Congratulations to Kapil Dev for bringing all true cricketers under one roof. BCCI can only do petty politics and its threats to players would yield no results. This high time for the BCCI to wind up its activities in the interest of cricket.
BCCI and ICL; both are private companies and hungry for making huge money. What is difference between these two? BCCI is run by politicians (who don%u2019t know anything about cricket) and low profile players ( it is shocking to know that a person, who had played only one test match or even first class match is eligible to select Indian Cricket Team, poor Tendulkars, Dravids, Gangulys %uF04C.) In the administration of BCCI, the numbers of genuine great players are very less. Unlike BCCI (Powar is in power), Kapil (only one Indian caption, who won the WC) heads ICL. The difference between the attitude of Powar and Kapil makes the difference between these two companies. I hope, ICL may help the Indian Cricket like English County Cricket.
Formation of ICL is a good development. Kapil putting his weight behind it is still better considering that someone had to show its place to BCCI. Govt (or courts) should now decide that there will be a best of 3 tournament - just before the world cup - between ICL team and BCCI team and whoever wins would represent India in the world cup :-) This way, there will be very healthy competition and the game will gain
Well the ongoing tugg of war between the BCCI and ICL has left me confused... when the BCCI elections were on and a case against Dalmiya was going on there were so many comments like BCCI is an autonomous body , govt shouldnt interfere and blah blah blah... no can an autonomous boday represent a country !!! if BCCI is autonomous body why does it bear Indian flag and name ? if there is another one named ICL or XYZ what differenc ewould it make ? even the first one i mean the BCCI is just a organisation that selects few individuals lets them wear indian cap ( i dont whether its constitutionally right to do so )so why this hussh and fuss all around? I would rather ask both the BCCI and ICL be declared as private sector organisations or companies and the Govtof India should select the Indian team and decide their payscale and barr them from doing other activites as in the case of rule of being an Government employee. We do not want autonomous bodies to represent our beloved country and make a mockery of it just the great tamasha !!! we want simple players who would play their heart out for country then whether they loose or win wont matter... we want 11 strong individuals who believe in pride of being an Indian represntative among 125 crores !!!
The beginning of the end of BCCI has started. Like Kerry Packer's initial "circus" finally replaced the old format of cricket, Indian cricket scene is up for a sea change. Wher will the Raj Singh Dungarpurs & the likes will hide, have to be seen!!!Ha ha....
BCCI is independent body and represents national players for international matches ~between international teems. Court or Govt has nothing to do with its decision. In this context ??how an independent authority represents national players for international matches, then why there is sports ministry governing the sports performance of National players. Like BCCI there can also be BCAS(BOARD OF Control of India for Asian Sports-) & BCAOS (BOARD OF Control of India for olympic Sports-)and also others, but in practical these BCAS&BCAOS were not there. If we have independent bodies Like BCCI governing sports then the transperancy of THE BCCI performance cannot be auditted or assessed. EVERY TOM & DICK WILL START THEIR OWN authorities within India It is now time to Control BCCI by the Govt or Govt can take over BCCI and scrap others for representing National team
RE:Its time the Govt should intervene
by sumant kumar mishra on Aug 21, 2007 08:47 PM Permalink
I disagree.BCCI has done nothing but fill its coffers.And the worst is yet to come for BCCI.What if ICL forms partnerships with like mionded companies in the rest of the cricket playing nations.Today, the BCCI is flying high because of the money earned from the sponsors...like coke, pepsi, etc.And surely these sponsors will go to ICL if it does well.BCCI will become like Doordarshan, which is running on borrowed money.Days were there, when the public had no choice, and people hung onto the DD-1, and now the situation is for everybody to see.One canot prevent professionalism from entering a widely watched activity.Cricket is one of them. Cricket Administrators( read politicians) have done enough harm to the state of Cricket in India, let us give them some well deserved rest. I still believe, what ICC had done in the last 100 years will be done by ICL and the ilk in one tenth of that time. All in all, the biggest benefactor would be the audience, who watch a match to see his team win, not to see it lose and then curse them before media, only to forgive the team in a couple of days....because he has no choice. Way to go Mr.Chandra....take retirement Mr.Niranjan Shah, and join some English speaking course instead...it will help your cause when you line up for an interview with ICL.
ITHAS GAVA HEIN JO BARKAST KIYE GAYE HEIN WO LOG AGE JAKE NETA BANE HEIN, AAP BCCI CHAIRMAN BANEGO YE DUA HEIN AAP KE LIYE MERE . KAPIL DA AAP SANGARSH KARO HUM AAP KE SATH .
I think both BCCI & ICL are same as proritor ship pvt limited company, then why pressure is created by BCCI, which wrong. In my view the sacking of kapil dev is not effect to him, since big mony and position is offered by ICL. Let people & cricket lover to decide in which is offer better kricket matches. The competition is better in all field like business, communications, electricity distributions, transportation, then why in organisation in crecket leags matches?