Mr.John has said that Symonds is Aboriginal. But he isn't.He is born in England and has West Indian Heritage. Man please get your stats right before blaming a community.You said Aboriginal is "Abnormal Origin" what the hell is that? where did you get the meaning from?
RE:Not Aboriginal
by John on Oct 18, 2007 08:59 AM Permalink
It's pretty well known "Aborigine' stands for 'a person of abnormal origin'. It's a derogatory descriptor of the natives of Australia, by the 1st white settlers there in the 18th century. It's a term that is unacceptable today. Like 'Paki' or 'Muhajir' or 'Nigger'. Maybe you need to read up a little, pal. So you don't come across sounding ignorant.
Dear sir, Since last two matches Indian cricket has been at its best.I think boys are doing fine job out there.Indeed captain Ponting said it best when he told "India can be dangerous when pushed to the limits".In this series the boys have began to switch from 20 to 50 mode.I beleive the outcome augurs well for Indian team as there are 20 match followed by test and I beleive Indians have done well against Aussies in both these format for last five years.So an ideal platform is set for the conquest into bright areana,which otherwise was full of man in yellow.Aussies do not have depth in their bowling which is proven by the fact that of Mitchell and Lee are clobbered they look helpless and rely on mistakes on the part of batsman.Aussie strategy is to choke the batsmans by piling up run and when they are clobbered it shows up in their fielding.Symonds,Clarke,Ponting and Hayden when got cheaply they look terrible.We have lessons to learn from series that is play with the straight bat and this has been problem with Rahul and Yuvraj and they must have seen all the sucess Robin,Bhajji and Harbhajan had was due to playing with straight bat.Symonds caused the traumatic exit of Aussies in 20 and therefore has grudge on Indians.In each and every match he is involved with the verbal duel with Indians and thats the reason why crowd cannot digest it.I see not a case of racism but as Aussies getting a fair bit of their own medicene.
RE:Well Done India
by clint sequeira on Oct 18, 2007 09:12 AM Permalink
your team india too has to go down to australia & not only face them but lankans...they will be subjected to the same boos & taunts...u guys just can't accpet aussies winning...
RE:Well Done India
by CG GANG on Oct 18, 2007 09:07 AM Permalink
nice analysis! most of the comments here are sub-standard. Its was nice reading your comments!
Racial abuse havnt Indians fough this for long and now we are ourselves indulging in this shameful act. Sy6mods take heart you are a great cricketer and take this abuse as praise of your talents,because you have given our team a tough time they have no other way. I am ashamed of my countrymen for stooping so low.
RE:shameful and disgusting
by Mukul Kabra on Oct 18, 2007 08:57 AM Permalink
Chamcha, Angrezo ki chatna kab chodoge tum log... Hamare yahan racial abuse se upar bhi bahut sare issues hai.... y don't u think over them. You just think as if you are in America or some english country. My dear friend we have lot more issues than this racial one... and if police start to act on such comments, then they can't to any other work.. because this is India... We are still following cast system.... and before knowing what exactly that spectator said how could you blaim your own country. ... shame Ashok
Dear Ponting, Can you remember, you and your people did to the great dhoosra bowler Muthiya Muralitharan. Muralitharan has to undergo a physical test to prove that his bowling action is correct. The person has to prove if it is against you and your country people why can't you follow the same thing for Symonds. Do not forgot You will also be measured in the same way you measure others.
RE:Where are you Ponting?
by harsha dnbrd on Oct 18, 2007 09:01 AM Permalink
nice said now the world came to know how to tame these aussy gimmicks on field so that they can be aware that somebody in the backyard waiting to give them back
by on Oct 18, 2007 09:02 AM Permalink
Ponting and his players have never racially abused Murali. I'm an Australian and i don't condone racial abuse of any player, even Murali, and i think his action is illegal.
Regardsless, this does not give anyone an excuse to racially abuse any other player.
