RE:Spouse
by Aniruddha on Aug 08, 2006 12:34 PM Permalink
You can bring your spouse in an F-2 visa, however, you have to show suficient funds to get an I-20 in your spouse's name from the University. The university will provide you details about minimum financial requirements. Also, you have to pay for spouse health insurance, which would be around double of what you would be paying as a student.
I am an MBBS lady doctor. Can u suggest me the best possible course there related to medicine ( a masters or a phd) that is easy to get into by giving GRE only ( also please suggest the university names you think are best and the course duration and fees).
RE:USstudy
by Rediff Student Panel Expert on Aug 08, 2006 08:27 PM Permalink
You can apply for MS and PhD in biological sciences. In order to get admission in good school you need good GRE score. Duration for MS is 2 yrs and Phd is 3-5yrs. Tuition fee for MS will be somewhere $25000 for two yrs. No tuition fee for PhD students.
RE:USstudy
by Rediff Student Panel Expert on Aug 08, 2006 08:27 PM Permalink
You can apply for MS and PhD in biological sciences. In order to get admission in good school you need good GRE score. Duration for MS is 2 yrs and Phd is 3-5yrs. Tuition fee for MS will be somewhere $25000 for two yrs. No tuition fee for PhD students.
sir, i have completed my masters in computer networks from Symbisis.. during my course i was particularly in interested in the network & information security topics i want to pursue my p.hd research program in this subject .. i would like to know which universities/institutions provide this course.. i would preferably go for a work as well as study program.. to support my living in the u.s.a? please help
RE:want to study in usa?
by Rediff Student Panel Expert on Aug 08, 2006 08:21 PM Permalink
If you are student and holding F1 visa you cant work offcampus. You are allowed to work oncampus for 20hrs. for schools go to www.usnews.com and www.gradschools.com
i wana go to abroad for my bechular programe degree.i want to go independently.i don't wana disturb my parents foe the fees problems.if u can helf me plz mail me back.i m pakistani.i live in its province punjab.(city)>toba tek singh.
i did my intermediate exams with scoring 600/1100 marks.
RE:i wana go to abroad for study
by Rediff Student Panel Expert on Aug 08, 2006 08:20 PM Permalink
If you have enough money in your bank account then you dont need to disturb parents. However, I dont think so this is true.
Hi I just wanted to know that does the 10th std result matter bcoz I've secured a second class in the 10th now I'm going to college so if I secure a first class in the rest of my examinations can I study in U.S please could you reply as fast as possible.
RE:studying in the U.S
by Rediff Student Panel Expert on Aug 08, 2006 08:19 PM Permalink
10th std doesnt matter at all. If you want to come for undergrad then its important. But for postgrad its not required at all.
I have been working as a Software Engineer for the past 2 years in a reputed company. Now I am thinking of pursuing higher education in Computer Engineering mainly emphasising on Computer Networks.
I have taken GRE and TOEFL. I got a score of 1460/1600 in GRE with 3.5 in Analytical writing and 105/120 in TOEFL.
I have 80% in my B.Tech (Electronics and communication Engineering). I am planning to apply for the Spring 2007, but i c that only few top universities are offering Spring admissions, one of them which i am thinkin of apllying is University of Illinois, Urbana. Now the problem is that the University is not offering any scholarships and I donot have sufficient funds to sponsor the education all by myself. So wat do you guys say, Is there any possibility to get Aid in any other good universities based on my GRE score or Academics or Professional Experience ??
i'm a third year engg.student frm comp.sc.& engg,in india(maharashtra).n i wish to pursue my mba from usa,right after my graduation.i will be completing my graduate around august'08.kindly guide me all the details right from the grass root level(including all the preparation and all).
RE:kindly guide me
by Rediff Student Panel Expert on Aug 08, 2006 08:07 PM Permalink
Start preparing for GMAT and give it as soon as possible. Find some good professors who can give you a good letter of recommendations. It will be very expensive so be prepare to have good financial background.
RE:kindly guide me
by Vishnu on Aug 09, 2006 12:51 AM Permalink
Most of the top business schools look for some work experience prior to joining the MBA program. It does help in "usually case based" teaching style adopted by top B schools. I would certainly recommend atleast one year of work experience in your chosen field, before pursuing an MBA program.
