Total 403 messages Pages    <<  < Newer  | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15   Older >   >>
India Lost ONE more OnE dAy
by chander thakur on Feb 11, 2007 07:44 PM  Permalink 

Get Ready -Now its time to find faults in the LOST GAME - thats our TOP Priority.

The match was alive till DHONI at the crease.......
Sreeshant got an opportunity to hit Aamir Khan's LAGAAN last ball SIX.

"INDIAN PLAYERS SHOULD COME OUT OF InDiViDuAl SpIrIt".............

So Sad !
by Minian Palaniappan on Feb 11, 2007 07:44 PM  Permalink 

I don't understand this loss.

The legend has to step down...
by Philip Judson on Feb 11, 2007 07:41 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I'm not talking of winning the world cup here but about sending the best 15 to WC. If India are to do this they'll have to think twice before naming Kumble in the final 15. They'll have to let the down the legend this time and fill in the place with Powar or D.Mongia or Raina. And having not been given chances D.Mongia is out of contention. So that means its between Raina and Powar. It's often the batting which has let down India is the recent failures right from the WI tour and hence it's logical to strengthen the batting line up which means R.Powar will have to give way for Raina (or whoever is best to fit in that place). This means Sreesanth will also board the filght(his today's performance will play in the minds of selectors). But also think twice before selecting D.Karthik also. I don't rob him of his credits but I'm sure his contribution in the WC will be little to the winning cause. If only Shewag had clicked a few matches back as the normal opener then we wouldn't be having the burden to carry an additional opener in the squad. And that would've helped the Kaif's cause and in turn the team's cause to strengthen the department of fielding and defending. It's shocking to have so many openers in the team. Gang, Sach, Sehw, Drav, Path-was on trial run as opener and adding to the list is Utha or Gamb. Just think if Gang hadn't clicked as opener then Utha n Gamb as openers and Gang also comes to the mid order. Dropping the Utha and Gamb will open the way for Powar.

The final 15

Ganguly
Tendulkar/Sehwag - whoever is willing and on the team needs
Dravid (captain)
Yuvraj Singh      - the batting order changes if sehwag chooses to open and yuv will give way to sach
Sehwag/Tendulkar
D.Karthik/Raina/Kaif
Dhoni (wicket keeper)
Pathan
Harbhajan/Powar - depends on the need in the final 11
M.Patel/Sreesanth/Agarkar - depends on the need in the final 11

subs will be the ones not selected in the final 11 and could compromise of the following players

D.Karthik/Raina/Kaif
M.Patel/Sreesanth/Agarkar

If only this team is sent then Team India will definitely win some pride for India if not the WC. But I still wish my best wishes for whoever is named in the final 15. Just give out more than your very best for your country to win the ICC Cricket Worldcup '07.

RE:The legend has to step down...
by Amitabha Das on Feb 11, 2007 08:03 PM  Permalink
Philip Bhai... 2 bad games and Kumble is suddenly a burden on the Indian team? Dont forget the matches which he won us till a few months back. I agree that he didnt bowl well in the last 3-4 matches. But he was still the best pick for India in all the other series. Harbhajan is yet to reach his level. Considering the pitches of WI, dont you think Kumble can get a few odd bounces where most others would derive nothing? To my mind, Kumble is inevitable in the 15. We may or may not name him in the 11 based on which ground we are gonna play in. But on neutral grounds, he is anyday a better bet than the Powars, who I agree are the future for us.

RE:RE:The legend has to step down...
by rax raja on Feb 11, 2007 11:49 PM  Permalink
Powar has a pot-belly

Mission 2020
by VAK Mumbai on Feb 11, 2007 07:33 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

If Bharat has to achieve its target set by Dr APJ then this is the time to shun cricket and do hard work.

Cricket is not just a highly pampered game but it is shuddering to imagine the number of hours lost in watching and hearing the game.

It is a colonial game and fit for masters not for a developing nation.

There is absolutely no benefit for common man. Only media mints money and the bookies earn in crores.

