Total 160 messages Pages < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>
Lalit Modi
by D Sengupta on Nov 16, 2007 09:34 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Isn't he the man who is banned from entering the US because he has been indicted for some kind of financial fraud?

Deba Sengupta

RE:Lalit Modi
by Cricket s on Nov 16, 2007 09:57 PM  Permalink
dont throw unproven facts. Instead go and investigate why Ganguly is playing too slowly.

RE:RE:Lalit Modi
by D Sengupta on Nov 16, 2007 10:09 PM  Permalink
What has this got to do with Ganguly?

RE:RE:RE:Lalit Modi
by uncle shame on Nov 17, 2007 01:04 AM  Permalink
similarly lalit modi has nothing to do with entering US.

RE:Lalit Modi
by Rogar Dat on Nov 17, 2007 04:51 PM  Permalink
r u sure ??? :)

check the facts before usin the key board

Greg Chappell is a fraud
by Surag Singh on Nov 16, 2007 09:28 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Greg Chappell is a fraud. He ridicules India yet accepts our money. What a laugh. Lalit Modi has no self respect.

RE:Greg Chappell is a fraud
by Cricket s on Nov 16, 2007 09:57 PM  Permalink
u got anything to prove that he is a fraud. How many times u have seen a cricket bat or ball?

by Ashish Kumar on Nov 16, 2007 10:32 PM  Permalink
He is not fraud in correct sense of the word. He is a brilliant individual with very sound knowledege of cricket. Only such a persons could have demolished a side with such 'safai' that only a few could understand what was happening. He was a trojan horse.

by Rogar Dat on Nov 17, 2007 04:52 PM  Permalink
ahem ... r u indicatin towards the "underarm" episode

incredible consistency from parthiv patel!
by uncle shame on Nov 16, 2007 09:16 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

what a performance again. scored 158 in the ranji after the irani trophy 162 and 59*. scored more than 1100 runs in 2007 and against all the good quality opponents like SA -A and on all grounds. the most consistent batsman in india. he definitely needs a look specially as batsman atleast.
v need a batsman like him in Ausi to perform consistently. in india u will find many so-called heros. Our so-called good batsman having backing on flat-bed indian pitches will show their true colour in ausi.
But especially in Ausi conditions, v definitely need to look at parthiv. and parthiv has earlier performed in Ausi as well.
plz ckt fans judge his performance objectively without any prejudices at him for his keeping. (even that has been improved a lot). but just judge him simply as batsman.
in the era of dhoni when nobody thought beyond dhoni, but once given the chance, even dinesh karthik showed his talent. similarly let the hidden talent to be taken out of him to prosper. that is healthy for competition.

RE:incredible consistency from parthiv patel!
by Ashish Kumar on Nov 16, 2007 09:43 PM  Permalink
I agree. Parthiv does deserve an opportunity. He is a gutsy players. He shd b tried as opener against Pak

by ganesh nanwar on Nov 17, 2007 02:50 AM  Permalink
this stuoid parthiv can only draw a match for india, he cannot win not even once in his life time,, dhoni and dinesh around him he is not going to get a chance better he look for another game and try his luck there or leave the game of cricket for the betterment of indian cricket and indian fans.

by Ashish Kumar on Nov 17, 2007 09:42 PM  Permalink
You have forgotten Parthiv's contribution against Steve Waugh's Aussies when he played an important role in India's victory. Selctive memory yet again.

by uncle shame on Nov 18, 2007 12:34 AM  Permalink
CRICINFO EXCERPT:
His ability with the bat... scored an aggressive 62 at Sydney in 2003-04, and then faced up to Shoaib Akhtar and Mohammad Sami with plenty of poise, scoring 69 as an opener...

Patel's form took a turn for the better in 2007, on a twin tour of Zimbabwe and Harare for India A, where he hit three hundreds and a half-century. In the first match of a series against South Africa A at home Patel opened up with a fourth century on the trot...
Parthiv has been even more prolific than Badrinath this season, and with 179 and an unbeaten 59 (Irani trophy), he has served notice that even he can play as a specialist batsman

by babu rengaraj on Nov 17, 2007 09:08 AM  Permalink
don't say like this, we do need some people who
can bat for a day in test matches
even tendulkar don't have that much patience
only dravid in our team has that

RE:RE:incredible consistency from parthiv patel!
by uncle shame on Nov 17, 2007 03:32 PM  Permalink
yes. dravid is the first choice in tests even before the captain.

by uncle shame on Nov 17, 2007 03:30 PM  Permalink
how can u say that he can only draw a match for india. one who knows his recent performances, will not say such things. atleast by saying that he can draw a match for india, u appreciate his ability in test matches, which require playing long innings unlike t20 and odi. test is like playing 22 - t20s in a match.