To put together a good application for top business schools, you need the following
1. GMAT
2. Your undergrad credentials (GPA/Percentage)
3. Work Experience details
4. Write-up on your future goals. Most schools ask you to write essays on various topics, which are geared to extract your goals and thoughts about future.
You can work on GMAT while you are going through undergrad. Number 4 is important for you, to get most value out of your investment (both time and money) in an MBA program.
Hi, Ive completed my BCom (management + computers)from Jaihind (first class), Mcom (management)from Mumbai University (second class), MCSA (Masters in Computer Software Application) from K.J. Somaiya (first class) and GNIIT (first class). I have full time working experience of 2.5 yrs and 10 months of part time exp. Currently working as a software engineer.
I am interested in pursuing MBA in US or Canada or UK. I heard that the job opportunities in UK are not gr8. So I am little disappointed with that. Can you please suggest some good universities in all the countries which are not very expensive to study? Also what are the GMAT score that I need to look at? I need a place where the job opportunities are good. Thanks.
RE:Help for studying MBA in US
by Vijay on Aug 08, 2006 05:28 AM Permalink
I am really surprised that even after studying in various colleges and various streams, you are looking for a MBA abroad. Today the whole world is looking at India and what we today have - KPO - Knowledge Processing - basically people are coming to study in India - at a lower cost but with good facilities. All universities in abroad are not like what you find in Hindi movies. I would suggest you to go through various universities in india and if at all you do not want to lose your current job, you can always do MBA through correspondence. It will save you a lot - money , energy and etc.
I jus' given my GRE (1460) and have applied to 4 univs (Berkeley, Purdue, Rice & U Southern California). I hav applied for a course Nanotechnology (under mechanical engg dept) in these Univs. I have 3 yrs of work exp in an IT MNC & a 74% during my Mech Engg bachelors.
Will my IT exp. count for admission? What else cud i do to enhance my chances. Do i need to publish a paper or something to enhance my credentials!!
RE:Need help reg. admission norms for MS (nanotechnology)
by Anil on Aug 07, 2006 10:14 PM Permalink
Hi,
I general, the following count in decreasing priority for admission: Your degree score, gre/toefl, research experience, your academic institution. Work experience may count if you could relate it to your studies in your resume and show you have been doing something that adds value for what you want to do. Normally, for MS, your degree scores have higherst priority. GRE/TOEFL are mainly seen as a minimal requirement. But you have good scores, they will have a positive effect. If you have prior research experience or a publication it's a very good credential. But not absolutely necessary & not a good idea to try getting one now. Only a few institutes from India are well known in US, so unless you are from IIT or any other top university, don't worry on this part, all are equal.
Admissions are very difficult to predict unless you have very good credentials. If there are people with industrial background, they might appreciate your work. But instead of taking chances, if you could show that your industrial experience has somehow increased your value or that it is an advantage for research, it can boost your chances.
RE:Need help reg. admission norms for MS (nanotechnology)
by Rediff Student Panel Expert on Aug 07, 2006 10:33 PM Permalink
Papers will make your application very strong.
I completed my B.Tech in Electrical & Electronics Engineering in 2004 with an aggregate of 75% and presently working with Siemens as a System Engineer In LV Switchgear Design working for an American Client. I have nearly 2 years of experience in this field. I had plan to go for my further studies and have given my GRE & TOEFL last October and has obtained scores of 1100 and 230 respectively. Also I have above 75% in my Diploma and 83% in my tenth standard. My job profile is purely Electrical and A bit Electronics and I am interested in pursuing courses like VLSI or Computers or Electronics in USA.I plan to apply for March/Aug 2007 Intake due to my present commitment in the company. Tell me is it ok or not.
Can any body help tot tell whether I can admission in any university with the above profile and also please let me know if my work experience will be considered in getting a seat and any kind of assistantship or it will not be usefull
RE:Electrical Engineer
by Aravind on Aug 07, 2006 08:03 PM Permalink
thats an excellent idea. i hope you will be sponsered by the same american company which you r working now, if you can stay with them for another new project. and its not a bad idea to furthur proceed with your own plans rather than waiting for someone to sponser you. gopiadusumelli@yahoo.com is my friend\'s mail id .he can help you better with this. good luck.
Your experience in Switch gear and control systems will definitely count towards some sort of funding from professors. Start working on your application packet and do contact professors whose research areas match your interests.
All the Best.!!!
Vivek Venugopal, PhD in ECE, Virginia Tech (in the US since five years)