Sir Donald Bradman was first impressed by Sachin Tendulkar while watching a one-day game against Australia in the 1996 World Cup and never missed a chance to see an innings from the Indian maestro after that, the book 'Bradman's Best' reveals.
"He was most taken in by Tendulkar's technique, compactness and his shot production and had asked his wife to have a look at the Indian as he felt that Tendulkar played like he had. Jessie agreed that they appeared similar.
"Bradman never missed a chance to see Tendulkar from then until the end of the 1999 three-match Test series in Australia," the book says.
"Bradman ranked Brian Lara and Tendulkar as the best batsmen in the world and found it difficult to judge who was better. He thought that Tendulkar had a very sound defence while Lara was marginally more aggressive and took more risks.
"By 2000, he held the view that they were the best in world cricket, but that Tendulkar just pipped Lara as the world's number one," it says.
RE:sachin an average cricketer just playing for money
by Star on Jan 23, 2008 04:10 PM Permalink
Priyadarshan You are absulutely right being non performer he is still hanging in the team and depriving the young talents.... Shame on sachin...
RE:RE:sachin an average cricketer just playing for money
by Ritwik Bhuyan on Jan 23, 2008 04:14 PM Permalink
Yea, that's why Sachin scored more than 1200 ODI runs last year, and is the highest scorer or India in the current series with an average of 65.40
by Narayan Raman on Jan 23, 2008 04:09 PM Permalink
average cricketer - Sachin? you must be out of your mind. While many of us inlcuding myself have been disappointed time and again when sachin has failed to deliver when the chips are down, there is no doubting that he will always be remembered as one of the greats. He is also a better fielder than Ganguly in the outfield and has always been a better one day cricketer than Dravid and Ganguly.
by srikanth viji on Jan 23, 2008 04:05 PM Permalink
stupid. dont write rubbish in the public forum
by Ritwik Bhuyan on Jan 23, 2008 04:08 PM Permalink
Average cricketer ? Look below -
Bradman never missed a Tendulkar innings in last five years
Sir Donald Bradman was first impressed by Sachin Tendulkar while watching a one-day game against Australia in the 1996 World Cup and never missed a chance to see an innings from the Indian maestro after that, the book 'Bradman's Best' reveals.
"He was most taken in by Tendulkar's technique, compactness and his shot production and had asked his wife to have a look at the Indian as he felt that Tendulkar played like he had. Jessie agreed that they appeared similar.
"Bradman never missed a chance to see Tendulkar from then until the end of the 1999 three-match Test series in Australia," the book says.
"Bradman ranked Brian Lara and Tendulkar as the best batsmen in the world and found it difficult to judge who was better. He thought that Tendulkar had a very sound defence while Lara was marginally more aggressive and took more risks.
"By 2000, he held the view that they were the best in world cricket, but that Tendulkar just pipped Lara as the world's number one," it says.
RE:Ganguly is Thrown Out of ODI & Whole India is Happy expect Idiot Bengalies
by Muthu Kumar on Jan 23, 2008 04:16 PM Permalink
Do u Know Cricket??????? I Think u have some problem mentally....
RE:RE:Ganguly is Thrown Out of ODI & Whole India is Happy expect Idiot Bengalies
by Rasul on Jan 23, 2008 04:20 PM Permalink
Idiot Muthu Kumar I am sure u r idiot Tamilian black money..u idiots have u rights to write on the blog as u r making india to feel shame within & outside india..
by blue on Jan 23, 2008 04:14 PM Permalink
i think these peoples should thrown to ranchi pagl khana for mantal treatment
by Ranjay Tripathi on Jan 23, 2008 04:13 PM Permalink
@ RASUL...Have you done any act of honour for country and its citizen ? Have do done anything to make people of your GALI, city or family member to feel proud and say this is RASUL.??
Any one like Dada, Dravid, Kumble, Sachin, Laxman, Dhanjaj, Jugraj, Viren, rajyavardhan Rathore, Leander, sania etc. have given so many proud moments and smiles on billion of people.
Aren't you ashamed of writing a word against these greats ?? Shame on you and your thoughts.
RE:RE:Ganguly is Throw Out of ODI & Whole India is Happy expect Idiot Bengalies
by Praveen on Jan 23, 2008 04:01 PM Permalink
first try to understand the meaning of except & expect
the best part is australian ublic gives more respect to sachin as a cricketer than indians, its just because indians have very short memory
..... remember, the fixing and 90s.......... any ways still he is the best player arround and since last one year he has been jumping in ranking.. its just matter of time to reach at top slot.....
RE:Sachin is the greatest
by Ranjay Tripathi on Jan 23, 2008 03:56 PM Permalink
Shut your dirty mouth and spitting shit about any great like dada, Dravid, Laxman or any one. Have you done any act of proud for country or your GALI or your city or even your family ??? How can you write dirty on any Indian Player
by devdass on Jan 23, 2008 04:02 PM Permalink
Snivelling commie! First learn Sachin's records if you want to go by statistics. If you want to go by talent watch them play. If you want to go by Character watch their body language. Sachin is several pedestal above.
by Ranjay Tripathi on Jan 23, 2008 04:09 PM Permalink
Dirty devdass has written some harsh words and tried to degrade a person who has brought proud moments to country and its citizen...but his messages are not removed for abuse. My befitting reply to this dirty guy has been removed for abuse. What is this REdiff ???