The REAL STORY IN BRIEF
by VB Dhar on Nov 16, 2007 07:29 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

This is what has happened:
1.Under Saurav Ganguly, India was an intimdating team, which beat Pakistan, Australia etc.
2. So the australians planted a trojan horse in Greg Chapell.
3. Greg's a genuine expert at cricket, who dimantled the team slowly and surely.
4. First he eliminated ganguly and then realizing that Dravid is a softie, he took charge and destroyed the team.
5. All the bowlers forgot how to ball and the team fell into disrepute.
6. Greg refusted Venkatsh's prasad's help (read excellent bowling coach). beacausehe knew that venky would understand his ploy.
7. He confused a meritorious person(read the most hardworking,committed of all the big 3) like Dravid.
8. Finally the world no. 2 team could not qualify. Thanks to Greg.

To all the Dravid fans: I am one of dravids fans but at the same time i am a fan of ganguly and most of all A team india's fan.
Dravid made the classic mistake which the indian kings made by joining hands with the british. Finally greg took over like the british, humiliated ganguly, sachin and finally a great person like dravid stands humiliated.

Moral: No matter what ur personal differences are, never let an outsider take advantage of that.

I hope all Dravid, ganguly and above all Indian fans read that.

RE:The REAL STORY IN BRIEF
by Cricket s on Nov 16, 2007 09:59 PM  Permalink
what is missing in your story is that india was going down under Ganguly from 2004. Do you know that John Wright wanted Ganguly to be out of the team?

by Ashish Kumar on Nov 16, 2007 10:09 PM  Permalink
You are right. Perhaps you will also remeber that during that perios Sachin who has always been one of the main stays of Indian batting, was injured and for some strange reason he was kept in the side with full knowledge that he will not be playing (remeber England tour where despite his superlative performance in county matches Dinesh Mongia was not played) As a result India played with a depleted side for a long time. You have not answered the questions raised b me. Do I presume that you siently agree with me?

RE:RE:The REAL STORY IN BRIEF
by Ashish Kumar on Nov 16, 2007 10:14 PM  Permalink
Let me clarify that I am not writing in defence of Ganguly. Like all mortals Ganguly too has had his ups and downs. But what pains me most is that some foreigner had managed to elicit support of Indians to demolish Indian team. Why are we so gullible? How many time shall we repeat the story of Mirzaffer and Jaichand?

by Rogar Dat on Nov 17, 2007 04:54 PM  Permalink
ah ... did he call u up ?? :O

by Ashish Kumar on Nov 17, 2007 12:43 PM  Permalink
You are right. A coach per se can not be powerful but Chappel presented himself as a coach with vision of taking Indian cricket to different level. Such %u2018visionary%u2019 from the land of gods of cricket (Australia) would take any one off his feet. Dalmiya and Ganguly could be no exceptions. I have no problems with expulsion of Ganguly and introduction of young blood. These could have been with good intentions. What puzzles me most is the phenomenal fall and rise of Indian bowlers during the Chappel era and Venkatesh era, respectively, coupled with the fact that Chappel declined a bowling coach. Other factors that I have listed emerge as important pointers in this background. We Indian s have an inherent vulnerability to malevolent foreign influence due to deeply imbedded regionalism in our psyche caused by historical factors. Time and again foreigners have exploited this weakness. May I recall that John Wright also did not prepare Indians adequately for playing on grassy wickets in New Zealand before WC 2003? With the recent rise of team India like phoenix, I feel there is a need for cool thinking and re-evaluation of foreign coaches in general and Chappel in particular. If you find any flaw in my reasoning, pl do point out for I want to be corrected if I am wrong.

by uncle shame on Nov 17, 2007 03:41 PM  Permalink
agreed. chappel was the culprit to convert our performers into non-performers. bolers lost their pace. he not only reduced our talen like irfan to mediocrity, actually he did not allow wasim akram when he wanted to advise irfan on his boling weakness. he came here with sole intention of clearing ausi's road to wc victory in odi.

by Suman Bhat on Nov 16, 2007 07:45 PM  Permalink
gnaguly and john build team also and watched how it curmbled.
greg chappell may be bad for the ind cricket but he showed the mirror to the dark side of ind team dressing room politics. He tried to bring professionalism and treated all players equal and alike, also pushed players from the comfort zone it was big mistake he had guts to speak against dirty politics of superstars and even nobody from ind media / bcci dare not speak
for that he got kicked out of team b[cuz whole country knew coach did not perform in the crickdet field WC 2007 debacle was failure performance of XI players
dravid was blamed bcz he got the captiacy and ganguly was out of team.
if dalmiay was not bcci pred ganguly would never deserved a XII man in team but continued as non performing captain.
when chappell took as coach team ind was ranked 8th and when he had shown the door team was ranked in 6th icc ranking odi ranking.
I am not greg chappel's fan either but fact is fact.
IF dravid as captain could got support of all players things would have been different He would not have faced so much humiliation