We can spend that time in prayer, meditation, bhajans, yoga apart from doing whatever we are.

For heaven's sake let us SHUN the game and do better things.

RE:Mission 2020
by on Feb 11, 2007 07:51 PM  Permalink
VAK, I think you should not be following these articles if yu hate Cricket. Pls follow sites that discuss prayer yoga etc..you seem to be more interested than any others...

for GOD's sake, this is just a loss.. am sure we need to motivate the Indian team to win the world cup

RE:RE:Mission 2020
by on Feb 11, 2007 08:19 PM  Permalink
Thats a good point.."motivate the Indian team to win WC". But the question is what will motivate them to perform consistently. If things like playing for India, thousands of fans support in stadium, millions of people support and prayers, very fat pay and incentives etc cannot motivate them, then what else we can do to motivate? Losing is part of any sport, but only our team can gift a game, which was almost won, without any fight. I think at the ned of the day, the paying patriotic public is the only loser as all other parties like BCCI, playes, television channels are the real winners.

RE:RE:Mission 2020
by VAK Mumbai on Feb 11, 2007 08:07 PM  Permalink
I love all other games. Many of them have brought laurels but the media and foolish public are obsessed with cricket out of prejudice.

We have excellent teams of Kabbadi, Wrestling, Shooting and Hockey but those players wont be recognised if they stand in the streets. This is injustice to them and the NATION.

Cricket is more a business for media and bookies.

RE:RE:RE:Mission 2020
by meena chandar on Feb 11, 2007 09:06 PM  Permalink
What is not business... afterall we all want to make money.. if not you and me should be working for the army and gaurding borers..
If any individual does not want to watch cricket, he/she should stop watching.. and if you love other games, why dont you start a blog site talking abt how other games are great, history of the games, what our teams have achieved etc... and more importantly do not indulge in opposing Cricket.. it is only negative energy wasted by you...rather focus positively on popularising other games to the extent you can....

Disappointing Loss
by Mohit on Feb 11, 2007 07:26 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Hello All,
I am very hurt by the loss, everyone is saying we did not have a full team, BUT i think that we dd a decent job bowling, we had 7 batsmen, we could have done it, i do not blame ganguly or tendulkar, they did their part in a way (not completely), yes one of them should have stayed till the end, but i am sure they wanted to but got out playing shots. I am proud of DADA and tendulkar, also happy to see dhoni consistent in getting some runs, The selectors should leave sehwag out now, bring KAIF in he is good and reliable, he has the will power and determination that is missing in sehwag, kaif has the potential to stay ground in do or die situations (just like Jadeja did). We need sreesant as well, and Munaf was good today, with zaheer, pathan and agarkar we have a solid attack as all three can BAT as well, leave kumble out and get powar in the team, kumble is awsome but getting older by the minute. My proposed team:
Gangully
Tendulkar
Dravid
Robin
Yuvraj (if fit otherwise sehwag)
Kaif
pathan
Agarkar
Zaheer
Munaf
Harbhajan
Powar
Karthik
Dhoni
Raina

DO REPLY AND COMMENT

RE:Disappointing Loss
by Anindya Ganguly on Feb 11, 2007 07:33 PM  Permalink
Raina and Sehwag should be out.

RE:RE:Disappointing Loss
by Mazumdar Mayukh on Feb 12, 2007 02:58 AM  Permalink
dada... apnar katha ekdam thik

RE:RE:RE:Disappointing Loss
by Anindya Ganguly on Feb 12, 2007 06:30 AM  Permalink
dhanyabad.

masters at gifting wins!!!
by chiruvela sairam on Feb 11, 2007 07:23 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

The Indian Cricket Team has yet again proved to be masters at throwing away matches despite being in a comfortable position!The Mumbai Ranji Team could ve finished it off!!ITs a national shame!

