idea behind is having an experience and studying which is useful for doing SAP or even ICWA..further as a commerce student.

Finally,i say there's no harm in doing your MBA soon after your college or get some work experience.But in case continuing then try to score a good rank(ICET/MAT),Campus selections.

All The Best!

RE:Work-Ex preferred for an MBA.
by prashant patil on Jul 21, 2006 08:40 AM  Permalink
Yes friend I want to know more about Symbosis, because, I am planning to to distance education learning that too interetsted in operations MBA.

If you have information you can guide me.

Thanks and best regards,

Prashant

Work experience and MBA
by Nagaraj Shenoy on Jul 18, 2006 12:44 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Being a person in teaching field for about a decade, and in that first 5 years for Engineering students and other 5 for MBA students,I am of the opinion that if one acquires at least one year of hardcore organisational experience, understand the interactions, interrelations, differences in people, constraints of management, organisational politics etc, in the workplace before taking up a course of MBA, he or she will benefit more and enjoy the course throughout. His/her effectiveness will enhance and the student may prove to be an asset to the organisation. Otherwise, one feels again, in the PG level, the boring sessions being stretched endlessly.
---
NAGARAJ SHENOY
Asst. Professor, MBA Dept.
JSS Academy of Technical Education
Bangalore - 560 060

RE:Work experience and MBA
by vishal handa on Jul 21, 2006 02:55 PM  Permalink
I have a question ; with prior work experience , should one opt for the regular or distant learning MBA? kindly email me your views at vishal_vkh@yahoo.co.in.
thanking you regards
Vishal Handa

Hi there!
by Gaurab Sengupta on Jul 18, 2006 12:42 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Hello! I am a second year PGDBM student at the Xavier Institute of Management, Bhubaneswar. Before joining this course I did a B.Sc. in Chemical Technology and have no work experience whatsoever. I think this decision depends to a very large extent on one's own circumstances and preferences. Having said that, I can assure you that while having a few years of work-ex will definitely be a plus, not having it is not neccesarily a "minus". This is because the alternate point of view is that without work-ex, your very first job is at a managerial level while if you spend time gaining work-ex before your MBA you lose out on those years. On the other hand, the starting salaries for MBA grads with work-ex may be more than those of those without work-ex. I guess the bottomline is you must decide which is better for you and take a call. There is definitely no "right" or "wrong" course of action!

RE:Hi there!
by Rohit Sharma on Jul 20, 2006 06:40 PM  Permalink
hi...yes yor r right to certain extent in ur saying about work ex,because i too have a brother in dubai he was a fresher and then now he is doin good in his company,,as you have completed ur pgp from iim c and as you might be working in some indian company(expecting it to be so) so wat do you think that how better are mba students from institutes like alliance are placed in say the company in which your are working....i know their position abroad buti would like to gather info from india
regards
rohit

Not necessary
by waghe on Jul 18, 2006 12:34 PM  Permalink 

I have done my MBA from IIMC. And our batch had equal proportion of freshers and work-ex. It always helps to have work-ex. But it is not good enough reason for not appearing for MBA exams. If one is getting admission to very good MBA college, then s/he may leave work to join MBA. It has been observed in Indian B-schools , that if one has too much work-ex, s/he may find it difficult to find job. Of course ISB is an exception, but that exception or american B-school examples do not prove the rule.

Total 220 messages Pages:    <<  < Newer  | 21   Older >