Omission of Manpreetsingh GONY, Abisekh Nayar and Yomahesh is not at all acceptable. They have done marveslously than PraveenKumarand Robin Utthappa. Always performance must be the criteria for selction.
Now Ganguly & Dravid should announce retirement. They should understand that they will never be taken back in ODI team. As time moves on, new faces will be given chance.
RE:New ODI team
by Reporter on May 30, 2008 05:09 PM Permalink
Dear All,
Don't keep Sachin in the same class of Ganguly & Dravid. Sachin's talent level is much higher than that of Ganguly & Dravid. He is the only cricketer on earth whom Sir Don Bradman had admired.
RP Singh is the most useless and expensive bowler in world after Zaheer Khan and Nehra.
Pathan has no line & length in bowling.....he is no longer commited to team and play for money....bloody fool laughs when team is losing or when hit for 4s/6s.
It is SHAME that such Bowlers are retained....Agar Matka lag gya toh yeh perform kar jayengee Vs Bagladesh......aur team mein CANCER ke ratah chipke rahenge.
SHAME, INDIA TEAMS problem is BOWLING not BATING.
Also Yushuf pathan, Robin Uthappa never performed in IPL on what basis are they been selected in TEAM
Also RAINA has made the come back because he was in Chennai(Dhobi) team in IPL.....Although Raina deserves his place......Other yougsters like Karthik other have performed well but DHOBI captain his keeping wicket keeper batsmens away to secure his place by bringing useless Uthappaz, Yusuf pathan which are poor techinically.
BUT our FOOLISH FANs will never realise the this......they only deserve DHOBI captain.....who is FAKE and big ZERO.
Look at Rajastan team(Shane Warne) in IPL.....if you have a good stategy making CAPTAIN, even a ordinary team can do WELL WONDERS.If you have worst bowling then even the best Batting cant help team....BEST latest Example is IPLs Hyderabad team which had good bating lineup like Gilcrist, Symonds
RE:DHOBI team - RP Singh, I Pathan, Yushuf Pathan, Uthappa selected on what BASIS ? I think 2 pathans are from Congress fixed minority KOTA
by tanveer bondre on May 30, 2008 06:18 PM Permalink
"Mr Scorpion"...."FIND UR BRAINS & GET A LIFE"....This is cricket...dont corrupt it with ur dogmatic political thoughts
RE:DHOBI team - RP Singh, I Pathan, Yushuf Pathan, Uthappa selected on what BASIS ? I think 2 pathans are from Congress fixed minority KOTA
by P Ramanathan on May 30, 2008 04:42 PM Permalink
Kindly look all the performance list of IPL matches. You will know the truth. Do not be a blind eyed person. Let the truth prevails.
by Nitin Karwa on May 30, 2008 04:54 PM Permalink
another fool on rediff!!! I know there is a big majority of fools like you in rediff. go check the stats before you write all this crap about quota system in cricket.
Now the whole of Kolkata will come to street.Trains will be stopped, buses / trams will be burnt. Both ruling PArty and Mamata will call for a separate bandh ( so that two holidays , may be three days each time , if they call the bandh on either friday or monday )
RE:Dada dropped
by jitendra khalpada on May 30, 2008 04:58 PM Permalink
Dada Out forever, as Dada is no more Dada(Bhai) but has really become Dada(Buddha).
Waise bhi dada ko Panga leneki Aadat pad gayi thi Pehle Chapel aur ab SRK.
Although the selection seems to be to groom the newer lot however a senior like Ganguly would have been a good option. More so since Sachin had also opted out.
Having seen Ganguly during the IPL, I feel this is one senior cricketer who is still capable of competing even in a very demanding sport such as T20. Certainly has some cricket left, and should not be ignored atleast in other one day series; I mean with more superior opposition.
I would say that both Tendulkar and Ganguly should be rotated in one day matches, for a common position, as both are openors and medium pacers. This would also check unnecessary injuries to the ageing duo!
RE:Seniors
by Perumal Palani on May 30, 2008 04:45 PM Permalink
Rahul may be better in runs & strike rate but he has not won the matches as there is no matching winning contribution. Ganguly won 2 matches for his team single handly which is more important.
by All Right on May 30, 2008 04:51 PM Permalink
Good... so Ganguly can spend his time winning other singles matches... (single handedly winning matches... why does he need to be in the team?..).. :-)
by rama murthy on May 30, 2008 04:39 PM Permalink
Fed up with Sachin, Ganguly and Rahul. They have earned lot ( Sachin purchased a house for 35 crores !!!!!!!!!!! ( Rediff information ), so is Ganguly investments in hotels and motels and Rahul case has not come public ) so let them take rest
by Hari on May 30, 2008 04:33 PM Permalink
both are not needed anymore. we have seen their WC 2007 performance. remember we are building team for WC 2011.
by All Right on May 30, 2008 04:40 PM Permalink
Yuvi?... which merit? And I'm talking about Irfan Pathan... you probably are answering about Yusuf.
by Sudipto Dey on May 30, 2008 04:38 PM Permalink
Remember that WC2011 is in 2011 and this is 2008. Greg Chappel tried to build the team for 2007 and he failed miserably. The best thing is to play your best 11 all the time, irrespective of age.
by Hari on May 30, 2008 04:40 PM Permalink
yes , but WC is too big a stage. We haveto form a core of individuals(10-12 players) before that.
by samir siddiqui on May 30, 2008 04:41 PM Permalink
There is nothing wrong in having an experienced campaigner in the side, especially for high pressure matches.
Remember, it was Tendulkar who majorly won us the Australian tri-series. And if these two can still contribute, then why to ignore them.
And the WC can still be planned, without banishing anyone. Already the IPL has increased the pool of cricketers, to pick. But like I said, having atleast a single senior would not harm but would only be beneficial.
RE:our bowlers are mediocre !!!
by All Right on May 30, 2008 04:36 PM Permalink
But how about upcoming Australia tour? Would you be so comfortable then too?
How about matches against quality teams? Is the batting solid enough?