by Ashish Kumar on Nov 16, 2007 09:38 PM  Permalink
Greg Chappel was a trojan horse (I hope u know what it means, if not read, the story of seige of Troy in Greek mythology), planted by Aussies to ensure their winning of WC for a third time. If u can not see through the game plan, I can only pity your intellect. Look at the following evidence:
1.He sowed the seeds of division by stoking ambition of captaincy in Dravid;
2. He maligned the captain who had built a winning India side out of a side demoralised by betting scandal, thereby weakening the binding force in the team;
3.He appears to have meddled with the bowling (action, steps etc) of bowlers like Zahir, Irfan, Munaf, R.P etc. as all of them lost their pace as a result of his coaching. At the same time Bhajji lost his sting and became docile. Within of months Chappel's demise (as Indian coach) all the above mentioned bowlers have revived, have gained pace and/or venom;
4. The doubts expressed above are accentuated by the fact that Chappel refused BCCI's offer of providing a bowling coach even though qualified and veterans like Venkatesh Prasad were available;
5. After Chappel's departure team India again revived and even won the T20 WC.
U may argue that under Chappel the team had won a series of matches initially but remember demolishing a strong structure does take some time espeially when u hv to work stealthily without overtly expressing your intention. U too are an India national and I am sure u too take pride in India's success. How do u respond to above?

RE:RE:The REAL STORY IN BRIEF
by Suman Bhat on Nov 17, 2007 11:02 AM  Permalink
chappell did not realise that ind cricket is hyjacked by power maony politics and groupism. he treated all players are alike and equal and tried to push players from comfort zone and got kikced out of team

by vox populi on Nov 17, 2007 11:43 AM  Permalink
ashish--before you continue with your fables please realsie that ganguly/dalmiya combine brought in Chappel--do u ean to say that he was so powerful that he could get rid of players,appoint a captain etc--are you not giving him too much credit?
How can any coach in the world give a guarantee of performance of his wards--it is left to the individuals to perform and with so many self centered,selfish players what do you expect?

by VB Dhar on Nov 16, 2007 08:41 PM  Permalink
suman .... ganguly is the same person who has shown incisive captainship and led the team ot innumerable victories. And when u are speaking of facts ... acknowledge this fact to ... ganguly on record has the high success rate as a captain ... even better than azaruddin ... not to mention that he is the first one to defeat pakistan in pakistan.
Also other than Sachin Tendulkar .. Saurav ganguly is the only player in the history ofindian cricket to have scored 10000 runs ... this is another fact
The man has his problems but give him his just due for his service to the country.

by rangaswamy on Nov 16, 2007 09:33 PM  Permalink
IT IS TRUE THAT GANGULY SHOULD NOT HAVE BEEN SHUNTED OUT OF THE TEAM. HE WAS AND WILL BE THE BEST CAPTAIN OF INDIA AND HIS COMMITMENT TO THE GAME IS UNQUESTIONABLE. EVEN AFTER HE WAS SHUNTED OUT HE BOUNCED BACK LIKE AMARNATH AND PROVED HIS WORTH. BAD PATCHES FOR ANY PLAYER ARE COMMON AND THEY CAN BE RESTED AND SHOULD NOT BE SHUNTED OUT AND THEIR MORALE SHOULD BE BOOSTED IN CASE U NEED HIS SERVICES. SELECTORS LIKE MONGIA SHOULD BE SHOWN THEIR WAY OUT WHO CATEGORICALLY STATED THAT GANGULY DOES NOT HAVE A PLACE IN THE SQUAD WHICH GANGULY PROVED WRONG.

HE IS A MASTER PLAYER WHOSE CLASSIC PLAY SHOULD BE PRAISED, WHICH IS WORTH WATCHING FOR A CRICKET LOVER.

by Suman Bhat on Nov 17, 2007 11:00 AM  Permalink
ganguly was non performing captian later 2 yrs of his captiancy but survived b'cuz of dalmiay he had higest winning % in tests but ind odis it is against dravid's name. pakistan ind won test under dravid ganguly was not part of playing XI and even III test it was dravid's innigs. ganguly success b'cuz of perfromance of dravid sachin veeru kumble and vvs not his captiacy qualites liek taking out shirt
ganguly is media hyped captain ind media / cric expert never spakes gnaguly dadagiri
even dravid batting at no 1 to 7 scored 10 k runs
ganguly had advantage of leading team for 5 and half whereas other captains never got chance
when greg chappell talked about young team ppl criticised him same ppl are praising dhoni's young team when team won T20 WC
ganguly was out team bucaz icc put ban, his poor form and pathatic batting
dravid was blamed b'cuz he accepted captaincy.even dravid as captian won many odis and tests without gnaguly and tendulkar also dravid's tenure as a captain is not half of time what gnaguly got the chance to lead
dravid gave 100 % for team cause when he played under sachin azar and ganguly but same support he did not get from the players like ganguly and sachin bajji zahir when he was leading He trusted the players but betrayed by his teamates otherwise WC07 wouldhave been diff
Even now if kuble gets support all othe r10 players he will be successful