RE:RE:Sachin is the greatest
by kiran kumar on Jan 23, 2008 04:08 PM Permalink
Very proud of you... The person who thinks like you are very rare this time... Hats Off to you.. GANGULY IS THE BEST...
by devdass on Jan 23, 2008 04:20 PM Permalink
I have not said Ganguly is not a good crickter! I only said Sachin is better-SIR quality!
by Karunakar Patil on Jan 23, 2008 04:34 PM Permalink
If you write this type of unique achievements then you will have to write big book on sachin just one leaflet is not enough
by Ranjay Tripathi on Jan 23, 2008 03:54 PM Permalink
Test career highlights: # Scored a century on Test debut # Was only the third batsman in the world to score a century on debut at Lord's # His 131 still remains the highest by any batsman on his debut at Lord's # One of the three batsmen to have made tons in their first two Test innings # Became only the fifth Indian to start his captaincy stint with a win # Captained India in a record 49 Test matches # Led India to a record 21 Test wins # Is the only Indian to be dismissed twice on 99 # His innings of 239 against Pakistan at Bangalore in 2007-08 is the highest ever by an Indian left-hander # Is only the second batsman in Test annals after Australia's Mark Taylor to score a double century in one innings and be a victim of nervous ninety in the second # His series aggregate of 534 runs in the 2007-08 series against Pakistan is the highest ever by any left-handed Indian batsman against any country (Previous best: 438 by Nari Contractor against Australia in 1959-60) # His career-aggregate of 6346 is the highest by a left-handed Indian batsman. No one else has even managed 3000! # Ganguly's 15 centuries are only three less than all centuries scored by other Indian left-handers put together! # In 2007 calendar Ganguly has scored 1023 runs in 9 matches - more than any other Indian # India has never lost a Test match in which Ganguly has scored a century. Only the second Indian after Gundappa Viswanath to achieve this distinction (considering batsmen who have scored at least 10 cent
by devdass on Jan 23, 2008 04:18 PM Permalink
Sorry sir. Scoring century in Lords is the yardstick Vengsarkar is the greatest batsman of India!
by Ranjay Tripathi on Jan 23, 2008 04:00 PM Permalink
I know, I have give a fact on DADA for dada basher like this dirty devdass
If "Tendulkar" in India is considered as God of Cricket and Cricket a religion why Ganguly who is considered "THE BEST CAPTAIN" like a warrior of Indian Cricket till date , has to step down always despite giving good performanance. Even Tendulkar goes in DUCK, misses catches , gets injury .Then why disparity with only Ganguly...does this mean BCCI is only with Tendulkar, because he is from Maharashtra . Time to think about. Shame on BCCI for bringing disparity between two different ,yet equally talented , skilled , experience players of the country . This commercial ad shows how much importance, BCCI gives to only one man " Tendulkar" . He is never out of the matches , but then why players like Ganguly has to be made out . Can BCCI has the courage to differentiate and judge these two players ? I am just a fan of Indian cricket, no personal feelings .
RE:Tendulkar
by dinesh khedekar on Jan 23, 2008 03:40 PM Permalink
Kuch bhi bakwas mat kar Tendulkar ki ganguly se campaire mat kar, ha ye bat sai hai ki ganguly ke sath na insafi hui hai magar iska matlab ye nahi ki aap jaise logon ko tendulkar ke bare me kuch bhi kehana... tendulkar is the world cricket 'GOD'
by ::: on Jan 23, 2008 03:42 PM Permalink
Actually Ganguly is immensely more talented - in playing politics in the dressing room! Mr Vkhadka must be off his rockers to compare his cricketing skills to those of Tendulkar!!!!!!
by khader syed on Jan 23, 2008 03:41 PM Permalink
look ganguly was never favoured and even if he gets mom at adelaid he wont be taken back. what ganguly has done to indian cricket no one else could've ever done. He brought new meaning to indian fighting spirit. that way he is far too talented than sachin
by Praveen on Jan 23, 2008 03:44 PM Permalink
I totally agree with U. If BCCI is hinting Ganuly to gracefuuly retire then same treatment shud be meted to Tendulkar as well. BCCI is one of the worst sports body in the world. The team is constituted by greedy & ignorant ppl who are ready to sacrifice their nation for their benefit. I cant understand Y swiz govt are interested in roping Tendulkar for social cause. Smthg wrong with Swiz govt & US BB orgn.
RE:Honour For Federer
by Praveen on Jan 23, 2008 03:55 PM Permalink
Tendu is nowhere near Fedx. Fedx is a true champ & equally a good human being not like sachin who is greedy & plays only for money & records. If ganguly had played the amt of matches sachin played, he wud hav easily beaten sachin's century. Mind U i am not fm Bengal
by satya s on Jan 23, 2008 04:56 PM Permalink
dumb fellow. federer has skipped a few vital DC matches for switzerland. if sachin had done the same , you cretins would be crying hoarse!
by JASMINE on Jan 23, 2008 03:45 PM Permalink
n wats the joke part in it. Do you Sachin can make a billion people cheer n smile by his Six on the bowling of Shoaib Akhtar. Do you know in the mid and late Nineties after match fixing era Cricket as a game was loosing the charm n this single player of our team was responsible to make this game alive. Never ever in his life Federer would have felt the same pressure which Sachin had. Now tell me is it an honour for Federer or not.I am the Indian who beleives that its an honour for Nelson Mandela to be compared with Gandhi n its an honour for Shakespear to be compared with Kalidas.