RE:masters at gifting wins!!!
by subhadip roy on Feb 11, 2007 07:47 PM  Permalink
why not send the mumbai ranji team to the world cup?? stupid regionlist

RE:RE:masters at gifting wins!!!
by on Feb 11, 2007 08:06 PM  Permalink
Chiruvela was just citing an example unlike your thinking. But coming to think of it, why not send the ranji team to the world cup? Excellent point !!

masters at gifting wins!!!
by chiruvela sairam on Feb 11, 2007 07:19 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

The Indian Cricket Team has proved yet again that India's favour till the Indians decided to be good hosts and presented it to the more-than-happy Lankans! It is a national shame!

RE:masters at gifting wins!!!
by sham shet on Feb 11, 2007 08:13 PM  Permalink
Looking at todays play one can only hope that the indians dont bow out in the first round of the worldcup, forget about winning the worldcup.

sehwag
by atul shah on Feb 11, 2007 07:14 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

sehwag is wasted at number 5 ,if he is in team open with him or do not take him in team.

RE:sehwag
by Remesh Unnikrishnan on Feb 11, 2007 07:35 PM  Permalink
I totally agree with you

RE:RE:sehwag
by Apratim Ghoshal on Feb 11, 2007 10:58 PM  Permalink
i will completely agree with u.should pick gautam gambhir

defeat again
by Meer Ali on Feb 11, 2007 07:12 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

shreeshanth the dancer should not be taken to world cup ,he still has to play atleast two years for india and then only he should be selected.I know there might be pressure from srikanth the ex cricketer for srishanth place in squad.

RE:defeat again
by Govind Raj on Feb 11, 2007 08:01 PM  Permalink
What was the problem with Sree today? He bowled well and economically. Fielded well. Had too much to do when he came to bat. If at all someone is to be blamed today, it is Kumble. He was totally ineffective in the middle overs and then wasted 7 balls for 2 runs, that left too much on Sree and Patel.
This match was lost because of following issues:
1] Srilanka took their chances.
2] India did not take their chances.
3] Kumble was totally useless.
4] His counterpart Bandara was really too good.
5] Though they batted really well to start with, both Sachin and Saurav slowed down between overs 16 and 25 [Only 33 runs came]. This was a crucial period when they did not rotate strike and brought SL back into the game.
6] Sachin was totally at sea against Bandara and lost his wicket.
7] Saurav lost his wicket to an almost WIDE ball.
8] Sehwag threw away an opportunity to play himself into form.
9] Both Dhoni and Karthick played too slowly in the beginning and never really got going. And after wasting a lot of balls, Karthick lost his wicket.
10] Promoting Kumble ahead of Sreesanth was unimaginative.
11] Dhoni was very well cornered by the Lankans and their game picked up when the Indians fell apart.
And Mr. Ali, Sreesanth and Srikkanth only have similar looking names. Other than that there is nothing that makes Srikkanth recommend Sreesanth.
And even if Srikkanth recommends, who listens? Srikkanth's own Son is not being given any preferential treatment.
So don't talk nonsense. They both belong to TWO different states and Srikkanth has NEVER EVER done any supporting for Sreesanth!

by Patriot on Feb 11, 2007 07:47 PM  Permalink
Wow Meer Ali you genius!!!! How on earth can you come up with such a brilliant piece of guess!!!! Take off your narrow regional-mindedness from your head and think like a normal human being.......

RE:RE:defeat again
by Anindya Ganguly on Feb 11, 2007 08:02 PM  Permalink
Bhaiya Mir,
Have u lost your mind totally !!!!

by Remesh Unnikrishnan on Feb 11, 2007 07:25 PM  Permalink
I wonder what was wrong with Sreesanth today. Could you please explain. You mean to say that he could n't hit a six in the last ball of the innings???? What about the performance of Sehwag and Dravid then? Please comment.

RE:RE:defeat again
by Remesh Unnikrishnan on Feb 11, 2007 07:28 PM  Permalink
Was that Sreesanth's mistake that he was the most economic bowler today??? Comment with some sort of cricketing sense.

Total 403 messages Pages:    <<  < Newer  | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15   Older >   >>