Sachin Tendulakar's innings of 97 ...watch clip here
by Prag on Nov 16, 2007 01:14 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Exclusive clips of India vs Pakistan, 4th ODI at Gwalior
check here highlights...time to time update for this series...copy this url
yep.it/50hcap

RE:Sachin Tendulakar's innings of 97 ...watch clip here
by nirav trivedi on Nov 16, 2007 01:30 PM  Permalink
Mumbai no rupakdo navyuvan chhe tu,
Desh na yuva cricketer mate prenana murti saman che tu;

Yuvani nu khamir jena haiya ma chhe tevo cricket no samrat chhe tu,
tara bhai ni kurbani nu fal che tu;

Tari mata no ladlo evo 10dulkar che tu,
Aa cricket ni jan chhe tu;

Bharat desh ni aan, baan ane shan chhe tu,
Test hoy k one day, sadio no sahenshah chhe tu;

Rano na khadakla karya chhe te chhata pan vinamrata ni murti saman che tu,
Tu run kare k na kare hamesh no taro chahak chhu hu;

Premadhin thai gusse thava chhata mara mate pujya chhe tu,
Karan k mare man 1 bhagvan chhe tu,mara hraday ni dhadkan chhe tu;

Sachin is great ej maro jivan mantra chhe,
Rano nu ek matra unstoppable yantra chhe tu;

Jadu tara bat no jo chali jay to bharat parajay thi chhe chhetu,
100 crores ni vasti no ek matra hero chhe tu;

Sachin, aa kavita ek amulya bhet chhe tane,
Tara shot to jane jet plane chhe.

Sau videshio kahe chhe k ek gentleman cricketer chhe tu,
pan aa 'NIRAV' kahe chhe sau no manito indian superman chhe tu.

Nirav Trivedi
Give your feedbacks to yash_7599@rediffmail.com
Surat.
Gujarat.
India

The ''Guru''
by bugs forever on Nov 16, 2007 11:34 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Rediff should STOP using the word "Guru" when it describes Greg Chappell. C'mon guys, don't undermine that word. It is a word reserved for the ultimate, not for riffraff! Don't trivialise such an important role in people's lives by calling people like Greg "Guru". What the hell is a guru for? Underarm bowling and crying, perhaps! Sachin ALONE has more runs that ALL the 3 Chappell brothers put together and yet two of them (Ian & Greg) keep talking ill about our Little Master. Thank God at least one of them (Trevor) has been shamed into silence after his famous underarm delivery! Imagine if there were three of them talking. And can Rediff also take the initiative of printing all this mail and forwarding to the two Chappell Brothers please!

RE:The ''Guru''
by Enness on Nov 16, 2007 04:07 PM  Permalink
Greg has again started abusing against Sourav recently! He has come here with ill-motives that he did when he was coach. He wants to split the Indian team! He seems to be acting as emissary of Australia Cricket Board. Not understood as to why goats like Lalit Modi flatter him!

by Saravanan P on Nov 16, 2007 05:09 PM  Permalink
Absolutely right! It is better exclude him from Indian cricket at any form. India is doing a good job without seperate coach. Will the Aussie's accept an Indian coach?

RE:RE:The ''Guru''
by kraken on Nov 16, 2007 06:52 PM  Permalink
SERIOUSLY...HAVE U LISTENED TO URSELF LATELY...BETTER CONSULT A PSYCHIATRIST U LOONEY!!!

by bharath sagar on Nov 16, 2007 02:39 PM  Permalink
well said!

Losers both!
by bugs forever on Nov 16, 2007 11:27 AM  Permalink 

Lalit Modi is a total loser; that's why he has gone and picked the biggest loser of them all, Greg Chappell, who's now trying to accuse us of racism! Why the hell is he here then? Rajasthan cricket's destruction is now a foregone conclusion! Losers both!

Chappell
by Nemediyah on Nov 16, 2007 11:19 AM  Permalink 

What a sorry state of a human being! BCCI picked a very petty good for nothing, loud mouth person as coach. Hopefull Rajasthan learns from his recent stupid comments.

Total 160 messages Pages: < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>