Total 2404 messages Pages    <<  < Newer  | 136 | 137 | 138 | 139 | 140   Older >   >>
MS in Networks
by AHMED SAHBAZ ANWER on Aug 07, 2006 03:45 PM  Permalink 

Hi, I'm Ahmed Sahbaz Anwer, completed Post Graduation in MSc., Computerscience with Distinctions in Year 2002 from Kakatiya University and thereafter I'm working as system administrator. I would like to persue MS in Networks from US University. So please guide me how can i approach to get I20 and best university so that i get scholarship to study further. What are the possible steps needed to attend the US Consulate to succeed.

Thanking you in Advance for kind suggestion.

Computer hardware studies
by Dushyant on Aug 07, 2006 03:36 PM  Permalink 

Hi,

I am BA(Eco) graduate and have been into computers since I did a 2 sem course from NIIT back in 1997. However I dont think I can add that to my certificates(scores were not impressive).Now I am going to Houston-Texas for higher education. It will be great if you could suggest a good course related to computers/IT (preferably hardware)which has good prospects in India since I do not intend to migrate to the US.Please do let me know which uni.or college in Houston offers the course. One last thing which test or exam do I have to give to apply for the same ?

Thanks a lot in advance. You guys r doin a great Job.

mba query
by tavish on Aug 07, 2006 03:19 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

is it necessary to complete 16 years of education in india before going for pg courses in the us,coz out here in india the system is of 15 years i

RE:mba query
by Rediff Student Panel Expert on Aug 07, 2006 10:32 PM  Permalink
Yes, you need to finish 16 years...

so in case ure finishing up with 12+ 3 yrs for ure bachelors, u need to enroll for a year in an MSc Progam and then apply for a PG course in the US.

or a 4 yr professional course will also do.

-Shiva Arunachalam

RE:mba query
by Rediff Student Panel Expert on Aug 07, 2006 10:32 PM  Permalink
Yes. Some university will accept you with 15yrs, in that case you have to finish some prerequisite and they will cost you alot. ANyway you will not get in good school.

mba curriculum
by rajivthakur4 on Aug 07, 2006 02:49 PM  Permalink 

an mba course at us generally will have

semester or trimesters

how many courses per term/sem -- total credits

how many hour per course classes

how many core and how many electives

academic calendar

sem 1 months from and to

sem 2

sem 3

sem 4

any project work -- duration and credits

i know this will vary school to school but there must be some general practice.

MBA schools
by Anand on Aug 07, 2006 02:34 PM  Permalink 

I have to choose one of the following MBA schools in USA:

1. Southern Methodist University, Dallas
2. University of Florida, Gainsville
3. Pepperdine University, Malibu

Considering the university ranking and job prospects, which of the 3 universities would be my best bet.

fees
by rahul on Aug 07, 2006 02:17 PM  Permalink 

hi

how does one go for arrnging his tuition fees especially for an MBA in US which can easily cost around 50lacs.

LLM in US
by Sujata on Aug 07, 2006 01:58 PM  Permalink 

Hi,

I would like to go for an LLM degree in USA. I have been surfing net and have some information as to how to go for it i.e. taking LSAT, TOFEL etc.

I would like to know more about the funding part, what kind of scholarships are available, what are the chances of getting a job within campus etc.

Sujata

medicine
by Rediff Student Panel Expert on Aug 07, 2006 01:39 PM  Permalink 

Many people want to know about medical studies in US. If you have completed MBBS in India you are eligible to apply for USMLE. There are 3exams. Step1 and Step2Clinical knowledge that can be taken in India. For Step2 CS and Step3 you have to come to the US.

COming to US is one of the biggest hurdles. WHat mos people do is apply for PhD or Masters in a related field of biology or public health and come here on a student (F1) visa. While completing your coursework you can appear for the exams. You also get a degree that will be useful to you for a fellowship. On the side lines you can also get a few american reco letters and US clinical experience. If you get financial aid while you study that will also go a long way. That is one of the best options. IF you are doing a Post graduation you can come here for a poster presentation for a conference. That will give you good contacts and a multiple entry visa to come for exams and interviews.

I dont know much about this route but you can apply to an osteopathic medicine school and then give USMLE.

Many people start liking the research they get into and emerge big guns in fileds like Nanotechnology. Certainly an option to consider.

PhD
by Krishna on Aug 07, 2006 01:36 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Hello Sir,

Is there any University at USA which offer part time PhD research so as to manage work and study ?

Thanks

Krishna

RE:PhD
by Rediff Student Panel Expert on Aug 08, 2006 10:06 PM  Permalink
If you are on F1 visa you cant study part time. And I am sure that good school dont offer part time PhD.

RE:PhD
by prashant rai on Aug 08, 2006 09:18 PM  Permalink
there is nothing like part time PHD in US, it happens only in India.

Total 2404 messages Pages:    <<  < Newer  | 136 | 137 | 138 | 139 | 140   Older >   >>