I intend to apply for PhD at some good universites in USA for the Fall 2007 entry. My field is Microbiology. I have completed MSc in 2005 from Bangalore University with 68% marks. I have visited the respective university websites and seen that they require a GPA score. How could i convert my scores to GPA?
During my MSc i had done a project on Medical Microbiology, and have actively participated in 4 seminars (paper presentations) in my college. will these help in getting admission. but to tell you frankly, I donot have any real time research experience. how will this affect my application status.plz comment.
RE:information requested
by Rediff Student Panel Expert on Aug 10, 2006 08:36 PM Permalink
It is not possible to convert your percentage score into GPA, as they are not linearly related. For example, a percentage of 75 cannot be said to be equivalent to 3 out of 4. Therefore, wherever you are asked to state your GPA, you should only enter your percentage score, adding the percentage sign (%) of the number (Put an asterisk (*) near the number and highlight it at the bottom of the application that *GPA system is not followed in our university. (A rough equivalence of the percentage score multiplied by the GPA can be got as 4x x/85. For example, if your percentage score is 75, it is roughly equivalent to 4 x 75/85 =3000/85 = 3.53).
Yes, paper presentation will help. But more important are your GRE and TOEFL scores. In addition you need good letter of recommendation and statement of purpose.
by Rediff Student Panel Expert on Aug 10, 2006 08:37 PM Permalink
It is not possible to convert your percentage score into GPA, as they are not linearly related. For example, a percentage of 75 cannot be said to be equivalent to 3 out of 4. Therefore, wherever you are asked to state your GPA, you should only enter your percentage score, adding the percentage sign (%) of the number (Put an asterisk (*) near the number and highlight it at the bottom of the application that *GPA system is not followed in our university. (A rough equivalence of the percentage score multiplied by the GPA can be got as 4x x/85. For example, if your percentage score is 75, it is roughly equivalent to 4 x 75/85 =3000/85 = 3.53).
Yes, paper presentation will help. But more important are your GRE and TOEFL scores. In addition you need good letter of recommendation and statement of purpose.
by Bhabesh Dutta on Aug 11, 2006 12:38 PM Permalink
Hello Mr.C.Das,
I am very happy happy that u have chosen correct place for your higher studies specially like yours.
Infact ,for calculating GPA you add all your grade points followed by division with total credit hours.
Yes, paper presentaions may add extra punch to your C.V.But dear what matters much is your GRE scores specially verbal and analytical writing grade(specially for Phd).
I have got admission in Washington State University Plant Pathology(Ph.d)just waiting for my F-1 visa from the university.
I think I can help you as my one of subjects of specialisation is Microbilogy.
Best Wishes for future search for Graduate Position.
hello hi i am Rakesh Kumar from india . i have finished my 10+2 in year 2001 and after that i have done one and half year diploma in computer hardware. and now i am looking for doing BCA from USA. plz tell me can i go for it. also tell me the formality that we have to perform.please send me all information by mail. i am wating for the mail.
this is arshia,I have completed my engg in industrial production.Now i would like to do MS in automobile design in US.I have short listed some of universities in michigan,chicago,california,colarado,and cincinnati.Could you please tell me,which universities are good for my field..
Hi, I will get my H1B visa in october month. My wife will come with me on H4 visa. She is holding the MBA-Finance Degree. This degree is valid to work in the USA. Or she need to do any other course there. Please guide me in the course detail or please provide me in which area she will get the job on MBA-Finance degree.
RE:Want to know about H4 Visa
by Aniruddha on Aug 10, 2006 09:54 PM Permalink
Your wife can't work on an H-4 visa. However, H-4 visa allows part time study. Her visa needs to be changed to a work related visa.
by Rediff Student Panel Expert on Aug 10, 2006 08:31 PM Permalink
You have to find some company who can sponser her H-1B. She by herself is not going to get a job.
by rajendra on Aug 11, 2006 12:03 AM Permalink
i am sure MBA degree should b quite suffecient to work here in US.but i guess u know that she cannot work on h4 visa ,unless she converts h4 to h1 she is not legal to work here, as per my knowledge.
she can work in software thats for quite sure.
rajendra
Hi, I will get my H1B visa in october month. My wife will come with me on H4 visa. She is holding the MBA-Finance Degree. This degree is valid to work in the USA. Or she need to do any other course there. Please guide me in the course detail or please provide me in which area she will get the job on MBA-Finance degree.
My close friend has gone to Australia for post graduation studies last year. He is the only son of his parents. His father is retiered person living on intrests & mother is a housewife.
His parents have already taken loan to send him to Aussie with an assumption that he will get a suitable part time job. Unfortunately it did not happen so & their burden increased.
However, now he need to pay fees for his second term & if his parents takes more loan then after paying additional EMI, they are hardly left with anything to eat!!
I herad that there are institutions who sponsor students or provide some sort of scholarships but do not know any details.
In view of above, you are requested to guide us where to contact for such aid: what are the eligibilty; how to approach, etc.
i am presently sudying MSc International business from Dublin and intrested in studying MBA from USA or any course in FINANCE which has some market value and gives me an edge ,
i dont know what are the entry requirements for studying in USA and would i be able to switch from dublin to usa after the completion of my course or i have to file papers from india only.
again my querries are....
# which course would be suitable for me .I would be completing MSC (IB)by late next year.
#how i should go for it and from where to file papers from .
#If GMAT is the requirement than how to prepare .
please throw some light on these querries and guide me ...