The fact that you are trying to defend racial abuse indicates the type of person you are.
by jaguar tech on Oct 18, 2007 09:55 AM Permalink
being a true australian what is your take on your dignified bowlers calling Jayasurya as a black monkey. the problem with you guys are you find it difficult to take what you give. You are not undisputed kings of sledging. As far as i see whatever Australian does is legal and whatever upsets the Australian is illegal. the problem is in the gene which has come from convicts
RE:RE:RE:Where are you Ponting?
by Hind on Oct 18, 2007 09:44 AM Permalink
Same to you, for defending Racism by most racist cricket team in the world, remeber Monty,Murli. What about the great Steve wagh, the master sledger mostly with racist comments. Dont this show the mentality of whole lot they represent ??
by Sundar M on Oct 18, 2007 11:30 AM Permalink
Well Said. Remember when the Aussies were the only side which got pace battery there was no rule for bouncer. But when WI & Eng developed their pace battery, with yellow pants Aussies changed the rule of bouncers.
For spin attack, they wanted only Shane(Shame) Warne to be the highest wicket taker. But Muralidharan facter came, even their PM called him Chakkar. Even ICC chief Speed was very slow in understanding what was racism, till our crowd booed Symonds.
Aussies does not have any good game, they simply irritate the player and get millage. It is no good cricket.
If its a whites game, why penalise Asian? Be fair to everybody.
RE:I am stumped
by satarupa sen on Oct 18, 2007 09:11 AM Permalink
I think you need to have one Mr ON. The Aussies are known to be big time racists. And now they are trying to equate monkey chants to racism and win some sympathy. And didn't your Darren Lehman call Jayasuriya "black monkey" a few years back? How about Dean Jones' comments about Hashim Amla? Please look in the mirror before pointing fingers at others. Indians are known the world over for their tolerance. A certain Ponting or Symonds will not be able to change that opinion.
Its amazing people are defending shameful actions of Indians just because they are INdians?? Racial abuse in any form should be condemned everywhere. We Indians should mature by now to atleast not repeat such acts that may be considered racist
RE:Condemn racism
by Mukul Kabra on Oct 18, 2007 08:58 AM Permalink
Chamcha, Angrezo ki chatna kab chodoge tum log... Hamare yahan racial abuse se upar bhi bahut sare issues hai.... y don't u think over them. You just think as if you are in America or some english country. My dear friend we have lot more issues than this racial one... and if police start to act on such comments, then they can't to any other work.. because this is India... We are still following cast system.... and before knowing what exactly that spectator said how could you blaim your own country. ... shame
RE:Condemn racism
by satarupa sen on Oct 18, 2007 09:15 AM Permalink
I don't understand the logic behind equating monkey chants and racism. Didn't we sometimes tease our friends or juniors in college for some fun? Was that racism? When our kids are baughty, we tell them "don't behave like monkeys" or "why are you jumping around like an ape?" According to Ponting, that is racism too!!!
Symonds was subjected to 'monkey' chats simply because of the way he applies thick, white sunblock around his lips, making it appear like the puckered face of a monkey. This was not in the least, a racist-motivated chant.
That said, Indians are usually the most stubborn backstabbing hypocrites, so I don't know how well the crowds will behave. Of course, I'm Indian too.
RE:That was not RACIAL abuse...
by pravin barde on Oct 18, 2007 08:57 AM Permalink
I agree 100%, even in our friend circle if some one cuts hair in different style or removes mustache we call it monkey. It can not be defined as raciest comment. If some one taunts them as kangaroo then it can be termed some sort of racism.
Yesterday Murli accepted that there was nick to wicket keeper when probed by Rameej Raja. He should have said.... I probabaly nicked 20 to wicket keeeper so as Ponting doesnot get a chance to have a digg at him in post match conference
RE:Murli karthik
by clint sequeira on Oct 18, 2007 09:26 AM Permalink
that wrong decision cost aus the match..dey didn't even deserve to win..i feel sorry for robin to be a part of such a team..i hope murali's comments come back to haunt him
RE:Murli karthik
by jaguar tech on Oct 18, 2007 09:59 AM Permalink
so many wrong decisions have also won you the match. You have a complaining captain who knows only to crib in the face of defeat remember the Ashes series in England. Dont worry you will see the downfall of your team very shortly with your prime players aging fast. all it requires is a series defeat and you will see the change. Another thing how did you guys allow a gay like Micheal clark in the team ask him to come to the gay world cup held in gayland. he is seriosly missing the THING