Firstly it should be accepted that there are no short term solutions to be a world beater. However in a span of 4-5 years, Indian team can be world beater if it follows these parameters:
1. Have a combination of bouncy and spinning domestic tracks. Here both the bowlers and batsman learn how to cope up with demands of international cricket.
2. Studying the opposition, analyzing the team's and the player's strengths and weakness is imperative. If opposition can study Tendulkar's weakness, we can study Gayle's or Ponting's weakness as well and plot their dismissal.
3. Cricket is more of mind game. Simulating match situations in the nets and hiring a sports psychologist can help matters. Indian Board is the richest board and it can afford to spend some money on this.
4. Pay should be linked to performance. If the team wins, the players should be paid. And if it loses, no pay..
5. Finally, exposure to media and commercials by players should be restricted..
If we believe that Saurav is most successful captain in India and the way past cricketers are saying that we need a aggressive captain like Saurav, then instead of wasting time of building another aggressive captain, why not try out Saurav once again. After all, time is running out. One thing we have to believe that it is impossible to get a batsman like Sachin or Dravid, similarly it is next to impossible to get a captain like Saurav and lastly, Saurav was dropped not because his poor performance but Chappel couldn't stand in front of his popularity, otherwise in the present team, there are few players are not inrun last couple of matches.
Why the question of making him a concultant is coming up ? BCCI know how to bring politics into cricket. We are country of 150 crore population. BCCI is the richest organisation in the world. We have money as well as quality population with an average age of 25+.
Ask the first question to BCCI that who has taken the decision of bringing Guru Greg ? Is there anyone who will take the responsibility and will the Indian population find anyone as Accountable ?
Ask Kapil Dev how he won the World cup with appearently without any high profile player, when all other country were having high profile players.
Leave Ganguly aside, as BCCI has done enough wrong to the Ex-captain of the side.
Any sensible critic can figure out the deminishing performance of almost the same team with whom, Sourav reached World cup final.
Sourav has been eliminated from the team at a time when no one else other than him was matured enough to be on that HOT SEAT. At that time politics was more critical for BCCI and More & co than cricket.
No successor has been chosen for the team before you eliminate someone who has helped the youngstars to grow with confidence.
it was pathetic to see dravid standing in the slips with his hands on his waist and looking at the bowlers getting thrashed all over the field.there was no back up plan n he failed miserably in the motivation dept.it looked as if team india(ie if there is still 1)was just goin through the motions.
Other requirements: 1) Don't consider Pathan as an allrounder, sometimes you may send Harbhajan up the order as a pinch hitter, but not Pathan. 2) Select a coach, who doesn't politicise like Chappel and also doesn't want to domoinate everything. 3) Dravid is to retained as captain at least till the world cup, otherwise it will impart some silent chaos into the team.
Please dont blame it on Chappel or anything rubbish... India always played its cricket like this...never aggressive or with total determination and dedication... Its always our batsman fail us more than anything...(I sometimes think we should bin all those 50,000 runs our batsman have got when the team doesnt need them)
it seems to be a result of a possible corporate influenced politics ... the guys eventually end up sporting the logo not the country .... so bright guns wid no logos on their vests dont get a chance and we loose .... we r the best judge .... to get affected by such an influence .... we r the ultimate PREY.
Well its not very suprising to see our Team Bharat losing most matches these days. But we should not jump to conclusions as our players are talented and can be the world beaters , its just a matter of time.
well for starters's let keep 6 different core specilaist players for test and one-day separte. As we implement this strategy , the players will be better focussed on their roles and will be very active and not fatigued.
when we allow some inexperienced players in both the forms of the game, they are not able to cope with international pressure of performing. A classic example can be Talented Gautam Gambhir who was performing until he was confused with his shots in Test and one day games.What i can suggest let there be sepecialist in different games and make them responsible players.
well this is how i see the one day team-sachin, sehwag,robin uttapa, dravid, shikar dhwan, yuvi, kaifu, raina, dhoni, piyush chalwa, powar,sreesanth, zaheer khan, VRV singh, agarkar, pathan.
First of all sack the imported coach "Greg". Bring good experienced formar Indian players like Mohinder Amarnath as coach. Bring back players like Sourav Ganguly, Laxman, Nehra. Make Ganguly as captain again. Remember chappel's interviews when he took over the charges - he said that he wants the indian team to be no.2 in the world (in close of his heart he wants australia remain no.1 forever - quiet natural). Greg Chappal & Kiran More is responsible for the pathetic condition of today's indian cricket.